We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
3
7
16
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3
7
16
1
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 34 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here once during a visa run to the border. The front desk staff are very attentive without being intrusive. I stayed in room 307 which has a little balcony overlooking the main road to the immigration building. One would have thought the street noise would be too much but as the border closes around 6pm, the traffic dies away very quickly.

The room itself was clean and tidy, sure its not 5 star by any standard but it was ideal for a stop over. The bed was firm and the linen clean. Ample hot water in the shower and the air conditioning worked well. For a tariff of just 600 baht, I could not fault the place. Be aware that there are no elevators so you will have to climb stairs. But the stairway is very wide and the steps can accomodate the bigger western foot with ease! Plus the exercise will do you good too.

Some how during my over night stay I managed to get tied up with a few other expats, which led to a bit of a long night of drinking and visiting bars and other sites within Mae Sai. This was all good at the time, but by crikey my head suffered in the morning when I had to ride the motorbike. I took off at about 9am which was about 2 hours later than planned. Due to my loss of brain cells (I blame the soda's) I left some clothing and a small change pouch in the room.

The following day when I arrived at my destination, I phoned the hotel and told them about the clothes and change pouch. I explained that I would be doing another visa run in 2 weeks and would pick up the gear then. I didnt actually expect to see any of it again but was greatfully appreciative when I returned back to the Top North Hotel, and the staff had everything in a plastic bag ready for my uplift.

So with that I can recommend this hotel as a great low cost stay with very honest staff. I doubt that you will be disappointed. I will stay again when I decide to do an overnight visa run. Oh and the food is great too, with very fast service.

Room tip: Go for the rooms with A/C as the humidty in Mae Sae can be a bit over powering at times
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaghdadKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at the Top North for about a week in January whilst working nearby. The place is in need of some serious TLC, but the staff are a friendly and helpful bunch who make you feel very welcome.

Our room was a twin-bed with fan, which we paid 400 baht per night for. Not super-cheap but reasonable enough for this town. During the time of year that we stayed (January) there's really no need for air-con. In fact, you may find yourself asking for another blanket. The rooms are quite spartan - there are no soft furnishings beyond the beds. Also the walls are very thin so if you're a light sleeper make sure you take ear plugs. On the plus side, we had a small TV which had one channel showing rolling Hollywood films in English - sometimes this is a real luxury.

The front of the hotel opens up fully onto the street and there's a cafe/ bar area where most guests and others congregate day and night. They serve excellent coffee here. Breakfasts aren't particularly good - they're a bit mean on the muesli portions and toast is of the cheap white bread variety. However, the lunchtime massaman curry is very good and is served in generous portions. In the evenings they stop serving food but are more than happy for guests to buy food from elsewhere and eat it at the hotel.

The staff are very helpful, particularly the chaps who work at the cafe/ bar. We needed somewhere to lock up our hired scooter and they were more than happy to have us use the secure area around the rear of the hotel.

I found that any shortcomings of the hotel itself were made up for by the helpful and friendly manner of the staff. Also there's never a dull moment in the cafe area as lots of strange and surreal characters pass through Maesai constantly. Forget about your slightly rundown room, enjoy your coffee, talk to some passersby and make use of the free and fast-enough wi-fi.

Room tip: Wi-fi is probably available in the lower rooms, but there's less noise upstairs on the third floor. No lift though.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernardAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Usually, travelers use to stay one night in Mae Sai for a one or two days visa run. Top North Hotel is very closed from the immigration gates then looks very useful. The place is very simple and we found a room for 900 bahts, we had a triple room which is quiet expensive for Thailand for this quality. In Bangkok Kao San, this room would cost may be 500 bahts, no more. But it's Mae Sai, then we paid. We had the every bad idea to eat in the restaurant of the top north hotel (actualy, there is not a huge choice downtown..) and one of us will remember the 3 days he spent in toilets after that...At the end of the day, Top north is the kind of place it's better to avoid except if you like and enjoy hardcore travel and risky meals.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Im R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Hi

Stayed at Top North Hotel in Dec 2009 for several days with my extended family.

The man at the desk is extremely helpful, is not a "hard sell" person and will try to listen to what sort of room you are looking for. General charge for room with fan is 250 baht per single bed, so for twin room with fan 500 baht. Room has TV, but no fridge. Would be nice if the rooms had a fridge and an electric kettle. However this was manageble and no a great concern.

Its in a nice location central to most things in Mae Sai.

Found the hotel to be clean, beds and sheets are clean.
There is a group room with 4 single beds if needed.

Only have two "complaints"

1. If you want a double (queen bed) in a fan room they dont have one
In fan rooms they only have single beds (for a queen bed you need to request an aircon room). I think they should fix this for one or two fan rooms. Would be an easy fix.

2. The hotel is not particularly sound proof. The walls facing the interior walkways are the main culprits. This did not particularly effect us, but it could be a problem if the "neighbours are noisy". Im sure they could resolve this if enough people request it.

If in Mae Sai I could recommend this hotel

If you decided you wanted something more up market.
This is a good first stop.
If you wanted something more upmarket this would at least give you a decent place for a night or two to find something else if needed.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aussie_Matu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 21, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews