We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
R-Lampang Guest House
Ranked #11 of 31 Lampang B&B and Inns
Aosta, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been there just for one night, really happy about the location, the cleanliness, the staff.
This guesthouse is 5 mins walking to the city center - Lampang is small though.
Next to the river, beautiful view and back garden.
the temples there is one which is UNESCO heritage) are just a short walk away, but it is also easy to be picked up from the hotel by a tuk tuk (the reception can organise it for you).
The staff can't speak much English, but they do everything to make you happy - it was so easy to have a tuk tuk early in the morning to be taken to the airport - even without proper English! :)
I booked a room for myself, it was just so pretty (please check the pics), quiet and clean.
Internet is available for free, and it is working in the room as well.
There are towels to use, too. And hangers in the room.
I would definitively stay here again in a future visit to Lampang!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anninafe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
19
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I arrived in Lampang six weeks into my Thai adventure and this was my favourite room I stayed in across the whole trip. It was just so so cute. Lovely bedding (which was a refreshing change), nicely decorated, and a vintage style television in the room. The grounds of the guesthouse are similarly lovely, with ample space to look out on to the river with a beer. Oh, and friendly staff. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paperdavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langdorp
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We didn't stay at the guesthouse because it was fully booked. We asked if we could have breakfast there bacause there was none at our guesthouse and the one we had in town was not very good. We had a wonderful breakfast, full and Japanese one which wre both delicious . Friendly owner.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mikLangdorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I did not stay at R-Lampang because it was fully booked! This place is very famous for Thai, so you must book in advance. I stopped by this place for a while, really enjoy the decorations, river view and souvenirs. The owner showed me around and gave some useful information. This place is also closed to the weekend night market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnjoyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

This guesthouse has much to recommend it... Excellent location on the river, nice rooms with cute and charming decor around the whole place, friendly service, and good value (you can pay cheaper nearby for an inferior experience). Maybe the only negative is that there can be some noise pollution from a nearby bar up until about midnight but it gives you a good excuse to go and join in with the welcoming locals!

I would also recommend renting the guesthouse bicycles for the day (vey cheap), as it's a great (if slightly hair-raising) way to see the city. Plenty of relaxing cycling along the river to be done if you cross over the nearby bridge to the other side. Just keep open the eyes in the back of your head :)

My parents stayed here twice and loved it (they're pretty fussy!) and I can highly recommend R-Lampang as the best guesthouse in Lampang.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stu_pid80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in the room you can see in the above photo on the ground floor.

We only stayed one night and for the 550 baht we paid, it was excellent value. The room was basic but clean and tidy. The bed was the hardest one we had slept on in Thailand but was actually comfortable.

Breakfast was served next to the river and was a good place to watch people going to work etc on the other side of the river.

I was fine with everything about this guesthouse, but my OH had been worried during the night as there was no lock on the door just a wooden bar and he was a little worried about safety. Not unusual coming from the UK where we keep our doors locked all of the time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank littlesomething_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

R-Lampang is a simple recently renewed and family-run woody house on the river in Lampang. It is very close to the market' streets.
We stayed in a room with private bathroom (other rooms have shared bathroom) for one night in August. The room was very clean as the bathroom, the pink paint on the walls was funny and the room had new air conditioning (better than in some 4 star hotel) and TV. The bathroom was small and the grey paint make it appear (at Eurpean eyes) less clean and new that it was (you will learn that is very common to find dark grey paint in thai bathrooms!)
we also had breakfast there and it was fresh and good (but, do not expect a buffet, its a place!).
The owner gave us all the info we need and also arranged for us a taxi to the Wat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lampang hotels
0.3 mi away
Pin Hotel Lampang
Pin Hotel Lampang
#6 of 28 in Lampang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khelang Nakorn Hotel
Khelang Nakorn Hotel
#15 of 28 in Lampang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#3 of 31 in Lampang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cottage Lampang Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Siri
Hotel Siri
#14 of 38 in Lampang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kanecha's Home
Kanecha's Home
#4 of 31 in Lampang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R-Lampang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R-Lampang Guest House

Property: R-Lampang Guest House
Address: 278 Talad Gow Road, Lampang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Lampang Province > Lampang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Lampang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your R-Lampang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing