We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The F.room was OK, but go to Sairee beach!”
Review of Utopia Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utopia Suites
Ranked #87 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed August 9, 2013

About the location:
The hotel is in Mae Haad, very close to piers, next to the beach, when you can swim and see and old ship wreck. BUT in Mae Haad there is nothing at night! The nightlife is on the Sairee beach. It is 15 minutes walking and 5 minutes by motorbike. If you are drunk it can be a long distance, and Mae Haad hasn't got an atmosphere at all. Everything and everybody is on Sairee beach.
My advice is look for a hotel in that area.

About the hotel:
The F room, which was the biggest have got lots of windows ( the other rooms have got only 2 windows, so no air, no breeze in it- if you don t like it, you have to pay for the airco.)
It was cheap - Koh Tao is really expensive- 750 baht included: TV ( lot of english channels) fan, hot water ( not really hot), cleaning, 2 waters, safety box
The room is enough clean for a woman as well, I hadn't got any problem.
Summ: the F room is great, but next time I am sure I will go to Sairee beach

Room Tip: F room - seaview, lot of window
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Utopia Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

There are a lot of good things to be said about this place. It has a central location, only 2 minutes from the beach in Mae Haad and the small town centre. The room were clean and nice with a fridge, small tv (no flat screen, but we were not there to watch telly anyway..), two complimentary bottles of water, a small table with two chairs and fresh white bed linens. We were not disturbed by any noise during the night, so why then didn't we have a good night's sleep?

It was simply too hot! We have been traveling a lot in south east Asia, and we always pick fan rooms, this being no exception. May is indeed one of the warmer months in Thailand, so of course we're expecting a bit of sweating both day and night. But the heat in the room was unbearable! We woke up several times during the night drenched in sweat and had to take plenty of ice cold showers to cool off. The air inside the room was stagnant and muggy, even though we had both the door and the window open all night. The cool night breeze outside made a welcome break from our comatose sleep.

Needless to say, we checked out the next morning and found another fan room wich has been a pleasure temperature wise (even with the door safely closed at night).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good ventilation!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here a few months ago and found the room to be very nice and pleasant. There was a TV, fridge (a life saver for cold water!), small table and chairs and a small area to hang your clothes.

There is also a small safe with a digital combination lock but we did not use this.

The bathroom is of a good size and the shower also provided hot water which is ideal after diving.

There is a restaurant which provides a wide selection of food but we did not eat here as the prices are fairly expensive. Everyone we asked who had eaten here though said it was very good.

The only major problem we had here was the fact that they turn the water off at random every single day. Sometimes this would be all morning and therefore you couldn't use the toilet or wash before leaving. If we asked for it to be turned back on they would say that they had no control over it and it would be back on within ten minutes. It is also very frustrating if you have returned from diving or the beach and there is no water! This is a problem with many of the 'cheaper' guesthouses on Koh Tao though so it isn't just here. I fully understand that there is a water shortage because of the size of the island but when the price isn't reduced and you can't even brush your teeth in the morning or use the toilet it's a too much!

They do control the water and I personally saw them turning it on and off!

All in all I would recommend people to stay here and I would also return if I found myself back on Koh Tao. The water issue though was so frustrating that I have to give only 3 stars overall. If the water had been left on then it would have been 5.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teddy6London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We really liked it here, 'suites' isn't exactly accurate, but the rooms are nice, and clean! They have a fridge, a little table and chairs set which we particularly liked, a TV and wifi. We opted for a fan room for 500B, which actually had an aircon unit on the wall...but we had no remote, so maybe for the extra 500 that the aircon room costs you get the remote! It was far too hot with just the fan but otherwise we were happy with the room. Good location too, close to the beach and the harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I went there today to enquire about the apartments and they answered me that it is not available anymore. It was not full it seems that they stop torent it for some reason. A quick look at the window shows indeed that the apartments are empty without any furnitures.
I have tasted the burger at the restaurant and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grand-Schtroumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Literally the closest place to the pier as you come in, rooms were comfortable and basic, standard budget Thai island fare. Owner is a gem, mad Canadian guy, who plays guitar for a baying audience each night while keeping you occupied with stories of days gone by. Breakie was pretty good each morning and the bread was the best we had in Thailand. You are a 10 minute walk away from the main area on the island on a small badly lit path but was completely safe and sometimes quite fun navigating on the way back, take a torch. Theres a burger cafe across the street from the hotel and this does the best burgers and even cheaper chang's than anywhere we found. Hired kayaks from the English guys dive centre next door and paddled around the coast and found a small cove where these guys where building (by hand) a massive boat, top dudes, even climbed up a tree and cut us a coconut each down to drink.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmtalcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed here with a friend over Christmas and New Year and we found the room to be very comfortable and a good standard for the price we paid. In comparison to other accommodation on the island it was quite expensive - although not for UK standards (we paid about £22 a night between us) but it was worth it for the peace of mind. It was not particularly glamorous (ie not a lovely beach hut with sea views!!) but we had quite a large room with air con and a fan, bathroom with hot water and a little table and chairs (room B). It was more than adequate although the bed was a bit hard! But there were no insects or bugs in the room ever, and it was cleaned and bed made every day and we felt safe there being 2 girls on our own. The ladies who ran it were very friendly and helpful, although they would not give us any kind of discount considering we stayed there for a week. The rooms are above the restaurant which did nice food - both Thai and burgers!! - although it was not the cheapest around. It is situated at the southern end of the stretch of beach (Mae Head), near the pier but we were never disturbed with noise of people or bar music etc. The beach was minutes away and there are lots of shops around to buy food water etc. Over all we were both really happy with our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue diamond Resort
Blue diamond Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Suites

Address: Southend Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Utopia Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing