We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great communal spaces, tons of character, clean, functional, cheap, and has wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sawasdee Guest House
Ranked #20 of 46 Nong Khai B&B and Inns
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, great communal spaces, tons of character, clean, functional, cheap, and has wifi”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What more do you want? I'm somewhat baffled by all the low reviews, but maybe they were expecting more of a luxury experience. I can only speak for my own, so bear that in mind. I was lucky, though, and snagged a single fan room on the corner (read: two windows) with a shared bathroom. This place had everything I needed and nothing I didn't. The room is, well, a room for SLEEPING in, and covers the basics and is small, clean and functional. (If you're traveling and sightseeing, why would you need to spend all your time in your room anyway?) The multiple communal spaces are spacious, with tons of chairs, tables, high ceilings, and an indoor courtyard with plants and statues in an old, Chinese-style house. A really nice, helpful English-speaking family runs this place (three generations, although, the two-year-old has yet to start working the front desk.) ;) So, yes, it's old, but it's also beautifully decorated and kept scrupulously clean. Only potential downside I can see for some people is that it's on a busy road, so you do get traffic some traffic noise if you're in a room near the road, but luckily no noisy bars or clubs nearby. A huge plus for me was the selection of books downstairs and the wifi (possibly not all rooms are in range of it, but mine happened to be.)

This place is one of my favorite in Southeast Asia and you can't beat the value for a budget accomodation.

Room Tip: If it's important to you, check to see if you can get wifi in your room and keep in mind that so...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mrbaksida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

On looking around and being told the room included breakfast, luggage store and shower after checkout it appeared to be great value. The room was clean and jkslun@gmail.com the bathrooms appear to have been updated recently, but unfortunately the mattress was not very good (despite first appearances), lumpy and saggy so made for an uncomfortable night.
The big letdown however was when the manager started harrassing us to go get money to pay upfront whilst we were trying to settle in and work out how much money we needed to withdraw (having just arrived from Laos). We explained this but he got angry so we headed out and got him his money. Unfortunately his surly attitude remained. He was brisk, demanding, obnoxious and really soured our stay. We would not reccommend this experience. To cap it all off breakfast was extra and so was the shower after checkout. There is far better options elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nong Khai hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Arrived at the hotel around 3pm, the manager was not there and the lady working at the time barely spoke Englis, we showed the emails we had exchanged reserving a room with a/c + bathroom, but she just kept pointing to the twin room (fan, no bathroom) on the list as all that was free. She showed us thr room, which was basically a grubby box with two tiny delapidated beds, and some old, mangy looking bed linen, not so much as a mirror or picture on the wall........Admittedly it was only 220 Baht but when you can get a nice air con room with en suite for 400-500 Baht in Nong Khai.....its irrelevant.

The rest of the place resembled a dusty bric a brac shop with various sterotypical "travellers" loitering around, under some delusion they are living some sort of hugely alternative bohemian life, despite the fact there was a British Pub, Danish and German bar down the road...!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We re-visited this place after four years and we were pleased to find out nothing had changed. We just like the atmosphere which the owner Mr. Jong has given this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenmarkNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We paid 200B per night for a double room with fan and shared showers and toilets.
The building is traditional and spacious, with good communal seating areas downstairs (where good, basic breakfasts are served). There are no outdoor seating areas and the building was a bit dark, but we felt relaxed and comfortable spending time relaxing there.
Location-wise it was good – within easy walking distance of the bus station and the riverfront bars and restaurants.
The owner rented us a couple of old but perfectly adequate bicycles for a reasonable rate. The only downside was the laundry prices, which we found to be unacceptably high.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Apart from an interesting lobby (once a collonial shop) there are no thrills, but no problems, either. We had a room with a fan with a shared bathroom for 200 baht - our expectations were low, so we were satisfied.
Big advantage - the place is walking distance from the bus station and an excellent restaurant at newly opened Mekong River hostel (don't remember the name exactly, but ask at the reception at Sawasdee),

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Sawasdee Guest House is a street or two over from the Nong Khai bus station, located close to the Thasadet Market. Overall, it is fine for exploring a bit of Nong Khai. For 400 or 450 baht, you get an aircon room with tv. The rooms appear fairly new, but contain standard guest house furniture and design. Comparing it too Mut Mee Guest house, it certainly lacks the nice location along the Mekong River. However, the aircon room appears more up-to-date and closer to the bus station.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nong Khai hotels
4.2 mi away
Nong Khai Resort
Nong Khai Resort
#4 of 18 in Nong Khai
57 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hop Inn Nong Khai
Hop Inn Nong Khai
#5 of 18 in Nong Khai
32 reviews
1.8 mi away
White Inn Nongkhai
White Inn Nongkhai
#2 of 46 in Nong Khai
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Klang Muang @ Nongkhai Hotel
Klang Muang @ Nongkhai Hotel
#13 of 46 in Nong Khai
6 reviews
3.2 mi away
Park & Pool Resort
Park & Pool Resort
#1 of 18 in Nong Khai
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pan Guesthouse
Pan Guesthouse
#3 of 46 in Nong Khai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Guest House

Property: Sawasdee Guest House
Address: 402 Meechai Rd., Nong Khai 43000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nong Khai Province > Nong Khai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Nong Khai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sawasdee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing