We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveler rating
374
327
169
68
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
327
169
68
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjansom bayelvis barstarlight restaurantprivate beachbeach barmae haadoutdoor bathroomsteep hillmosquito netamazing viewsjungleresortbamboorocksthailandislandvilla
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Charm Churee Villa was an excellent place for our holiday in Thailand in the second half of June. Wheather was perfect and we had discounts because of low season. We were traveling 4 people and stayed in Charm Churee for 3 nights. We took 2 superior rooms and we were lucky to get the rooms in the beach (number 35D and 23), which looked too good to be true. Rooms are not big, but enough space for 2 people, plus we had private balconies were we enjoyed to relax (private balcony meant our private beach beds). We also tried Charm Churee Spa, which was really of a very good quality. It was like in a dream to have a massage on the rocks with sea view in an open air. But need to reserve if you really want to get massage on the rock, because most people like that place. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, as we really liked Whitening in the town. To summarise, it was Excellent and I am thinking of coming back there some day

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikestravelVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

If you want Thai rustic then this place could be for you. Living in Thailand and having travelled round the country extensively, I was very disappointed with this resort. The rooms are very basic, no TV, no real view of the sea. No swimming pool, food was poor.

On the positive staff were very friendly but think 900THB for a room would be a more realistice proce for the basic superior. I have stayed in much nicer places on Samet, Samui and Krabi for the same price and much better facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benruji, Manager at Charm Churee Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2009

Dear sir,

Thank you for your time and effort reviewing us. We highly appreciated it. I'm sure that you have travelled extensively and you are worldly.

In such case, you might notice that Koh Tao is one of the farthest islands in Thailand where everything is more expensive than major destinations that you have mentioned.

You might already know that a bottle of water that costs 7 Baht in 711 elsewhere costs 12 Baht here because of the transportation, the oil price, wages and the list goes on.

And you may already know that we are one of the most eco-friendly resorts in Thailand, if you care about the environement. And that takes a lot of effort, not to mention financial expenses to make things right.

It is quite easy to use your ruler to measure other people's measurement. But please be just, and responsble for what you have written.

To be fair, we would like to for you to please recommend us where you can get a 900 Baht per night with better facilities.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed for 4 days at the end of a three week honeymoon trekking around Thailand. Easily the best place we stayed and probably the best place I have ever stayed. As it was our honeymoon we plumped for one of the larger huts overlooking the beach with separate bathroom block and large living area and balcony with loungers. The shower room was amazing with panoramic views of the ocean and beach. The four poster bed was adorned with rose petals in the shape of a heart when we arrived, a nice touch, and the bedroom also had panoramic views of the ocean. The private beach was clean with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We had a great time snorkeling, kayaking and generally relaxing. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we would have no hesitation going back if we are ever in Ko Tao again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrnoxious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Charm Churee was a perfect place to start our honeymoon. The service was excellent. It was a beautiful location, and the panorama room was private and romantic. The main downside was the shower--it was electric-heated with very weak pressure. The private beach made a big difference, was clean and there were always beach chairs available, and with excellent snorkling right from the beach. The restaurants were ok and overpriced, but Charm Churee is close enough to town to be able to eat at restaurants there. Koh Tao is not full of high-end restaurants or other luxuries available on e.g. Koh Samui, and so it did provide a quiet, peaceful, beautiful location. Keep in mind it's a 2+ hour ferry ride from Koh Samui, which in windy conditions can be unpleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerusa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Wow, so many mixed reviews on this placed scared me at first, but after staying there for 4 nights, I think it comes down to correctly matching travel expectations and perhaps a little over-eager marketing on the resort's behalf. In some of the literature/ads I saw that they are changing "boutique resort & spa" to "rustic beach resort and spa" and I think that is indeed a better fit.

First, decide whether Koh Tao is for you. I think many unhappy people here may be better served on Koh Samui Chaweng Beach, which has amazing beaches but more upscale full-service accommodations. Koh Tao is a little island that is very simple with natural resource constraints and that's the charm and beauty of it -- it's not over-developed. But many people may not like that. You also have to (in my opinion) like fresh fruit, seafood and fish; if not, again you're really missing out on some of the strengths of the place.

The little cove is awesome, I woke up each morning and just dove into the water for a swim with fish right there. The spa is the best with possibility of cliff-edge massage at sunset; wow! 10 minute walk to town makes location superb. There is a lot of walking as it's on a hill-side down to bay, so you should be in at least average shape, otherwise will probably not be happy. Again, check out Samui, or otherwise stay in Sairee town which is flat.

Reception desk spoke very good English and were very helpful. Yes, some of the bar staff didn't speak much English, but so what, you're on a small Thai fantasy island and that's part of the charm. "Two Singha beers please" they certainly understood. Restaurant has amazing view and sunset; eat here at least once. Fresh seafood on the grill is the way to go. We had fresh whole squid, giant prawns in garlic pepper sauce, green mussels. yum!

Last note on the rooms; there are several types perhaps 8 or so. The prices very considerably. We had a Villa Room that was at the beach; approx mid-range priced. No television - thank you. Outdoor bathroom - very cool, very clean. Aircon in bedroom is a necessity which we had. We were very happy.

So, if you want Thai experience, while still having niceties like pickup/drop-off service and plush bed with canopy and soft pillows and aircon; where there is world-class diving and great seafood and great value spa while close to town, let down your hair, throw on your clogs; where you really turn off your blackberry, turn off your facebook and forget what's happening in the rest of the world, then this place is for you.

P.S. Pickup a free copy of Koh Tao Sabai Jai Eco-Travel Mini Mag at the departing ferry terminal; we found this to be extremely helpful and explains some of the conservation efforts to protect Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lahlahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews