We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food that shows off thai flavour”
Review of baan benjerong

baan benjerong
Ranked #51 of 130 Restaurants in Pai
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Dundee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food that shows off thai flavour”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were the only people in the restaurant as it was a wet evening so most of the streets in Pai were very quiet. My wife and I ordered a few dishes to share so we could try as much as possible, we had been told this place was good. In actual fact it was some of the best tasting thai food I have eaten! The banana flower, chicken and prawn salad is amazing - if you eat at this restaurant you have to order this dish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank classiccontemporary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“'Mean' reputation hides seriously good food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

For a hot destination like Pai, I was surprised at how bad most of the food here was. After reading good reviews of Baan Benjarong on another website, our group decided to give it a try.
Once you get past the reputation of the owner as uncompromising and mean due to the signage in Thai out front that declared the restaurant would not serve any impatient customers, you sit down in a converted house with a few tables and look at the gigantic two-page board menu and you find everything was not as it seemed.
The food here is from Thailand's Central Region and is simply cooked, but tasted great. My salty crab paste was very good, as was the fried river fish. There was nothing particularly fancy in flavor or presentation at this place, just traditional Thai dishes cooked well.
The roadside location makes this restaurant a convenient lunchtime venue. There is no view here, so just concentrate on the food. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews!!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Please ignore the bad reviews, this is one of the best Thai restaurants we have ever eaten at (it even rivalled Nahm in Bangkok in terms of taste and quality of ingredients used)! I'm confused as to how someone could say anything negative about the chap that runs this - he is a very humble individual who takes great pride in what he does. Pai is not the most 'Thai' of places when it comes to cuisine, but this restaurant is an exception, especially for those who prefer something more authentic. My tip is to rock up about 6-7pm before the locals arrive. Oh, and make sure you order the crispy vermicelli noodle salad and fried pork with crispy herbs! We ordered 5 dishes on total with a bowl of rice and the bill came in just over 600 baht. Very good value for the quality of food served! Tempted to go back tomorrow for some more...

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best authentic Thai restaurants in Thailand”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Highly recommended. Pick anything on the menu. Everything is absolutely great. Even common Thai dishes (such as pad thai or yellow chicken curry) are exceptional. We normal lunch at Baan Benjerong a couple of times whenever we visit Pai. Sit by the open window and enjoy truly wonderful food and the sights and sounds of a country town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amphoe Muang Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the finnest thai cuisine in Pai”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

all menu is awesome!! Try the simple dish like fried rice, or coconut milk soup and feel the different taste but good combination.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnchaleePan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed baan benjerong also viewed

Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
 
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
Pai, Mae Hong Son Province
 

Been to baan benjerong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing