We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Building Marvel”

Wat Phra Pathom Chedi
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.50*
and up
Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 6th-century temple is the largest in the world.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Building Marvel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's a beautiful ancient architecture. I arrived in Nakhon Pathom through the Railway train. The Chedi is just in front of me, i just cannot miss it.

After the entrance, there's this area, where they sell souvenir/amulets, they have photos of the chedi throughout the years. Its amazing how the can build this in the ancient years with all the bricks.

Walking around, beautiful doors, ceilings, walkways. Some ancient old left behind ruins.

It's really beautiful. Even though it not a place with a variety to see, you'll still end up spending quite a bit of time. Its a place you'll not want to miss if you're in the area.

Bamboo Rice at the stalls outside of the chedi is also a local delicacy you might want to try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hhtebaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    120
    26
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Marvellous place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's a beautiful ancient huge chedi which located in the heart of Nakhon Pathom. It's a great palce to explore, pray and make a wish. Especially, at night, you will see the chedi decorated with full of light. It's worth seeing. Plus, you can enjoy tons of local food, drinks and desserts at the night hawker on the ground of the chedi. Or if you come on day time, the lively market and many restaurants are right near the monastery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajaree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“largest chedi in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We finished our trip from Kanchanaburi to Bangkok in this town. We stayed there in the evening time. Nakhon Pathom is the oldest city in Thailand. Chedi is 120 m high and it was lighted. It is massive brick stupa largest in the world. Around the Chedi is many of Budha faces. In evening time it was very impressive view for us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank milankov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phra Pathom Chedi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The monastery has a beautiful and very historic.
I like that a lot because I was born here.
I like to walk around the stupa.I want you to meet with old and rich harmonies.
Then you will like here, like me.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank toonicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The biggest Stupa (J D)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This high pagoda-like skyscraper in the city. Over 100 meters high like bell shape orange color.
Buddha images around pagoda has a lot more to see. Attitude of stop fighting position the gold statue is located in front of the pagoda.
In the afternoon, the weather is quite hot.
But at about 17:30. hrs. could walk better.
If you can find a good angle to take photos this beautiful pagoda.
Admission fee 60 Baht

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CyclingBangkokT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Phra Pathom Chedi also viewed

Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
 
Nakhon Chai Si, Nakhon Pathom Province
Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
 

Been to Wat Phra Pathom Chedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing