We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with a beautiful view”
Review of Blue Heaven Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Heaven Resort
Ranked #35 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet with a beautiful view”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We booked New Heaven Resort as a birthday treat for a few days for me whilst we were back packing. The view from the restaurant is amazing and sitting there having a few drinks is a lovely experience.

The room was large with a lovely decking and great view. The rooms were very clean and we even had a hot shower (a luxury in Thailand)

The resort does have a beach but it is very small. It is still pleasant to go down there for some sun and a swim.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful.

We would recommend New Heaven Resort if you want a quiet, relaxing break from it all with superb views.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Decided to stay at New Heaven after finding our prearranged accommodation on Ko Tao rather dire. Our bungalow was tastefully done in concrete (odd as that sounds), clean and with a nice view over Shark Bay at the south end of the island. We had a fun little upstairs nook where we could relax and read a book with a sea view under the thatch roof. The bathroom and shower area have windows opening toward the bay which is nice but tends to attract some bugs. Definitely expect to have a few random bugs in your unit, though that's probably true anywhere on Ko Tao. Our unit had air con and a mosquito net that we didn't need. Getting to the units does require going up and down a number of stairs, which would be difficult for someone with a handicap or carrying more than a few extra pounds.

The restaurant seems popular with both people staying at the resort and people just coming in for a meal. The view is excellent. The food costs a few dollars more and we found it a bit inconsistent - some dishes were great while others were disappointing. Staff is very cordial and helpful though you may need to ask for fresh towels. Complimentary water is provided daily.

One of the best perks of staying here is a small private beach that is part of the resort and gives immediate access to Shark Bay / Thian Og Bay. We enjoyed throwing on our snorkel gear and heading and swimming with black tip reef sharks not 100m off the beach.

Lastly the location is both a plus and a minus. The view and bay are great but you may need wheels if you're planning on diving from Sairee and it's about 10-15 mins walk to convenience stores and restaurants in Chalok Baan Kao. It's up a hill which can make the walk gruelling around 2pm.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aero303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérignac
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The bungalow was very nice with an amazing view of shark island. We were in no 7. The bathroom was outside - great view but not practical when it rained or at night when there were lots of mosquitoes + squirrels ate the soap we left outside. The view from the restaurant was spectacular, you can either sit cross-legged on the ground or sit at tables. The food was OK but a little too western. The price was quite high especially since breakfast wasn't included. The private beach is very small and at low tide it is impossible to swim because of the corals at the surface, but at high tide it was very good. There is a lovely beach a few minutes walk away at Freedom Beach.The second beach reached by a concrete walkway is lovely and there is a good restaurant. The snorkelling trip around the island is great fun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We originally booked to stay at New Heaven for 4 nights and were then planning on moving to another island. After the 4 nights we changed our mind and decided to stay for another 6 nights. It is a beautiful hotel, both the rooms we stayed in were clean, private and beautiful and if there was anything wrong the staff would help us. There is quick and easy access down the stairsnto a small but magnificent beach.

We much preferred staying up on the hill than in town, and if you hire a scooter which is very cheap it is easynto get into town when you want, we loved staying here, it was so relaxed we felt like we were at home, we will defnintly be back !

Room Tip: The fan room is more than adequate and we were there mid summer, rooms closer to the top might be ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlandcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

In general, New heaven is not worth the money you pay for it. It's nice located on a steep hill, possible to climb and walk to a good beach, but still far overrated when you know the prices you pay for bungalows not in the internet. Even besides New heaven are the same style of bungalows for half the price.
Besides, our fan bungalow was not cleaned in the bathroom and on the veranda. In the bathroom were not ants but frogs, mosquitó's and a few other types of insects with many legs running around. The water was dripping only out of the showerhead, just to name some of the things which should be better for the price you pay for the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very picturesque, but not over a swimmable beach.

Our room was very rustic, Nesbit gapig holes through the floors, walls an ceilings, letting all sorts of lizards and bugs in. The mosquio net had several holes in it and was covered with way we think must have been lizard droppings. The outdoor bathroom lost it's charm quickly, particularly when runnin out in the middle of the nights amongst the creepy crawlies.

The staff wa mixed, with some beig very warm and friendly (specifically those who worked at the desk), while those at the bar seemed very aloof and disinterested.

Make sure you keep your valuables with you or at the front desk. Our first day we heard a couple on their honeymoon who had their camera stolen.

Overall I think there are much better values to be had on Ko Tao. Freedom resort across the street looked very nice and I believe was cheaper. New heaven was very expensive for the lack of ammenities and customer service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattycakesSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This is the place to stay if you like to stay in a relaxed, laid back atmosphere. The setting is high above Shark Bay with the most amazing view. The restaurant serves great food-especially the breakfast and lunch menues -including special treats as breakfast smoothies and almond milk-were wonderfull. We travelled with 3 kids (age 8, 4 years and 7 months). We felt like part of the family-everybody was so sweet and helpfull. The resort has its own private (mini) beach-not a place to stay all day long, but perfect for snorkelling adventures in Shark Bay-which really is full of blacktipped reef sharks! We went out early in the morning and saw as many as 7 at one time! The bungalow was clean and had all we needed-however the outside bathroom was a challenge in rainy days!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetteF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
#54 of 77 in Koh Tao
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#11 of 77 in Koh Tao
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#41 of 139 in Koh Tao
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP Villas Koh Tao
POP Villas Koh Tao
#8 of 139 in Koh Tao
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#46 of 139 in Koh Tao
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Resort

Property: Blue Heaven Resort
Address: 37/14 Moo 3 | At Lang Khaay Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly New Heaven Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heaven Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best views and some of the best food on Koh Tao . In atmosphere that cannot be beat, run by the same owner and staff that you know and love from New Heaven Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Heaven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Heaven Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing