We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended. No internet access available.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wang Thong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wang Thong Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mae Sai
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not recommended. No internet access available.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

This hotel looks like the most expensive and delux hotel in Mae Sai, maybe so but it's quality is pretty poor. I can not stand for attitude / behavior of staff even though I never mind of its oldness and poor facility in the room. I don't recommend this hotel.

And no internet access is available in this hotel when you want to coneect your laptop. You can connect intenet in other hotels and guest houses in Mae Sai.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
5
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

1. The room with the Myanmmar view was comfortable and clean. Great view.
2. Bathroom was clean too but water pressure a bit low.
3. I booked a room with a double bed but was given twin single beds.
4. Internet only at the lobby - a single computer only. Charges a bit exorbitant for me. Half hour 40 bahts. Disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

BTW this is July 2010!! For the price this hotel is good value and I would recommend to anyone looking for an affordable hotel in Mae Sai. Location excellent; rooms good; restaurant average. What would one expect for 900 Baht??!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

The hotel doesn't look like the website/brochures. The room stank and we had to change the room a few times. The air con didn't work in one of the rooms. The water heater didn't work in another room. The lights didn't work in yet another room. And we had one room infested with ants. The bedsheets stank. There was no housekeeping service when night falls as the staff had all gone back home. There was no hot water, and when we asked for it, we were given a flask that was rusted. Certain days, there was no breakfast buffet. The staff could hardly speak english.

But I guess, when you are in mae sai, there aren't much choices of hotels for a comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything about the hotel!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jusjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mae Sai hotels

Antipodes
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

Hotel is on the Thai/Burma border, a 1 minute stroll to passport control. Be sure to ask for a room with a Myanmar View. These rooms are 3 star, and quite ok. They have a private balcony and the view really is good... I enjoyed the sunset.

The pool is nice, there's plenty of market shopping possibilities to keep you occupied through-out the day. There is nothing to do in the town after 8pm, becoming very peacful.

Normally available for around 1000 baht including an "ok" breakfast. If you want/need to overnight in Mae Sai, this is a very good place to stop.

  • Liked — The balcony and sunset view
  • Disliked — Food options in the hotel were limited.
  • Tips/Secrets — Request a Myanmar View room
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

The hotel does not look like in the brochure / website. The rooms stank & seems like not in use for a very very long time. We asked for double bed & what we got was two twin bed joined. We booked 10 rooms & had to change 2 rooms due to defective electrical wiring & balcony door's lock is out of order. The plus side is that the shops & border is just within the vicinity. Not recommended

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Sai
0.0 mi away
Chour Palace Hotel
Chour Palace Hotel
#1 of 14 in Mae Sai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.7 mi away
V-Park Hotel
V-Park Hotel
#5 of 14 in Mae Sai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.8 mi away
Piyaporn Pavilion Hotel
Piyaporn Pavilion Hotel
#54 of 108 in Chiang Rai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wanliya Resort
Wanliya Resort
#2 of 14 in Mae Sai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sailomjoy The Boutique Hostel
6.9 mi away
Khunnam Rimtarn Resort
Khunnam Rimtarn Resort
#13 of 24 in Mae Sai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wang Thong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wang Thong Hotel

Property: Wang Thong Hotel
Address: 299 Phaholyothin Road, Mae Sai 57130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Sai
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mae Sai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wang Thong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wang Thong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing