We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with overbooking and dishonest owners”
Review of Utopia Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utopia Suites
Ranked #90 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We had a reservation for deluxe room F and paid in advance through a booking website. On arrival we were dumped in room D. I complained that room D was not the luxury room we had paid for. It turned out that room F was already occupied by other people. Then the ladies at the counter started lying. “You have no reservation for room F”. I showed them the voucher which clearly stated that I had a reservation for room F. “All the rooms are the same and have the same price.” That was another lie. Room F is 1700 baht and room D is 1275 baht. I offered them to accept the room under the condition that they would refund me the price difference. That was impossible and they really got unfriendly. “There is no price difference.” They just didn’t want to solve the problem and thought they would get away with it this way. I said that I would put my experience on the internet and left.
Late afternoon when we returned from the beach the owner came to me. He offered us an apartment in stead of room D. The apartment (number U1) looked really great. It turned out that night there was just one big problem. The air conditioning made a terrible noise, a very high tone. We did not expect that the owner would solve that problem, so we solved the problem ourselves by sleeping with ear plugs.

We were not the only ones who had problems. One day later a family arrived which did not get the apartment they paid for because of another overbooking. They were put in another hotel and after two day they finally got their apartment.

Would I stay at this hotel again? No way! The people there turned out dishonest and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whatsinaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2008

My husband and I stayed on Ko Tao for 4 nights and it was one of my FAVORITE islands! It was so beautiful.

We booked online and got the room for only $20CAN per night. When we got there though, the front desk didn't realize that we had already pre booked so they offered the room to us for $16 a night instead. Worked out great for us!

There is a small beach accross the street from this hotel. I just loved the staff at this hotel. The ladies were incredibly sweet and friendly. We rented an ATV for the entire time we were there and had a great time exploring the island this way!

The hotel is within walking distance to the main street where there are lots of resturaunts ect..

Clean, safe quiet place!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank snu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

I was very disappointed in my experience at Utopia. Location is good in the sense that it is on the main Mae Chang road (close to the ferry, good restaurants, and it is quieter, but a 10 min taxi ride away from the action of Sairee) but the beach as the previous reviews stated is not that great or easily accessible. For the record I stayed in the hotel, not the apartments that are on the beach side of the road.

The following are not meant as complaints so much as an honest assessment of the accommodations to hopefully help others decide if they should stay here. I was slightly mislead by previous reviews and had assumed that at the price I paid this would be a step up from accommodations around the island that were half the price. I don’t think this ended up being the case.

Wifi was not available in the room I stayed in on the second floor, I had go to the lobby to use it which might have been fine, but it closed around 9pm each night. My room was moderately clean, but had a strange sewage type smell that seemed to emanate from the bathroom drain. There were stains (blood I think) on the bed spread and the towels were ratty, mismatched, also had a few stains. One late night I came back to the room and there were no towels at all! The “hot” water was really tepid and instead of a shower was really more of a trickle. The a/c remote controller’s screen was broken so I had to guess what temperature my room was set at. The hotel also demands the entire stay upfront in cash as well as a key deposit of 1500 baht. They do not accept credit card. Also the rooms do not have a security deposit box and the restaurant was closed during my stay for “a few days”.

I realize that this is not a luxury hotel or resort, but for 1400 baht a night I expected just a little more and very seriously considered moving after the first night but wasn’t confident I would be able to find much of an improvement after reading other reviews.

If I ever come to Ko Tao again I will chose to stay at a hotel that is actually on the beach and it would definitely be worth a few extra baht a night to stay somewhere more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank logic8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Utopia Suites are located a very short walk from the Songserm ferry pier and on the same road as loads of shops and restaurants in Mae Haad town, but at the quiet end of the road so it was never noisy at night. When my husband and I arrived we were met by the really friendly staff and shown to our room which was large with airconditioning. The beach outside the hotel isn't the best beach on the island as it is a harbour beach, and there were quite a few bits of glass in the sand. However we found that there was quite good snorkelling by the rocks at the end of the beach. It is only 15 minutes walk to Sairee beach, which is gorgeous and really quiet with loads of chilled out beach bars and cheap restaurants to laze around in.

Utopia Suites is one of the few hotels that doesn't have a dive centre (although they can arrange dive packages for you), which was good as when were trying to book hotels we found a lot wouldn't accept non-divers. As the island is really catered towards divers it is really relaxed during the day when most people are off diving. In the evenings the town livened up but it still seemed really chilled out and not at all seedy like some other areas of Thailand. It wasn't very touristy either which was nice, definitely my favourite island I have been to in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelbugDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

The pictures from the booking website did not show the rooms that were on top of the restaurant which was where we stayed. The walk to the hotel was filled with potholes and moped bikes and is located at the end of the road at Mae Haad beach. However, there is no beach to speak of. Overall, the price was great for the value. The service was friendly, easy and good. The room was clean and sufficient. Electricity kept turning off so it was quite warm at times.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mepause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank yapluka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
35.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
937 reviews
35.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,575 reviews
37.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
515 reviews
36.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
971 reviews
38.4 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Suites

Address: Southend Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Utopia Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing