We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
36
24
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
24
10
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 76 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Montis resort will give you a safari-African style lodge experiences. We stayed there for 3 days on our Pai trip, the resort is great, got all the services and amenities that you need. The location is not that far from the walking street, however, walking is not recommended. You would better off with the motorcycle (200 baht/day). Overall we really enjoyed the stay at Montis, the only problem we had was the hot water system that was not very hot. The hotel staff is very kind, they offer us to change to the new room in the middle of the night and also offer us a free dinner set on the next day. We definitely would consider Montis as our destination should we decided to come back to Pai.

Pros:
- Resort have all the facilities inc. cafe, heated pool, golf simulator, karaoke, rock climbing
- Rooms are very very spacious!
- Very attentive staff
- Nice food (especially Northern Thai style food)

Cons:
- Not that close to walking street (motorcycle recommended)
- A little bit pricey

Room tip: Try the safari style dome house!
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakon_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a very special place. I went with my friends this July and as it was the rainy season we got a special offer. We could not believe our eyes when they showed us our room. It was huge and so beautiful. The resort itself is stunning and a designer's dream. The Architect has done a wonderful job in creating something unique, tranquil and practical. We noticed that there is disabled access all over the resort (something you don't see in Thailand) so respect to the Architect. Although the gym was out of use (we didn't go for this!), the facilities in general were excellent. The pool was heavenly and the staff, wow, they exceeded our expectations on all levels. The girls on reception were so sweet, kind and welcoming - thank you. The breakfast was lovely. There wasn't a buffet as it was a quiet month so we ordered off the menu. The staff were incredibly attentive and couldn't do enough for us without making us feel crowded. They are extending the resort (phase 3 I think) but the renovations/building work did not have the slightest impact upon my stag. All in all, I would highly recommend this resort and I hope to go back one day myself. Thanks Montis and keep up the great work (respect to the designer/architect too - they have done a superb job).

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Montis Resort from 22-24 Feb. We paid THB 2800 for a driver to take us from Chiangmai (Mae Rim) to Pai. After a 3 hr winding road journey, it was a welcome respite to arrive @ Montis. Check in was quick and we were warmly welcomed by Natty who speaks good English. We stayed @ Villa 2 which is near the front desk and the restaurant. There are about 20 villas all designed to look like congo huts.

The villa is round in shape and is very spacious. The plus points about the room are the lounge style sofa and the English channels (CNN, HBO, & Discovery Channel) available on TV. Although there was a sign in the bathroom encouraging the use of less water and the reuse of linens during our stay, the bath tub seems to go contrary to their "environmental-friendly policy". As mentioned on a previous post, the bath tub is indeed a "death trap" for elderly guests with mobility problem. A shower area would be more practical and would use less water. It is difficult to shower in the tub without wetting the floor outside it.

Outside the Villa, there is an outdoor area which you use if you are a sun lover. It was much too hot in the day and the air was smoky as the farmers have begun to burn the trees around the area. Temperature in the day was about 30 Deg C and it falls to 16 Deg C at night and early morning.They have planted more trees and plants around the resort and when these trees mature, it should offer more shade during the hot months.

We paid THB 3,950 for 2 nights (1 for 1 offer) as it is low season. It would be too costly to pay THB 3,950 per night as the resort does not have much to offer. There is no spa and only archery and fitness centre is available.

We tried the restaurant food and would rate the food as reasonably good though service is rather slow considering that there were only 2 of us eating there. Staff at the restaurant speaks halting English.

Staff do their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible and we commend Natty and Tu for their warm hospitality. They offer complimentary round trips to Pai town (abt 5 kms from resort) and the Chinese Village (8 kms away) and staff offer this prompt service when called. This is a much welcome service and believe that this can only be done during the low season.

Overall, if you are looking for a laidback, quiet, rural experience, Pai is charming and this would be the right place to be. There is not much in terms of scenery around Pai and you would need to travel 110 kms to Mae Hong Son.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Do not stay here.

It is overpriced.
We stayed after it had recently opened.
The groups are ugly. Next door is a construction field. The photos on the site are incredibly beautiful, intriguing and ultimately misleading.
We could not get a bar of soap.
We could not get an outside line to call a friend from the room.
We could not get transportation to town.
The staff repeatedly wanted us to take a stupid golf cart to and from our room because there isn't good lighting on the path from the front desk to the huts (which are fantastic inside but poorly, poorly designed. The bathroom is bizarre -- the doors didn't shut completely and getting in and out of the bathtub is a death trap.)
It is not intended for non-Thai tourists, which would seem attractive to those of us on a road trip, but meant that they were particularly unwelcoming.
The restaurant is average at best.
The fitness center smelled like mold -- no ventilation.
I should have known better.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katiejwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We have recently stayed at the Montis Resort in Pai and would have to say we enjoyed every minute of it.
The pod style accommodation has every facility you would expect from a 5 start property.
The food at the restaurant was always of high quality.
All staff members that we had dealings with were always so friendly and helpful.
The location of the resort was amazing you are surrounded my mountains and rice paddy fields.
We couldn't of asked for anything more.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annetteperryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews