We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of a bad lot”
Review of Noom Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Noom Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Lop Buri B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I'll admit right off the bat - I didn't like Lop Buri. I'd arrived, planning on staying 2 nights, but left after 1, as I found the town unattractive and lacking in interesting sites, although the locals were friendly.

Not usually bothering with reservations, I arrived and looked at about 5 hotels. Noom was the best of the lot, although it's not much. My single room was very cheap (150B a night) and clean, although very basic and a bit run-down. There was an ancient single bed, a small table, a fan, and a window. That was it. The shared bathrooms were rather run-down, and the courtyard was lacking in greenery (I didn't find I wanted to sit out there). Their bungalows were nicer according to other travellers, but fully booked when I visited.

Honestly? I only stayed there because it had clean sheets (unlike some of the other places in town I looked at), and left LopBuri at the first opportunity. In another town, I'd never stay here, but there's so little to chose from in Lop Buri, it's seemed the best of the lot.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-Canadian-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

Lop Buri did not impress us beyond the aggressive monkeys, but we thoroughly enjoyed Noom Guest House. We were there during low season. They have a couple of tastefully decorated, quaint "bungalows" that share a common courtyard in the back. We had the place mostly to ourselves, and, after dinner at what appeared to be one of the only 2 restaurants in the area, we enjoyed the rest of the evening relaxing on our little patio in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolenejentilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The room was basic but homely, with two of the walls entirely windowed, for views of rooftops and monkey mischief.
The owner and his family were so kind to us, going out of their way to train us with scooters, give us tips for exploring the town and surrounds, fixing us delicious, large portioned meals and coming to our rescue late at night when the fan broke down (our only problem).
Probably not the most exciting guesthouse I've stayed in but Lopburi is a small town and we stayed at some shockers there, so Noom is definitely the only option. The hospitality was just amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed in a small bungalow in a lovely garden, which was clean and quet and much better than rooms at Noom2. Good location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EspritVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in Noom 2 (around the corner from the original Noom in the Lonely Planet). cheap basic room, but we found it to be clean. Bathroom was shared, but again it was clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Easy to locate and easy to walk around Lopburi. Ate our evening meal at Noom 1, nice basic Thai food, then had breakfast at Noom 2, again good food. Would recommend for a budget traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We went there because it was in the Lonely Planet, but we over estimated the place from the description in the guide. We knew it was basic, but we didn't expect what we found... it was dirty, the rooof of the bathroom was broken, with holes in the roof and in the wall, we stayed 1 night and found 2 huge cockroaches that we had to kill, we could hear someone near our room was spitting catarrh all the time. we asked for the air conditioning room on the phone, they said yes but when we arrived they explained in a broken English that it was not available so we slept with a fan. The towels were old and dirty. no bed sheets to cover during the night. nobody explained about breakfast so we still don't know if it was included or not. Internet free wi fi did not work.
it was very cheap, around 8 euros per room per night. However, we left the next morning despite having booked for 2 days.
Go to Lopburi only for the day unless you really need to sleep there. It is not a good town, it's dirty and it only has the monkeys (which are worth the trip)..

Room Tip: Don't trust the Lonely Planet this time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We booked a room on the phone the night before. When we arrived (it was easy to find from the train station) we looked in the reception and no one was there. After about 5 minutes of waiting and looking around for someone we rang the mobile phone number we had for the place. The person who answered was seemed shocked there was no one there, and the reason for this became apparent when as we were talking on the phone, what appeared to be a heap of blankets in a dark corner of the room rose up to reveal the lady who should have been at the desk. Our irritation at there being no one to check us in when we arrived lifted immediately, as we laughed off the just woken receptionist's apologies. Not that we would appreciate this anywhere, but here it seemed fitting.

There were no AC rooms available so we took a fan bungalow on ground level. The walls were thin and the bungalow seemed more of a rickety shack. There were plenty of windows however so the room was well lit. The bedroom seemed clean enough but the mattress and sheets seemed old, and not well looked after. There was a bathroom, which was small but big enough, and had hot water I think (i may be wrong about that). However we noticed that when the shower was on the water ran down and over the light switch. So we didn't turn the bathroom light on again. This also happened when it rained.

The garden was very small, but it looks nice with the plants and the shrine and it had a decent table to sit at.

There was a large sort of drain between our bungalow and the one next door, when we were there it was host to a frog, which I enjoyed watching.

The room had a TV but it didn't have any English channels tuned in, and for a TV stand there was a very old, and bigger TV, which made the room look like some sort of den in the shed.

I've made the place sound terrible, but it was fun. We were only there for one night and the staff were so friendly and helpful, and it was very cheap. And the bed was comfortable enough to sleep on, it had 4 walls and a toilet and a shower. Everything we needed. We really enjoyed it.
The only real problem was when we went for breakfast the restaurant wasn't open, the really nice woman who showed us our room and helped us find our way around said it would be open soon, at which point a man we hadn't seen before got off his chair and said it wouldn't open. As far as we could tell he couldn't be bothered to open up for just two guests. The woman seemed quite annoyed at him.

She gave us a map and showed us where to go for the sights, the whole town is within walking distance, including the sights.You don't need to find the monkeys, they will find you. I made the mistake of carrying my camera in a camera bag which hung at my hip, this basically made me into a climbing frame for the monkeys. Once I put it away they left me alone a bit more so only carry a backpack.

We went for a beer on the night at a place called 'school milk' right next to the guest house. the beers were cheap and the staff were friendly, a couple of them tried to have a drink and a cigarette with us, but their lack of English, and our lack of Thai ended up as too much of a barrier for the conversation to last a whole beer. Shame.

We went back the next morning for breakfast. Turns out they don't serve food, and the lack of a common language meant we couldn't understand when they were warning us that our cereals were in fact milkshakes, and we ended up ordering 2 milkshakes each instead of food and one milkshake each. Still they were very cheap and very nice. And it seems to be the only place open to drink in the evening. So its handy that it is practically attached to the hotel.

Overall there isn't much need to stay the night in the city, but if you want to, and you want something a little different, and don't mind roughing it a bit, this place is great. If I were to stay in Lopburi again I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bheat2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lop Buri hotels
3.2 mi away
Benjatara Boutique Resort
2.2 mi away
MDR Hotel
MDR Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lop Buri
25 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lopburi Inn Resort
Lopburi Inn Resort
#4 of 9 in Lop Buri
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lopburi Inn Hotel
Lopburi Inn Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lop Buri
44 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wanlapa Farmstay
Wanlapa Farmstay
#2 of 19 in Lop Buri
23 reviews
3.5 mi away
Privacy Residence Lopburi
Privacy Residence Lopburi
#9 of 14 in Lop Buri
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noom Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noom Guest House

Address: 15 - 17 Phayakamjad Rd | Tumbon Thahin Umper Muang Lopburi, Lop Buri 15000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lopburi Province > Lop Buri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lop Buri
Price Range: $10 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noom Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noom Guesthouse is a family run business. We cater to tourists for a comfortable and friendly place to stay. On top of that we can provide information and equipment for activities and adventures around Lopburi suchas climbing and trekking and can also help with ideas and planning for trips to many locations around Thailand. At Noom guesthouse we enjoy giving information and helping the tourists because we too are travelers. We know that the traveling experience can be much more fulfilling when there are friendly people who can guide you to the hidden treasures that the country has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Noom Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noom Guest House Lopburi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing