We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a holiday”
Review of Assava Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Assava Dive Resort
Ranked #23 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I've come to Sunshine for doing my Open Water course, stayed on for the advanced course and came back for some more fun diving a week later. The resort is perfectly located in quiet but beautiful Chalok Baan bay, with direct access to the beach and in immediate proximity to restaurants, convenience stores and a couple of bars. The Sunshine crew are a very friendly bunch and fun to hang out with even when you're not diving. Diving courses are conducted in small groups (max 4 people), in a very professional and yet fun manner. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday with some good diving, don't look elsewhere but go straight to Sunshine. Sunshine is a fairly small diving school but co-operate with Ban's, so if you want to go to a particular dive site (e.g. the Chumpon Pinnacle), they will be happy to organize the trip through Ban's.

NB: If you're looking for good food, go to Taraporn restaurant next door, or the Buddha view BBQ ... the Sunshine restaurant guy is a little bit grumpy and you find better Thai and Western food elsewhere ;)

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow a few metres away from the (very relaxed) Eazy Bar if you want to go to bed early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

We went initially for a week & ended up staying for 3 weeks in November, staying at Sunshine Divers Resort we liked it so much. It was the perfect trip. Sunshine divers is beautiful, with lots of exotic trees & plants surrounding the resort, offering rooms for all budgets, all rooms are 2 minutes away from the beautiful beach & bay that is Chalok. Plenty restaurants, shops & some bars within 5 mins walking distance & plus 30sec away from sunshine is the famous Eazy bar, brilliant chill out space with fire poi shows at
Night & extremely friendly Burmese staff. We went there so we could dive & do our rescue dive course, there was always free tea, coffee & water when ever we wanted it from the dive shop (since we were diving) and all the sunshine staff were so welcoming & friendly, it was like a family away from home, the rescue course it's self was amazing but exhausting - as it should be, our instructor, Natalie was amazing, so much energy and enthusiasm, it just made our whole experience so fun. I would highly recommend this resort, whether your diving or just relaxing, the experience will be fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanandSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for me to do my advanced open water certification and my boyfriend was just fun diving. We got the fun dives for a discount because my boyfriend had already dived with them before. We were given a choice for rooms with either free (fan cold water) or a nominal fee (hot water and fan), while I was doing the course, and then the normal rates when not doing the course. We went for the hot water and fan room although the hot water didn't work, they discounted us to the lower rate when we checked out. This room was also bigger than the cheapest one which was nice. Very simple, but it was fine for a few days. There was also free wifi in the common areas which was great. The location was perfect, steps from the beach and they have the best bar on the beach just in front! If you are going to dive or do a course, I would definitley recommend staying here or at least diving here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrberr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Sunshine Divers resort was for us the best place to be. Diving was really great, the diving school is just 1 minute away from the bungalows. Staff at Sunshine Diving resort is GREAT. Natalie is very friendly and makes you feel welcome. Sara our instructor, she is just lovely.
The bungalow we rented from Sunshine resort which is not the same as Sunshine Dive. We paid 600 bath for a basi but beautiful situated bingalow at the beach. At night you could hear the waves!!! People were really friendly, we dont´t recognize at all the negative feedback about the staff. People have been really friendly, both for my thai partner as myself. Also I believe that what you give is what you get. Give a smile, get one back.
I will most definetely come back to this resort for my divemaster and cant wait !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poempoei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

(Actually stayed here September 2009)
Half of our group were diving with Sunshine divers (who I cannot reccomend enough, James was fantiastic) and they put us up here for free for a few (not all) nights even though only 3 of 5 people were diving. The room was a decent size, the toilet was tolerable, bedding probably clean, although overall the room very dark and the flimsy curtains had lots of holes in them. The grounds were beautiful, with some lovely ponds with fish and plants and there were two lovely spots on the edge of the beach to sit and relax. The restaurant was decent but the staff were grumpy and there was some confusion when we went to pay.
After we finished diving we moved to Tropicana Resort which was nicer and no more expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smart_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Sunshine is great value! We paid 450 baht for a private room with a bathroom and hot showers. They also had less expensive rooms (350 baht) that didn't have a hot shower. The rooms were very clean and its pretty quiet. The bed was a little uncomfortable but we still had a great nights sleep. The owner is VERY helpful, we hired a motorbike and he informed us about the condition of the roads, so we would know where to go and not to go. He gave us lots of info about what to do on the Island and where there was good snorkeling. If you are looking for a cheap clean place on the Island sunshine is what your looking for!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkm_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

NOT a really nice place to stay, the owner didn't smile once, the room was dark, the sink was broken and the water was running on our feet. When we told him he said he knew but didn't do anything, even apologize. Rooms close to the beach could be noisy at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ange2paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 147 in Koh Tao
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
920 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assava Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assava Dive Resort

Address: Chalok Bann Kao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand (Formerly Sunshine Divers Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 147 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Sunshine Divers Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing