We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and learn to dive”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buddha View Dive Resort
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and learn to dive”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arriving from the ferry the staff was there to pick us up. it is slightly out of town, so you need a motorcycle or taxi to get to town. There are two restaurants, the main restaurant was of so so quality and I can not recommend it but the place that is open for breakfast and lunch serves great food. I am a pussy when it comes to heat so had booked the deluxe room (1200 bath vs 900 for a regular one). It helped me get a good night sleep and the room was cleaned (once every two days). The place is quiet and perfectly located on the beach. I did not bother with internet as a phone SIM is 300 bath which includes internet and phone credit, offering much more flexibility.

The staff was great and helpful. if you plan to learn to dive here I can certainly recommend the place. If you want to buy gear, don't use their shop. It is pricy and they do not offer tax refund (despite the fact they say they do).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlokhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    62
    36
    25
    30
See reviews for
9
79
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in this resort while doing the PADI open water course. At first it was nice. You can take hot water/tea whenever you like (but before 7pm) and the staff is friendly. We got the accomodation included in the course. We got a normal room with a fan and a private bathroom. The bathroom was a bit dirty, and we didn't got towels or toilet paper, because that is for deluxe rooms only. The place is rather noisy, but it didn't bother us, because we had to get up early for the course anyway. You have to pay for the internet, 100 bath per 24h. The people in the restaurant were nice, but the food wasn't. We tried three different dishes, but they weren't very tasty. We wanted to extend our stay in the resort, because we were out of free nights and still had a night to go to finish the course. We couldn't stay, unless we paid 800 bath for the same room. We thought the room wasn't worth the price. Then when we left to go to the mainland again, we were told we could get a ride to the pier. We were ready to go, but were told that we couldn't ride along, unless we paid. They only offer a free ride, when you book the boat at their travelagency.

Our advise would be, stay next door. The sunshine resort is much more quiet and peacefull and way cheaper (the wifi is also free there).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This Resort is definitely geared towards the diver. The location is good, although the sea has a lot of stones and rocks in the water. The room was clean, but you had to ask for it to be cleaned and hand in your key at reception for this to be done. I feel at the price (1500b) it should have been cleaned as a matter of course. The bed was huge and very comfortable. This resort is very noisy, as divers are up early in the morning to dive and people often party at the bar downstairs until late. If you want to do the diving courses offered at the Resort, it is probably a great choice, the staff where friendly and helpful. If you not into diving I definitely wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bar/restaurant downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel from a travel agency in Bangkok and they had no idea what they were selling us. When you do the diving class, you get a free room. It's basically a room not very clean, no towels, no sheets... Some of us didn't do the diving class and we paid a very High price for those bad rooms... So be careful which room you end into. But the people are great, they have a barbecue at night, a bar where all the divers meet. It was a lot of fun in the end.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backfromtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights (although we didn't dive at all) in the mid-range "deluxe fan room". We were hoping for bungalow but they were all taken already and this room with big balcony was actually better, one of the best stays in our whole Thailand visit! Room&bathroom were both clean, classy and beautiful. Double bed was huge and comfortable. And I always LOVE to have own balcony! :)
The area and the beach is much more nicer than the main one, more peaceful and hidden but still with some restaurants and bars if you want some nightlife. Food in the restaurant was also really good. Nothing to complain about our visit. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's away from the hustle and bustle of Sai Ree, though still close enough for a night out there.
The basic rooms are all ensuite and have a fan. They are fairly clean upon arrival, but are not cleaned during your stay (this privilege is reserved for the superior rooms). If you take you shoes off before you go in, the room should stay clean though! There are mosquito nets over all the windows, which is definately useful in the warm season.
The complex has a bar and a resturaunt, both of which are very reasonably priced. There is also a barbecue every evening offering chicken and beef skewers, as well as many many types of fish.
The resort is predominantly a dive school, and so pretty much everybody there is a diver. If you are doing a dive course there, your accommodation is free.
There is good wifi available throughout the resort priced at THB100 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIntrepidExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to Buddah View to take the Open Water course because we had got it recommended by a friend.
I was very nervous about taking the course, so they arranged that we got an instructor from my country. So even though everything was in English (we were 6 people in class from 4 diff countries) I could go to him with my worries in my own language which was nice.
The course was great and we enjoyed all of it!
We stayed at one the free rooms, and thought about upgrading because they are very basic (e.g. toilet flush happens using a bucket of water) but on the other hand you only stay in the room when you have to sleep.
There is a wonderful bbq with fish every night, a nice cafe for breakfast, a bar for beers in the evening and a nice view of the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#29 of 49 in Koh Tao
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bubble Bungalow
Bubble Bungalow
#50 of 77 in Koh Tao
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha View Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha View Dive Resort

Property: Buddha View Dive Resort
Address: 45/1 Moo 3 | Surrthani, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha View Dive Resort is Thailand’s premier PADI 5 star Gold Palm IDC Resort and PADI Career Development Centre. With over 20 years of experience in the diving industry, Buddha View provides world-class PADI diving courses, regular and special diving trips and accommodation to suit all budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buddha View Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing