We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbish and Facelift to Big Jieng hotel”
Review of Asawann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Asawann Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nong Khai
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Big Jieng hotel
- after takeover Tip hotel by Big Jieng group that made this old hotel is a part of the biggest shopping in Nongkhai (Thailand ) and Vientiene (Loas)

- This hotel during refurbishment and face lift from old lady to modern hotel. 

@lobby is bland no food to eat (you can eat at connected  shopping mall :Starbucks coffee, KFC , Swensen ice-cream , pizza hut, MK suki restaurant,etc ) , good manner of front and have bell boy at the door.

@ Price : very cheap about 550 baht with 500 baht gaurantee per night although many hotel are new and more fascinating ( such as Nakhara hotel) ; 200 baht supplement for extra bed)

@ in room :approximately30m2 in single queen size bed.
- had room service( food), bottle of gas-juice and beer in fridge  , had some space to put other and two compliment  water 

- bath room : good clean, new in wall hot water, new single vanity and clean toilet,2 soap bar, cap , shampoo available ,2 big towel available .no  separate glasswall and. Bath tube made bathroom look more space.

- bed :  firm not hard , average bed sheet but clean . Exactly not have featherbed, down duvet pillow. 

- living area with two arm chair, about 30 inch Sony Bravia flat screen with cable. Big window made a view and easy open to get fresh air
 
- Aircondition : is OK not made sneezing or allergic running nose .

@ No wifi available in room but Nongkhai had 3G for Truemove H+ too.

@Transportation :
- easy drop from van(200baht per person) from Udonthani airport to Thai-Loas bridge, about 500 baht by hire Taxi from Hotel to Udonthani international airport or van (150 baht per person) 
- easily to get on Tuk-Tuk( open airtaxi) to travel around city

-Light is new white light although hade old heritage-cloth lamp from Tip hotel era.

@food :
- day time many in shopping mall ESP Starbucks coffee  and Daeng  namneung at Thasadej market.
- Night time in Night food street (Prajak road)  recommend DD restaurant ; Padthai  and somtam and grill pork that corner opposite tapwater office. 

Conclusion: this during face lift hotel        Had reasonable price and quality, clean new renovated room and in shopping mall area.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oncati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

I went with the intention of staying for two nights but checked out after one. The room was old but adequate but when I asked about the karaoke as per their brochure I was told we do not have. I asked about a massage, what a rip off price so that went to. Its a shame because its a roomy building but badly in need of a BIG makeover and at least one staff that can speak a little English. I didn't take any photos of the place but whatever you do DO NOT BELIEVE THEIR BROCHURE

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happychappie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I went to Nongkai with my family - my brother, mum, mum's friend, 8 years old daugther, 4 years old nephew - for my brother business. He was invited to be a teacher at Konkaen University, Nongkai Campus. We went to see him, and planed to across border to Vientiane, Laos in the morning. We booked one night in Nongkai at The Tip Hotel from internet as it's near the border, and close to Tesco Lotus Store.

After checking in, and going up by the elevator, I walked thru the corridor to my room. The carpet looked dirty. Many area got drying mark. It's disgusting. The most terrible was its stink and musty smell. I must ask the staff to bring air refreshment sprey to blow all area of my room.

Bathroom looked old and narrow. Bathtub got some dirty stain, some broken area. I must be carefully when taking bath as the broken bathtub looked quite sharp.

It's just one night. I woke up in the very early morning, and checked out immediately. I will not be here again anymore.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank LeeHyoHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PARIS-ISAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank Atikomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nong Khai hotels
5.8 mi away
Royal Nakhara Hotel
Royal Nakhara Hotel
#3 of 19 in Nong Khai
74 reviews
0 mi away
Busayarin Hotel
Busayarin Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nong Khai
20 reviews
5.5 mi away
Nong Khai Resort
Nong Khai Resort
#5 of 19 in Nong Khai
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rest Time Hotel
Rest Time Hotel
#17 of 19 in Nong Khai
1 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hop Inn Nong Khai
Hop Inn Nong Khai
#4 of 19 in Nong Khai
34 reviews
0 mi away
Tanzeno Hotel
Tanzeno Hotel
#6 of 19 in Nong Khai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asawann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asawann Hotel

Address: 9 Moo 10, Mitrapap Rd., Nong Khai 43000, Thailand (Formerly Big Jieng Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Nong Khai Province > Nong Khai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nong Khai
Price Range: $24 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asawann Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Asawann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing