We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/18/21
FindHotel
Agoda.com
$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/18/21
Destinia.com$69
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
383
327
178
70
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
327
178
70
75
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

One of the best accomodation what we had during our trip in Thailand. We stayed here over two nights. Unfortunally we had very rainy weather and we stayed half a day in the apartment - it was large and divided into sections ( pictures ).

We can recommend to visit nice beach Janson bay in area and also to have breakfasts here ( bufet ).

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 62ondral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

We stayed at Charm Churee for almost 2 weeks. We stayed longer than we planned as I badly hurt my foot and was immobile for quite a while.

The location is great being on the hillside along a stretch of coast just south of Mae Head (where the ferries come in). The main beach (Jansom Bay) is absolutely lovely, with some great snorkelling. And the guy who looks after the beach, keeping it clean, providing snorkelling equipment etc is great: very helpful and friendly.

But the hotel in general is very run down and needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to a reasonable standard. This also includes improving the cleanliness of the hotel, e.g. changing hand towels in the public toilets around the restaurants, so that you actually feel able to dry your hands on them. I noted that one of the towels was not changed in over a week, and it was very grimy on the first day I saw it.

If you do stay here make sure that you get a rate that includes breakfast as the hotel is too far from anywhere to reasonably go somewhere else for breakfast, and if it is not included in your room rate they charge 350 baht per person. The breakfast is OK. A reasonable range of pastries, fruit, toast etc, but as with everything in this hotel the staff just need to take a bit more care and attention. There were ants crawling over the juices most days; if something at breakfast runs out it is not replensihed so you need to get down there early to be sure to get a good breakfast.

Beware that the whole hotel is set on a very steep hillside, so if you have any difficulties with mobility it will be a problem. There is also no swimming pool, though there are several beaches to choose between.

The ferries and boat taxis that set off from Mae Head are quite noisy and do disturb the ambiance at the hotel a bit. But is is quite nice to be tucked away in the "jungle" but still be able to walk into town for dinner, so maybe a bit of engine noise is the price you have to pay for this.

We ate at the Starlight restaurant a few times, but would recommend that if at all possible you go into to town for food instead. You will generally get better food at a much better price in town. We only ate here because for a while I couldn't make it into town. The setting of the Starlight hotel is lovely - it is built out over the sea with a view of the main town - but again it is suffering from a lack of maintenance and lackluster staff. Also whilst there I got a nasty electric shock from the electrics when I used one of the handrails.

Overall it is a unique and quirky hotel in a good location and with a great beach. But it is over priced and run down, with staff that in the most part aren't very interested that you are there, and would rather be playing on their phones.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank reidjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

I stayed here for a few nights while I was on Koh Tao. The location is a little bit far from Sairee or the pier (very near if you take Songserm ferry). However there are multiple places nearby where you can rent a scooter. I had an upgrade for free when I checked in and the room was nice and cozy. The balcony had a lot of room. The Starlight restaurant looks out to the ocean and a perfect place to eat or drink.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khanhn223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

the highlight of this hotel would have to be its private beach and restaurant views. These were excellent features of the resort. The food was good and the resort had a quiet relaxed vibe to it. Rooms were perfect for their use.

Room tip: The resort is on a steep hill. Depending on how much you want to spend you will get better bungalows closer to the water
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

The huts near the reception are not too bad, but we preferred the bamboo huts at the water ( passed Janson Bay). A bit of a walk, but the view was breathtaking.

Staff is really friendly, would recommend to come again.

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank 408jonash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews