We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice patio, good hotelbut not too uptodate”
Review of Wienglakor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wienglakor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Lampang
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel at the outskirts of Lampang is fine, but rooms are not adapted as yet to the laptop generation, so missing sockets to load your gadgets unless you want to sit in the dark. Toilet nicely equipped wit 'budd shower'. No buffet lunches and dinners, but decent à la carte, as is the breakfast that also takes care for veggies. Beer only in small bottles but no exaggerate prices. Nice staff. We did like the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Wienglakor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

The use of teakwood for floors, doors and cabinets give the rooms a warm craftsman-like feeling. Throughout the hotel there was great attention to details in the construction. In the stairwell there are lovely displays of pottery and antiques.
In the gardens are numerous dining areas large and small some with air conditioning and others in large open pavilions. There is a waterfall and pond with koi and with lighting that makes it as lovely at night as in the daytime.
Of the 5 hotels in which we stayed during this trip to Thailand, this was the only one that did not have a buffet breakfast. Plan extra time to order one of the 3 standard breakfasts. The American breakfast was good and plentiful. There were also extra plates of fresh fruit and toast.
In the evening there was casual dining near the pond on the grounds of the hotel. Alcoholic beverages were available and we had a delicious sweet and sour chicken (but, don’t expect it to be just like your American Chinese restaurant dish of the same name).
Because I love to take photographs, I found this an especially interesting hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Big hotel, cold personel, just a big hotel like so many other big hotels.
Room was very big, but the room and bathroom were unfresh, old looking.
Breakfast was not very good.
I think that most of the travelers comming there only spend one night, on there way to chiang mai

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guythediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A lovely lobby and dining area, but the rooms weren't quite as nice. The room was large with good storage for our luggage, but there was some aging paint and the décor was quite dark. We did get a good sleep so we were able to get rested to continue our tour northward.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDAHiFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Checked into Wienglakor Hotel for one night whilst travelling across North Thailand and was impressed by the hotel upon arriving. You'll be greeted with a vast lobby with marble flooring and furnishing. The grandeur of the lobby is obvious upon stepping in.

As the other reviewers have mentioned, it is relatively old but the only area that looked old was the lift, actually. The rooms and everything else look modern enough to me. No complaints for me as the room is totally worth the price we paid.

Do note if you have breakfast there, I would suggest Chinese/Thai style porridge for breakfast as the American breakfast isn't the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justafterdark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group through Smartours. We understand from the local Thai guide that this hotel is the best of what is available in Lampang of tourist class hotels. The hotel is a bit faded, worn and could use some updates. The room was clean and comfortable but the bed was hard. The bathroom shows a lack of care with tape holding the showerhead together, need of a good paint job and chipped soap dish.

Do not expect much for breakfast. There is an American option for the meat eaters – egg, some fried meat product, white toast. And for us vegetarians – veggie fried rice, white toast, cabbage soup, coffee that was bitter and tea. All are served fruit – the best part of this breakfast.

Considering what out tour guide said this is probably about the best that you can expect in Lampang.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel has a nice setting, outside the downtown area. Our room was well worn with the paint in the bathroom discolored with a rusty hue running down the wall near the toilet. The bright spot for this hotel was a garden restaurant with a large Koi pond, waterfalls and huge tropical plants. Some of our group described the food as some of the best they had tasted so far on our trip.

Funny travel story...our toilet was plugged when I woke up at 5:20 AM. I called the front desk to get some help and the maintenance guy showed up without a plunger. He had to go back and get the plunger so I decided to shave in the sink. I was half shaved with a sink full of water when the guy got back. The maintenance guy went right to work on the toilet and got it running. Before I could say anything, he stuck the dirty plunger in the sink and plunged away!!! I think he thought my shaving water was a plugged sink. Luckily, my wife was still asleep. Before she got up I had to use a whole bottle of foaming bath soap to clean the sink and counter so it could be used...disaster averted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takarehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lampang hotels
5.6 mi away
Lampang River Lodge
Lampang River Lodge
#1 of 29 in Lampang
403 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Coconut Hotel
The Coconut Hotel
#2 of 29 in Lampang
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hop Inn Lampang
Hop Inn Lampang
#3 of 29 in Lampang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B2 Lampang
B2 Lampang
#7 of 29 in Lampang
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pin Hotel Lampang
Pin Hotel Lampang
#6 of 29 in Lampang
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
A:Bizz
A:Bizz
#15 of 29 in Lampang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wienglakor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wienglakor Hotel

Address: 138/38 Phaholyothin Road | Suandok Subdistrict, Lampang 52000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lampang Province > Lampang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Lampang
Price Range: $38 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wienglakor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wienglakor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wienglakor Hotel Lampang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing