We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Pai”
Review of Aqua Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aqua Resort
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Pai
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Pai”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

I loved every minute of my 5 day stay at Aqua. It's located just outside of Pai town center, 15 minutes walk or 3 minute scooter ride (I'd definitely recommend the scooter option). If you want to go out for drinks at night, Den will pick you up in town so you don't have to drive the scooter home.

The owner Den and manager Nong are both amazing people, so kind and friendly and went out of their way many times to make sure all the guests felt welcome and at home. They invited me to join them for dinner every night. Nong is an amazing cook, and if you go to the market in th morning, you an pick up whatever you want to eat and Nong will cook an amazing feast for you.

The resort itself is lovely. The decor is basic but stylish. Keep in mind you need to be comfortable with nature (ie some bugs in the bathroom, need to walk outside to use the bathroom). The beds are comfy and mosquito nets are a welcome touch. There is a fridge stocked with beer, juice, soda and water, you can also buy any snacks in town and keep them in the fridge.

The pool is amazing -not many places in Pai have swimming pools and Aqua's pool is small but very nice. Low season price of 500B per night was very good value.

This isn't the place to go if you want the services and luxuries of a large hotel, but for a relaxed and chilled out holiday in Pai, Aqua is perfect. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NinjaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our experience of Aqua Resort falls in to two parts

First the good.......
Like other guests we found Den to be friendly, charming and helpful. He went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He gave us lifts in and out of town, arranged for one of his friends to  come and cook dinner for everyone on-site, and let us use the kitchen to cook ourselves breakfast. The perfect host!

Now the bad.......
We booked through Agoda and were charged the high season rate. On arrival, Den confirmed that we were now in low season and should have been charged the low season rate which was 50% less. We took this up with Agoda who said that the rates are managed by the hotel and not by them.  As the hotel has a Facebook page rather than a website we sent a couple of messages asking for the situation to be investigated and for Agoda to be instructed to make a refund if appropriate. Ten days later we still haven't had a response from either party.

Like one of the other reviewers, we also fell prey to the rotten planks of the suspended walkway around our bungalow. One of the planks broke under my wife's foot and her leg went through up to her knee. Fortunately the damage wasn't serious but it did cause a couple of deep scratches and some major bruising which meant that we were limited as to the range of activities we could enjoy over the next few days. The damaged plank was immediately replaced but the experience did make us tread much more carefully around the resort for the remainder of our stay.

Others have described the resort, it's location and facilities, all of which we can confirm. The decking around the pool has been replaced with high grade material and Den said that the plan was to do the remainder as soon as possible.

Pai is a great place to visit and Aqua Resort is a great place to stay. It's a shame that the experience was soured by my wife falling through the decking and having to pay double what we should have.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syncopation37A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at Aqua Resort after checking the reviews of TA. The resort is located 5 min drive from Pai Town but you wouldn't want to walk especially during the chilly season. Maybe we went at the wrong time. The temperature was cold and the bathroom/toilet was situated outside the bungalow behind it. You will need to get out of the bungalow to go to the toilet. Light was dim not sufficient to lit up the walkway to the bathroom. The room was provided only 2 standing lamp which does not provide sufficient light to pack your things.Blanket was not thick enough for a couple as the temperature drop to 12 degrees at night. Need a bit of maintenance, cobwebs everywhere and tap at the wash basin was defective. Because of the cold weather, the heater was not able to provide water which is hot enough but only lukewarm. Staying at Town will be a better choice if going during the cold season.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I adored Aqua Resort. A real labour of love from its owners Den and Mel. Sadly, I didn't get to meet Mel but Den filled me in on the history of the place during many of the delicious Thai meals he and his staff invited my son and I to share during our stay there.

Den couldn't have been more helpful. From the provision of extra blankets to frequent trips into town, and driving a few of us guests to a local hot spring. He even lent me his walking boots when I booked one of the hill tribe treks from a tour operator in Pai!

Lush gardens, beautifully quaint bungalow accommodation and night time campfires accompanied by the sound of a fast moving stream running straight from the mountains make Aqua Resort a magical slice of paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexjchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besana in Brianza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I can’t rave enough about the kindness of Den, the owner, and his staff. He went out of his way to give us the best possible service. He took the 7 of us to and from town on his pick-up truck, 3 extra mattresses for our children, all complete with mosquito nets, were provided in our rooms at no extra cost, he let us have a late check-out, he was always willing to give us an advice about a restaurant or to call our van driver upon our request. Great host!

We had no reservation but it was low season, so availability of bungalows was not an issue. The bungalows are scattered around a lush garden with a stream flowing nearby, some little bridges, wooden paths, rice fields, lily ponds: everything gives the place a peaceful vibe that made the place unforgettable for me and for my companions, too!

The bungalow itself is really lovely. Hexagonal shape, French windows that can be opened completely, wooden floor, no closet or shelf though. Each bungalow has its own attached bathroom which is nicely and simply designed with pebbles floor.

No breakfast available at the resort.

There’s also a nice blue square swimming pool surrounded by a wooden pavement with sunbeds.

Location: out of town, better if you have your own transportation.

Now to the unpleasant part: the resort is in serious need of maintenance. We were there in full rainy season and that certainly speeds up the wood decay. But I’m not complaining about minor details here:

• The rotten planks of the suspended walkway around our bungalow gave way under the weight of my husband and his leg remained inserted in the wooden planks up to his thigh. He was lucky he got off with just a few scratches. And I don’t think it was just our bungalow. When I told Den he promised to fix it.

• The wood around the swimming pool was in bad conditions too, you can see the pictures. Children enjoy swimming pools and we couldn’t keep them away but I can’t say this pool is the safest place.

Probably everything has been fixed by now after the rainy season. But better make sure by asking when you book.

Hadn’t it been for the lack of maintenance I would have given the resort a full rating, but I think safety comes first and I can’t rate it more than average. What a pity!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghighipatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Aqua after checking TA. We didn't followed TA blindly but a rating of nr. 1 of hotels in Pai some expectation was raised.

The hotel / bungalows are located 5 minutes outside Pai. Doable with motorbike or cycle. But you don't want to walk it every time you want to hit Pai.

We got a bungalow which was located near a stream of water. Quite zen like. The garden is lush.

The bungalow itself was romantic but quite Basic. I like basic don't get my wrong, less is more but a cabinet to put your clothes in or a mirror to do your hair would have been handy.

Our charming bungalow could use some maintenance. From the wooden panels outside (nails sticking out), a broken window to the spickled walls inside. All seems a bit worn down.

Despite the above we did had a nice stay at Aqua. The low season price of 500 baht leveled Trip Advisors expectation which was necessary.


  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_Seven_77c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Aqua resort is about 5 minutes from the centre of Pai, the area is very quiet and peaceful. The bungalows are set in the middle of gardens which are teaming with butterflies, geckos and birds, with a trickling stream.
The beds are cosy for 2 farangs (Im 6ft 2), but loads of thought has gone in to the layout of the bungalows and they have these fully opening bi-fold doors, so when its warm you can open up your whole bungalow and incorporate the verandah.
There is a lovely secluded pool and chill out hampers to watch thetelly - Muay Thai boxing on Saturday lunchtimes!
There is a small coffee house and clothes shop opposite and plenty of tucked away tea rooms, if u explore!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
0.0 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
0.0 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montis Resort
Montis Resort
#10 of 31 in Pai
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quarter Hotel
Quarter Hotel
#9 of 31 in Pai
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
0.0 mi away
Ai Pai Hotel
Ai Pai Hotel
#7 of 31 in Pai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Resort

Property: Aqua Resort
Address: Pai, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Pai
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Aqua Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Pai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing