We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue diamond Resort
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Basic but adequate”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed as a family of four in an aircon bungalow. It was pretty much standard, quiet and not right on the beach, - couple of minutes walk. The main part of the hotel is small, nice enough little beach terrace to sit on to have breakfast. Breakfast was included and was cooked fresh to order. Staff pleasant and helpful. Beach ok. But very near ferry port so lots of large boats on view to the right, very pretty views to the left.

Meals are cheap.

You can walk over the headland to the left to some private beaches. We did this, but found that you had to pay a charge, but this did not allow you a beach lounger, you had to lie on the sand. We weren't too keen on this and my 8 year old had just been attacked by a fish and was bleeding so we decided to leave.

Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSquirrel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    63
    34
    17
    4
See reviews for
27
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Blue Diamond resort is a pleasant place with nice owners, located about 400 meters from the main pier while its close to all restaurants and bars, it is also quiet. If you want to party I would suggest you to stay in Sairee beach, however you can also hire a motorbike and travel. Bungalow I stayed in was comfortable, clean and only 20 meters from the beach. 2000 Baht is considerably more expensive than other bungalows, but with daily change of sheets, safety box, comfortable bed it was worth it. On the down side of it, breakfast choice could be better ,coffee is awful and the family run the hotel has a young child, who is extremely loud and if you are going there to relax on your terrace or restaurant part of the main building, Also gardener starts brushing the grounds and around your bungalow at 7 in the morning for hours and if you have a light sleep, he will certainly wake you up, apart from that, it was a plesant stay

Room Tip: Stay in the rear bungalows to avoid some unwanted noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Standard room with air-con and fan, located in the main building above the bar with terrace overlooking the bay, pleasant enough. Wasn't won over with breakfast but we had stayed the previous night at the nearby Sensi beach which we preferred. Beach here is good enough and like most in this bay and Sairee it's all taken up with dive centres and resorts on the beachfront so you'll always likely to have limited beach space. Surprisingly quiet though considering you're only a few minutes walk from the two ferry piers here. Very comfy bed was a nice bonus. Toilet didn't flush at check-in but was promptly sorted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matandclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friends and I stayed in a air-con bungalow for 1 week. The bungalows are pretty basic but they are kept clean and there was no problems asking for anything.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. I do recommend this - but dont have to high expectaions on the breakfast included. Food otherwise was good and cheaply priced!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We wanted a place a day before our early departure to Surat Thani via SongSerm ferry.

The only decent place found nearby was this hotel, walking distance to the pier.

We took the room facing the sea. There is a boat repair shop next door and causes lots of noise during the day.

The free breakfast was a joke.

Otherwise, basic needs are all fullfilled.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is in a very great place, 10 min to the pier but very quite.
White sand and clear sea are just below your eyes. In the area there are tons of diving centers, restaurants, markets and shops. Main beach is just only to 5 mins by motorbike.
Rooms are quite small and the bathroom is very humid and it has an unconfortable smell.
Staff is very cold if compared to the other hotels we stayed during our extensive trip in thailand.
For the same rate i would choose for something else very close to the hotel. I would definitely stay on the same coast/side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in a fan bungalow for over 2 weeks. Originally we were planning to stay a week and then we kept asking the staff if we could longer. The bungalows are pretty basic but the gardens they are situated in and the beach access with the waterfront restaurant make it a great little gem. The meals are nice and also cheap, plus you can buy beers at the same price as the 7-11!

Room Tip: By swimming pool I mean the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starcruza d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue diamond Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue diamond Resort

Property: Blue diamond Resort
Address: 24/1 Moo.2 , KohTao, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue diamond Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue diamond Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Diamond Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing