We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely designed cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pai Chan Cottage & Cuisine
Ranked #13 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nicely designed cottages”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Packed in a jungly garden setting, you can open all the windows wide and feel in touch with nature. We stayed in B4, which gave us views of the farm fields and mountains. However, Wifi is only available at the front, and our bathroom smelt like something had died in there.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
47
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The PAI CHAN COTTAGE AND CUISINE is the best place we stayed in, during our 3-month trip to Thailand, Laos and Cambodia and one of the best places i've ever stayed in! This is because there was a combination of everything you could ask for a perfect stay- beautiful, simple cottages and a surrounding area of great aesthetics,friendly owners,delicious food and very good prices (400 Baht per night!) The best of all was this sense of tranquility you could feel in this relaxing place, surrounded by rice fields and magnificent mountains ....

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the rice fields!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed here at the recommendation of my favorite guest house in Chiang Mai. When I arrived, despite me confirming my reservation twice, they didn't have a room for me the first night. I was taken to a place by the high school for the first night instead (friendly staff there - turned out fine, I guess, but still an unexpected inconvenience). Mai pen rai, right?

The staff at Pai Chan was not the warmest, which was surprising, since they were supposedly friends with the owners of two places I've stayed at in Thailand and since Thai people are so friendly, period. I'd say the pool, the view from the pool, and the location were the best parts of my stay. And the obese pug.

The rooms are nice architecturally, but they are SO SMALL with barely any room to even walk around the bed and there is nowhere to put your things, so you pretty much have to pack and unpack your stuff anytime you need something. Then there was the fact that the person in the room next door was actually only about 3 feet away and I could hear her entire 3 hour phone conversation the first night and then every rustle and movement on subsequent nights. The bathrooms, however, are very appealing (spacious outdoor shower area).

There are tons of places to stay in Pai - and a wide range of them. If you are coming to visit, reserve a place for just your first night then walk around to feel out your options. If you are staying a week or a month, you can get very good rates off the normal ones, even in high season, since Pai is really only busy on the weekends (and Reggae festival, which may have been permanently moved to Chiang Mai as of 2011).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed in Pai Chan from 20 feb - 25 feb 2011. Location is perfect, just across the bridge past bamboo and don't cry bar's (which are open till dawn, but no noise noticable in the cabins). The accomodation is very nice and clean with great views at rice fields and surrounding mountains. Be sure to bring a sweater as the nights can be chilly in this time of year. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarelOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

we arrived in pai by motorbike and checked out so many places before finally settling down - there's quite a big range for nearly every taste from luxurious garden settings to simple backpacker-style accomodations. we went for a place a bit elevated above the town centre - "Pai Chan" settled in the part of pai you might call the countryside. the rooms at "Pai Chan" are very simple but very aesthetically built! raw concrete walls are put together nicely with dark wood, leaving a certain feel you might get looking at the works of some japanese architects, the surrounding gardens are built out of stones & trees and we could open three of four room walls almost completely and thus have a nice view over the fields. no luxury accessoires, no fridge, but a very clean and authentic place. they make good food and fresh juices as well.

we were searching for a place to chill out, calm our overheated minds from driving around so much - and found "Pai Chan" to be perfect. if you're looking for something nearer to the walking street because you don't have a bike or motorbike, or maybe you have a nice river setting in mind, then just drive around a bit and you'll surely find what you're looking for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

This small bungalow complex is in a good location just a 5 minute walk over the bridge to Pai centre. We stayed in A1 which had views over the rice fields to the mountains. There was an area outside the bungalow where we could relax and also table and chairs. The small public area with a swimming pool, covered area with hammock and a swing and gardens were clean and very pleasant. There was a small bar where you could order snacks and drinks. The bungalow was soundly made with teak but there was little room as the double bed occupied most of the room and when you closed the shutters at night it was pitch black and felt a bit like being in a coffin. The bathroom and toilet were large and the shower head was the biggest we have come across since we started our travels. The water was hot, although it tended to go cold if you showered for too long.

All this was spoilt by two key issues. The bungalows are located near two all night clubs so it was difficult to get a good night's sleep as the music started about 10 p.m. and finished anytime between 2 and 4 a.m. The other issue was the attitude of the staff. When we came to view the bungalow it seemed that it was a huge effort and annoyance to show it to us and the same attitude prevailed throughout our stay. The only member of staff who showed any positive customer service was one of the male staff when we needed a light fixing, which was important as the bungalow was very dark. In our 3 months in Vietnam and Cambodia and now in Thailand this is the first time we have come across such disinterest and even hostility from the staff, particularly the female manager/owner. There were certainly no smiles at this place in this Land of Smiles. For this reason we would not recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unicorn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stayed here because of good reviews from this site but frankly was pretty unimpressed. When we came to check-in the people here were borderline hostile and this attitude didn't really change for the whole weekend we were there even though we made every effort to be polite and friendly. The rooms we okay but nothing special. There were lots of gaps in the roof, floor and walls were mosquitoes could get in but there was a mosquito net over the bed at least. For the price there are plenty of better and friendlier places in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinganja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
2.6 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
0.6 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Phu Pai Art Resort
0.3 mi away
Pairadise
Pairadise
#3 of 167 in Pai
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Family House @ Pai
Family House @ Pai
#5 of 179 in Pai
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pai Chan Cottage & Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pai Chan Cottage & Cuisine

Property: Pai Chan Cottage & Cuisine
Address: 191 moo 1, Mae Hee, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pai Chan Cottage & Cuisine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing