We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food with Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daeng Namnueng

Daeng Namnueng
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Nong Khai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The restaurant is next to the Mekong River in the centre of Nong Khai. However, the walkway along the river can be busy and noisy and may not give calm and uninterrupted views of the river and Laos (on the other side).

There is a large (covered) outdoor seating area with a further seating in several rooms inside (all with windows towards the river).

The menu is short and appears to be completely cold and prepared. Vietnamese sausages are well represented. We ate there twice and tried most of the menu. The food is tasty, very different and of a very high standard. For me the sensation was the spring rolls – nothing like a Chinese spring roll – delicate & fresh and packed with flavor. The sausages were good – and very varied. Most food comes with large helpings of lettuce and greens.

There are 4 deserts – but only 3 available on the day we tried them. Again, unusual – based on sweetened corn. Pleasant.

There are large numbers of waiters and service is swift. Beers and water are served – we asked for tea both times we went and neither time was it served.

One meal came to 450Bht and the second to 255Bht.

Excellent food and overall an uplifting eating experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    80
    32
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was here only two hours ago and I ate myself sick. The menu is a total of about ten things but they are all delicious and the salad is clean and crisp. There are two other vietnamese places that o know of on and just off prajak road that are cheaper with bigger portions. The one on prajak road was very clean with proper seats and tables, the one just off prajak road is dirty and although a lot of my friends like it I dont want to eat there again. Regardless, Daeng has the best view being right beside the river and despite being the more expensive here, it is still very cheap. You can feed two people for around 250 Baht (£5, $7) and it gets cheaper when you go as a group. Definately a place to eat while you are in Nong Khai.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank King-Zoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cheap, fresh and very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Quick and good service and excellent food. Cleanest and newest restaurant in town! Fresh and fried spring rolls are a must! The Vietnamese sausage (looks like a pancake) was really nice too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I realy liked the food and fast service and amased to find out how manny staff there was.The family never had been exposed to this type of food and had a great time learning how to eat this

Helpful?
1 Thank splinter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I have been here a few times and the food is JUST OK. The location on the Mekong boardwalk is superb and the place runs like a well oiled machine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daeng Namnueng also viewed

Nong Khai, Nong Khai Province
Nong Khai, Nong Khai Province
 
Nong Khai, Nong Khai Province
Nong Khai, Nong Khai Province
 
Nong Khai, Nong Khai Province
Nong Khai, Nong Khai Province
 

Been to Daeng Namnueng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing