We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanam Chandra Palace

Sanam Chandra Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's okay if you are already in Nakhon Pathom with your own transport and you need things to see. It's nothing special but it's nice for a stroll if the weather isn't too hot. No need to specially travel from Bangkok to see this.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pianocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
1,090 reviews
739 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,056 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Sanam Chandra Palace is located in Nakhon Pathom Town, about 60 kms from Bangkok. It was built about 100 years ago by King Rama VI of Thailand to suit the tropical climate of the country.
It has five buildings, a Ganesh shrine, and a Statue of Yah Leh, beloved dog of King Rama VI. From the Palace, you can have a view of Phra Pathom Chedi, famous Pagoda (Stupa); supposed to be the tallest in the world(127 mtrs).
Just to see this sight you will have to spend about 6 hours if you are based in Bangkok , and I would like to give a skip to it


.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RajnishPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant attraction in an otherwise dull town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I visited Sanam Chandra Palace after living in Nakhon Pathom for 4 months. There's not much to do in Nakhon Pathom as I've stated in other reviews. To reach the palace you can take a motortaxi from the Chedi to Silkpakorn for 20-30 baht. Do not pay more than that or you are getting ripped off. I saw the sign as well to pay 50 baht and I walked right in. The grounds are surprisingly well maintained and it is pretty. Look carefully for the monitor lizards in the water as you cruise around. I'm not sure if you can go in the actual palace or not, there aren't really any signs and it was pretty deserted minus a few walking college students. It will likely be incredibly hot so that cut my visiting time short. If you have time definitely stop for lunch. Right down the street near the Tesco Lotus Express there's a great restaurant called More. They have Thai and Vietnamese food. I don't see them on Trip Advisor but order the spring rolls, yellow curry, and a banana or pineapple smoothie. Best food I ever found in Nakhon Pathom.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notteroy Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice park for a stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

it says 50 baht at the gate, but no need to pay, have an icecream, and buy some bread to feed the chickens, the squirrels, fish etc. good day out, and a perfect park for dogs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sn4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanam Chandra Palace also viewed

Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
Nakhon Chai Si, Nakhon Pathom Province
 
Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Pathom Province
 

Been to Sanam Chandra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing