We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pura Vida Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pura Vida Resort
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights for around $50 (AUD) per night. Our room faced the garden and the fields beyond. The room itself was tastefully decorated with an ensuite. It got cleaned every day and we were given two free water bottles every day as well.

Breakfast was included. We had the american breakfast once and the muesli twice (Noi, the owner has her own muesli recipe, very crunchy and tasty). The owners (Art and Noi) were lovely and helpful. Art came to pick us up at the bus stop and also dropped us back there too.

We weren't surprised at all that the resort is 4km away as we had already read this in other reviews. We hired a motorbike (which the owners organised for us). It was dropped off and picked up for us at the resort so we didn't have to worry about it ourselves.

The best thing about this stay was that it was quiet and we really got some good peaceful rest. We loved riding our bike to Pai town which took 10min. The ride was great, driving around the green fields gives you that nice holiday feeling. I think this location has the best of both worlds, away from the noise of town but not too far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wordtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
145
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Aad & Noi are lovely hosts. Their place is a sea of tranquility in a beautiful setting. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and part of the local community, in our case taking us to a Sunday veggie market. The view of the Pai valley from their hotel is spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbsv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at pura vida.
We loved it! The owners Aad en Noi are verry helpfull. We had to take a bus at 7:00am in Pai. Aad drove us there with pleasure. He also picked us up on our arrival and helped us out with a motorbike rental. In short, we could enjoy and relax without any hassle. Bungalows are clean an bug free with a beautiful surrounding garden. We recommend this place to anyone. You won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorishoofmans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's a pity we have to go from this paradise. The place is amazing. It's five minutes driving from Pai and you will find here all the peace you need to live a Pura Vida...
I can only say thank you to these guys for the time spent here. I would recommend it for anyone for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonito72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I was first intimidated by the distance between the center and the hotel but it turned out to be lovely. The hotel is located 10 minutes drive from the center which means its very peacful and natural all around.

The hotels owner are extrimely nice! Helped me with where to go and when.

Breakfast is light but recommanded - especially since you get to eat next to a beautiful view.

Rooms are clean and neat.

If you want a place that is more about the views rather than the location, and where the owner will know your name- this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaelflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came to Pura Vida expecting to stay one night before heading to Mae Hong Song. We thought to rest outside the bustle of Pai for a afternoon and night. One night turned into three because of the beauty of Khun Noi's and Khun Aad's lush garden and the surrounding rice fields, the comfort of the charming bungalows and Noi and Aad's cheerful helpfulness. Even though it rained two of the three days, sitting in the reception overlooking the large lotus pond relaxing was a high point of our trip. Be sure to try Noi's homemade muesli and local fruit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyLee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved our stay at Pura Vida! If you are looking for somewhere quiet, comfortable and peaceful to unwind after a day of experiencing the colourful and vibrant attractions in Pai, Pura Vida is the perfect place to stay.

The resort is situated about 5km outside of Pai. Noi collected us at the airport - we arranged in advance and she was spot on time! She is extremely helpful, got our rented scooter delivered to the resort and went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Her recommendations regarding restaurants and interesting places to visit was very helpful.

The rooms are lovely, very clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The aircon is modern and very efficient (and much needed!). The cottages are surrounded by a magificent tropical garden, with a large Khoi pond. The lay-out of the garden is such that even though the cottages are close to each other, privacy is not compromised in the least. Breakfast is simple and lovely. Noi makes lovely scrambled eggs, and I can definitely recommend the muesli and fruit breakfast option!

Do not let the location out of town discourage you from staying at Pura Vida. The drive to and from Pai is lovely - the road runs through a small village, rice paddies, and lovely fields. It is especially beautiful if you happen to drive during sunset! Definitely rent a scooter or a car, it is the best way to explore Pai and surrounds. We will definitely stay at Pura Vida again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrauWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
2.4 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
3.1 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
2.3 mi away
Quarter Hotel
Quarter Hotel
#9 of 30 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
LiLu Hotel
LiLu Hotel
#6 of 30 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Montis Resort
Montis Resort
#10 of 30 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Resort

Property: Pura Vida Resort
Address: 65 Moo 3 | Viengnuea, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pura Vida Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Pura Vida Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing