We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Scuba diving in koh tao

Always wanted to dive in thailand - was nervous at first - haven't had a dive in 2 plus years but... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sehrahmed
via mobile
An amazing dive centre!

A few months ago I had the pleasure of diving with the Reef Diving centre- I can honestly say it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Megan S
Read all 152 reviews
  
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
126
10
8
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
126
10
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haad tien resort centre manager small boat snorkeling trips open water padi standards professional instructors buoyancy control great boat safe hands a lot of fun thank you very much four days marine life see you soon amazing days diving experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 152 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Very knowledgeable and safety-oriented shop. Fantastic dive boats. Dive master Omar was extremely knowledgeable and spent extra time with us in the Centre's on-site dive pool working on skills that he thought were a bit weak, even though we had completed all PADI requirements other than the open water dive before flying out to Thailand. So Omar definitely went above and beyond all requirements/expectations. Overall a great experience.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef D, Manager at Reef Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Steven,

Thank you for your great review of your refresher and dives with us. Omar is one off out top instructors and we are glad that he could teach you a thing or two,

We are happy to read you had a great experience with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Reef Dive Centre is also on Instagram, follow us for our coming adventures.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Thank you Abby for your time and expertise teaching me the skills I needed to get me started and for the great experience of a lifetime there is a whole other world under the sea and I will be back to do it again.
One hell of a great teacher.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Lazytravellers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef D, Manager at Reef Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. Abby is indeed a great Instructor and we forwarded her your review.

Keeping making bubbles, and we hope to welcome you again at Reef Dive Centre.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

I booked 4 dives and refresher.
1st day:
Refresher was a good experience to recall how to set equipment. I only disappointed the equipment is old, needed to change the regulator twice because it was leaking.
Then, 2 dives in the afternoon with Japanese couple. Since they are beginner (about 10 dives in total), seemed difficult to keep buoyancy control. The diving was interrupted several times. The couple apologized to me for causing this trouble but this wasn’t their fault. The staff should have thought grouping by ability and skill.
2nd day:
Incredibly, my booking was forgotten . When I informed one of the staff, she quickly prepared my equipment with apology. It was nice recovery. Left with a sense of distrust though.
As for diving itself, it was below expectation but I cannot complain about the nature. The boat was comfortable and clean. The boat staff was kind. The price is a bit high because of the hotel’s diving center.

In total, the Reef is acceptable level. Do not expect perfect satisfaction.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank norikom286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef D, Manager at Reef Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear Noriko,

Thank you for your review. I would like to point out that our equipment is in good working conditions and that the regulators just got serviced last month. Yes, Unfortunately we had to change your regulator twice during your refresher in the pool. One time there were some bubbles coming from the Lpi hose and the second time your regulator went in free flow. The lpi hose got changed the same day and free flow regulators can happen Our rental equipment is used every day. We highly suggest to buy your own regulator if you dive several times a year.

We grouped the divers based on the highest level of the diver, You all had the same level (Open Water) and the three of you had the same nationality. The other groups had already 4 divers and/or were a higher level. We keep our groups small (max 4) and try to group by level as much as we can. We did in your group.

The second day you showed up way to late. Hence the fact that we already started our departure.

We think it is sad that you did not come to us and told us about your issues during the dives. Instead you left without even saying goodbye.

We are happy to read that you had a comfortable time on our boat and you liked the nature during your dives.

Kinds regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

We have been at Haadtien beach resort, which is directly located at Reef Dive Center in Koh Tao and decided to do our fun dives as a 6 dive package with Reef. This was in our opinion the best option we could chose.

The equipment is really, really good and honestly the boat is the biggest dive boat I have ever seen for groups of around 10-15 people (very good against sea sickness :) )

We were pleased to do our dives with the brilliant guides Fiona, Abbey and Hailey. All three of them did really a great job.

During the dives (there are 2 dives per trip) fresh fruits and drinks (water, coke, sprite, etc) were served.

The only thing, which is not worth deducting a star on our review, is to mention, that there is no real “dive plan“, so if you decide to go for a dive tomorrow, the dive sites are mostly not yet known due to weather and other circumstances. Would be great, if Reef could make a kind of “estimated dive plan“ for at least the next 2 days.

We would of course go diving with Reef the next time. Thank you for making our vacation even better than it was.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Flo_FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef D, Manager at Reef Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Flo,

Thank you for your amazing review of your dives with us.
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with our Instructors and guides and that you like the fresh fruit and drinks on our boat.

Reef Dive Centre is located at the most South tip of the island, so we can choose on which side we go diving. Because we prefer to take our guests out to places with less divers than fish and with good condition, we decide our dive spots at the last moment, This to ensure you that we can give you the best location at that time,

Beside that, as a smaller dive centre, we always decide the dive spot based on the experience of all the divers that will join us, This to make sure we can accommodate everyone. That is why it is hard for us to tell you the dive site we will visit the next day.

We are very proud to have a positive contribution to your vacation.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

The Reef Dive Centre was fantastic. Davy and his team are great - they are warm and friendly whilst being totally professional. Their attention to detail is appreciated and every dive was well prepared and we were put at ease by instructors and guides alike. The groups are small and friendly with great boats to dive from including Miami Vice for a speedy way to get to the dive site!

There is no hard sell and I completed my PADI in 3 days and my daughter completed her advanced cert in the same time both with 1 on 1 instruction.

So if you want great service, small groups and professional instructors all in a beautiful setting RDC is for you!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank WyllieCoyotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reef D, Manager at Reef Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Hello WyllieCoyotee,

Wow, this review is really amazing. We are very happy and satisfied that you mention us as the best dive centre on Koh Tao. We do try to give a different experience.

Congratulations in becoming a PADI Open Water Diver, you did a great job and your instructor was very pleased to see your transformation. You are more than ready to explore the dive sites around the world.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your private course and our warm and friendly approach.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews