We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Water Course PADI at Sunshine divers resort”
Review of Assava Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Assava Dive Resort
Ranked #24 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Super nice team, glad to have done my OWC there. You are maximum 4 with an instructor, which is not the case in every dive shop.
Because it was low season, the bungalow was included, so 9000 baths for OWC and 4 nights in bungalows with fan and private bathroom, really nice deal. In addition, it is not situated on the main beach so it is nicer and quiter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manual G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have done both My open water and My advance open water here, and the instructors are truly awesome. They make sure that you understand what you learn, and really make you feel safe. At the same time, the Resort it self is really nicely located and have everything you might need close by:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nathalie the course director at Sunshine did a really good work with her team instructing, teaching and taking the divemaster process through til the end. She is an excellent teacher, very dedicated, and she has a very sweet personality, treating all the DMTs equal in a very kind way, which is also very good, and she also did a great work with the arrangements for DMT as well, I highly recommend her and the sunshine team as a very dedicated and well teaching instructors! Also alot of fun and cool stuff going on! Great thanks to you all!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank con_pem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nothing beats diving. Except diving with the best people you could wish for, in the most relaxed place you can imagine, having more fun than you thought possible.

From the moment I met my instructor Sean until the end of my final Open Water dive (which was, incidentally, 50 minutes spent with a whale shark) I was just having the time of my life. I had better than one-to-one tuition - because there was an assistant, Petra, there, and I was the only student. This is pretty standard practice.

I continued on to do my advanced, emergency first response, and rescue courses, and then decided to train to be a Divemaster. Its difficult to sum up why I decided to stay for so much longer than I planned, but I just had a good feeling about the whole place. The instructors are all completely professional, and make you feel totally relaxed and safe, yet at the same time you will just always be laughing. The atmosphere around the dive shop is always relaxed and fun - I was made to feel welcome straight away. You will always be in a small class. They take the theory seriously. You can get an instructor in your own language. There is a monkey. Its the best value diving you will find anywhere.

I don't want to over-write this - it would be like a spoiler, because you should simply go here and experience it for yourself. There's nothing on tripadvisor I would recommend more. The hardest thing about it is deciding to go. The only bad thing is leaving. What's your excuse for not being there?

Room Tip: A1 and A2 are next to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaStu412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We earned our diving certificate here and it was amazing. The teachers are incredible and truly make sure that you are safe and understand everything before you go out for your first dive. Everything was so smooth and easy to follow that it took a lot of the stress out of learning a new sport. WE LOVE YOU NATALIE AND MICHAEL!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bck1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spend 6weeks in koh tao to do my Divemaster with Sunshine divers, and was really good!!! The Instructor are allways here to speak with you if you've got some question, and is not to big so you meet everybody and is like à familly!!! If you want to spend à good Time in Koh Tao you have to go diving with Sunshine!!! I miss you guy's i want to come back!!! See you soon i hope!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet place to stay in Koh Tao Sunshine is really good, you wake up and you are strait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matheo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My experience coursing up with Sunshine divers was outstanding, you would be hard pressed to find a more energetic, knowledgeable and profession staff of Dive instructors anywhere.
I traveled to Koh Tao alone and from day one everyone at Sunshine divers made me feel welcome and part of the family. If you plan on going to Koh Tao for dive instruction you won’t have a better experience than what you will find with this group anywhere else.
My main instructor Simon really helped me get past an equalization problem I had for the first few dives I made when I got there by the end of my time I hadn’t blown an ear drum and I was able to descend to 15M in no time with no effort.
Many thanks guys and I will be back but first think I’ll send #1 son there for a bit and maybe he might just want to come back and stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trigger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
479 reviews
0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
0 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#1 of 153 in Koh Tao
87 reviews
0 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 153 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assava Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assava Dive Resort

Address: Chalok Bann Kao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand (Formerly Sunshine Divers Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $20 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Assava Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Assava Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing