We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charm Churee Villa
Nearby Hotels
$68
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$131
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$66
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$49
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$32
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$45
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$22
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveler rating
373
323
165
66
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
323
165
66
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjansom bayelvis barstarlight restaurantprivate beachtropical fishwalk into townbeach baran upgradeoutdoor showermosquito netsuperior roomsairee beachrecommend this resortstayed longeramazing viewsjunglebamboo
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 992 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The casitas are very spacious although over priced when compared to other hotels. The rooms have a separate patio, shower, toilet and sink areas. We had a jungle and higher ocean view. The staff is very helpful and rushed to help carry our bags. Breakfast is generous and included in our stay.
I was a bit disappointed in the dives. The instructors/masters are very experienced and safe. The staff eager to please. However the shared boat caused for some issues with dives. The second day we had plans to go to a different location but ended up the same as my day before. I paid a lot of money to go two days to exact same location. The dive sites are over crowded with inexperienced divers and the fish over fished. I wasn't impressed and chose not to dive rest of trip because of this. For a new certified diver the location and school is ideal.
I also found the lunch food not very good and they didn't give me vegetarian when I am a strict veg. I had chicken in my lunch. I've had much better lunches included at other dives.
The beach is private and peaceful. The town a close 15 min walk.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Emmy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed two nights in room no. 8. It is very close to Jansom Bay.The room is well suited, but it is a nuisance, that there is no wifi reception in the room. If you walk towards Elvis Bar, you get some decent reception. Anyway, just a minor issue, as the rest of the time was just relaxing. Jansom Bay is a private beach, whereas anybody can enter if they pay the fee of 200 THB. As a regular guest, you can rent snorkeling equipment for free and there are nice corals and fish to watch at in the bay. The breakfast is vast and the location directly on the coastline is perfect! You get an awesome view, while sipping your morning coffee and a fresh breeze is keeping the mosquitos away. If you rent a scooter nearby, it is very easy to reach all attractions on the island. It is very calm at night and you just hear the waves. Also, tried the starlight restaurant. Usual, upper price level for Koh Tao, but the quality of food is very good! Also, the overall service is very nice! Will stay there definitely again! But, ask for a room close to the beach, as some huts are located steeper up without a proper view of the coastline.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shleeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Loving beachside resort & very welcoming & friendly staff always eager to assist with transportation & any need you require. I look forward to returning there in the future. Very peaceful & relaxing getaway. Also has a private beach, guest breakfast & free hire of snorkelling equipment.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ArmyLeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Lets start with the good. The dive outfit (Charm Churee divers) attached to the resort was awesome. Run by Lorne Harris, the diving was competely tailored to our needs and Lorne (and his right hand dive master, Mo) are soooo knowledgeable about the surrounding dive sites that you don't miss a thing underwater. When we were there the weather was pretty rough (most websites won't tell you this, but good weather in December CANNOT be guaranteed in the gulf of Thailand). It was still warm on land and in sea, but it was cloudy and diving off the beach was certainly an experience, but with Lorne and Mo on hand to help every step of the way it was pure fun. I would recommend diving with them even if you're staying somewhere else!
The location is awesome, right on the beach front, and the huts are spacious with large bathrooms and terraces. Also as you are in the south of the island there are no motorbikes noisily spluttering past, and it is certainly quiet at night which would have guaranteed a great night's sleep.
However, the bed we had was overly hard, the mosquito nets had lots of holes in it, the lights in the bathroom were dark and the one mirror was nowhere near the sink so shaving was near impossible. Mosquitos abound, although once bitten the itching wears off pretty quickly, unlike some other places.
Charm Churee hints itself to be an eco-resort, however that's not quite true. It's actually a hugely overpriced resort for what you get - it's more 'run-down chic' than rustic. At £200 per night you could stay in some much better hotels (and there's not even a swimming pool), I just think that Koh Tao as a whole is very overpriced. However, if you are a diver (and if youre reading this you probably are) then you won't mind mosquitos, or a million stairs, or steep hills, or the fact they have painted the dining area decking yellow to resemble an English seaside pier. What you'll want is to ask Lorne where you can find that school of five to ten thousand Scad fish that you can swim in. Seriously, they block out the sun...

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are perfect for those diving off the beach - they're the closest by far.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

There are 71 stand alone huts. Only a handful actually have wonderful views of Jansom bay, and can easily access the bay. The rest are poorly located on a steep slope with partial sea views at best and a steep hike down to the beach / breakfast bar each day. We found ourselves walking up and down steps all day at this place! The rooms are not rustic. They are just cheaply built and old fashioned. The hotel advertises a 10min walk to town. This is deceiving as Suree village (the heart of the island) is actually more like 40min walk away. 'Town' is just where the pier and a few dive shops are located.

On the plus - Jansom bay is an amazing snorkelling spot. You don't need to be a guest to visit it however! If the conditions are right just hire a scooter and do a day trip to this beach.

Make no mistake, we loved Koh Tao! Just not Charm Churee..

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews