We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
383
327
178
70
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
327
178
70
75
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018

Great location and service but the rooms are very old fashioned and need an update for the price you pay. The breakfast was great every morning and the view was amazing! There is a private beach you can walk to that serves amazing food aswel.

Great stay but rooms need an update!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlynwilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Stayed here as part of a contiki trip. The factilites at this resort are incredible - the resteraunt for dinner and breakfast was stunning with a fantastic sea view - you felt like you were in paradise. The Jansom bay was also stunning - beautiful secluded beach with free snorkelling and a nice bar on the beach with free comfy sunbeds and umbrellas.
The room's however needed improvement. There were plenty of bugs to go round including spiders, lizards and mosquitos. There were mosquito nets to use, however we didn't relax whilst we were here due to the amount of bugs. This would be fine if you like insects, but for us it was a little too much!
Location was OK - it was a 15 minute walk into the town centre which was a very steep and hot walk. It was a good 20 minutes to the clubs and bars.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

I do not understand how Charm Churee can be currently at place 19 / 50 of the hotels in Koh Tao. It true ranking should be somewhere at the bottom 10. It may have its fans but this place is left in a time warp.

Charm Churee if falling apart in more than one way. The huts - called villas here - are in very bad condition, the staff is surly and the place is in isolated location. The sea views are great but only some are close to Jansom bay / beach.

I would not stay here again and I do recommend to reconsider if you have eyed this property as a potential place to stay while in Koh Tao.

CHOOSING CHARM CHUREE

This was my first visit to Koh Tao and I though it would be good to stay some distance away from the the ferry piers. I also though Sairee would have become too popular and touristy (it has not).

At the time of my booking many places on Koh Tao were showing much higher prices and I thought that booking the best available ‘hut’ at Charm Churee would have solve some of the issue reported by previous reviewers. Well... it did not.

ARRIVAL

1 / 5 - not what one can expect when paying 120 EUR / night (special promotion price)!

Arriving from Koh Samui I had written to the hotel before to ask for the best option to get to Charm Churee. Received a reply but no confirmation if they had a taxi or what would be the best way to reach the place. Hence I took a taxi (300 THB) from the pier. Even thought from the sea it looks like Charm Churee would be a walking distance from the pier,it is not. Google Maps does not show the road to Charm Churee either. By road it’s about 1,5 km for the pier but there is also a path through Koh Tao Royal Resort and the neighbouring Sensi Paradise hotel that takes about 10 minutes by walking. Not with luggage, though.

Arriving at the hotel reception the rustic ‘charm’ started to show. The reception building was being washed and the floors were extremely slippery. The surly lady at the reception started handing out disclaimers: non-smoking resort (I guess they meant pot?), not allowed to do this and that - all to be signed. Not a good start, I thought. There are also several “no” signs scattered hear and there around the property: not allowed to bring in food, not alloyed to use fins at sea, not... not... not.

The hut was down a steep hill and next to the restaurant building. On the map the location of the villa looked good but it was half way between the reception and the beach and located on cliff’s edge.

ROOM & PROPERTY

1 / 5 - huts are rotten and falling apart.

The hut was one of the larger structures next to the breakfast restaurant. Fairly large room with a bed in the middle, partially outdoor bathroom and another shower between the rocks outside. It looked rustic but good enough at the first glimpse. That was until my leg went through one of the rotten or termite eaten terrace boards. Next the toilet did not flush and the air conditioning was not working properly. The roof looked like it had leaked during rain. Later on I discovered that some huts (three) had collapsed. They might have be part of the Bamboo Huts which belongs to the same complex but build in the same way.

With some refurbishment the huts could be a bit nicer. Just removing the hideous green/blue-red - gold floral print curtains and same pattern bed canopy would do a miracle. The balcony furniture that had been covered with shiny synthetic material (probably polyester) should be burned, too. In fact the whole place looks like it’s beyond repair and should rather be demolished and build anew.

There was a fridge on the veranda that opened only by brute force. The room had a speaker system, a CD player and no TV. Light bulbs barely lit up the room. There is a WiFi but it was down for long periods several times. The boats to and from Mae Haad and Songserm piers sail in front of the property so there is quite a lot of traffic and noise during day and early evening time. Also short power cuts occurred several times a day.

As this property is at the edge / midst of the forest there are quite a few insects and small animals around: cockroaches, millipedes, large spiders, geckos etc. - all inside the hut. And under it lived 1 m long lizard.

LOCATION

2 / 5 - isolated even within the property.

The first thing after checking in and having a browse around the property was to get a scooter.

In terms of the restaurants and other services Charm Churee is isolated. The closest small shops and a few restaurants are located next to Songserm Pier - 10 minutes by walking. One would not want to do this hike after dark as there are no lights on the road leading to the property and at places it is a gravel. To get to Sairee or Mae Haad one would either need to take one of the experience taxis, walk or rent a scooter (I can recommend Oli’s, there are several scams related to scooter rentals in Koh Tao).

You do not want to eat in the Starlight restaurant that is inside this ramshackle place. Trust me! Go to the neighbouring Sensi Paradise - if you do not want to go to town. Sensi Paradise has a proper restaurant at the beach and the prices are lower than those at Charm Churee.

BEACH

3,7 / 5 - best part

Jansom Bay / Beach is accessible to hotel guest only - and those that pay for the visit to the beach.

There are some deck chairs reserved for the hotel guest only. Bring your own towel from the room. There is no pool at Charm Churee however they advertise that they have a kiddie pool: the water was green and slimy. The beach is fairly small and and there are some live coral on the edges of the bay. You’d better swim or walk to Bamboo Huts: the bay in front of it is in good condition and it gets even better when you go further south. Banana Rock and the next beach to south are excellent - not very colourful and that many fishes but plenty of different coral species.

BREAKFAST

1 / 5 - you can skip it.

Served from 6 - 10 the breakfast is in line with the place. Tea, coffee, fruits, yogurt, some breads, fried tofu, rice, eggs. One could easily skip it.

BY SCOOTER AROUD THE ISLAND

East and south side beaches can be accessed by scooter. Watch out places where there is sand or gravel on the concrete path / road especially when going down the steep hills - those places are extremely slippery and one can crash the scooter easily. On several of these spots there was blood on the concrete - a sign that others had slipped there already before. It is customary that the beaches charge at least 100 THB per person for the beach access. Shark Bay has to be accessed via hotels on surrounding cliffs (along the road to Freedom Beach) as the hotels on the beach block the access.

CONCLUSIONS

On top of being a rundown place Charm Churee still charge rates that are comparable to - or above - other places on the island that are at least properly built and holding together. I would rather stay at Sairee where there are restaurants and other services around. However on low tide the sea escapes quite far. In Mae Haad check out Ananda Villas. Their two new annexes by the beach looked nice. It is listed in TA in ‘special lodging’.

The neighbouring Sensi Paradise looked much better, and contrary to what has been mentioned before in TA, there is a beach. Sensi Paradise has also a pool, proper looking restaurant and a beach bar where one might want to lounge in - unlike in the Elvis bar / dump at Charm Churee.

What ever you do not ruin your time at Koh Tao by staying at Charm Churee. Neighbouring Bamboo Huts is even more isolated and behind even higher hill. If you want to be on this corner of the island I would recommend to check out Sensi Paradise. It is also cheaper, better kept and the structures look like they are solidly built.

High-end properties in Shark Bay have scheduled free transportation to Mae Haad.

Room tip: Avoid all of them - best huts are on the left side of the beach (far from road & reseption)
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank rantati7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile


This hotel has a pretty good evaluation at trip advisor, what I find difficult to understand unless they have very different rooms and staff better prepared to clean in another sector... Hotel is badly localized far from the main attractions so that you must rent a vehicle, that would not be a problem… since there are options. You can go walking to the beach from the hotel but the ways are very steep and the beach is not all that great considering Thailand patterns. The food at the hotel is not worth. But all of the above is the least worrying…let´s get to the point: the room. We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we´ve been severely beaten by fleas that lived in the mattress, it was infested by insects which are too small to be seen but cause great damage. My husband is allergic and had to use lots of antihistamines to stop the reaction. The hotel staff seamed worried and sent us to the pharmacy at their expense, but once we got there things changed and the driver apparently did not know any of it… lets also remind ourselves we are in Thailand, English is not that good anywhere you go… and that makes things a bit more difficult. I very much doubt they have changed they mattress or even cleaned the room properly, as a matter of fact the room was pretty dirty. Bad experience, we absolutely do not recommend!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Cândida Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We stayed in a superior room in April 2018. The room was next to the reception. You had to walk 5-10 minutes to the beach and about 10 minutes to the town. In other words, our room was really far away from everything we wanted to do on the Island. In that context, for me, the price for the room was too high. The room itself was big but full of mosquitos. We moved to another hotel after one night there. I would not stay there again next time on Koh Tao.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleranzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews