We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and interesting setup, but Eco friendly promises a bit of a joke.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and interesting setup, but Eco friendly promises a bit of a joke.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Charm Churee is a very interesting and very Thai experience. Our room was actually made up of several small buildings (shower, bedroom, balcony etc) which you reached by a maze of stairs and turns. Breakfast was quite good and the Starlight restaurant was very nice at night, but a little pricey.

Staff were generally helpful but we ran into a few problems after things were lost in translation. Lesson learned in Thailand: Never assume anything and double check *exactly* what you get from tours to avoid surprises.

Only real let down was the advertisement as Eco friendly hotel. We saw shower water and wash basin dropped straight into the sea. Pamphlets make a big deal about "not letting a single drop of detergent go into the ocean". Clearly false. No wonder the coral in private beach is pretty much all dead, there is not much to see :(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    303
    154
    63
    62
See reviews for
146
469
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was highly recommended but as we found out that has changed with staff. First could not book online as they said they where booked up, but an employee on the phone said book in person for a discount and room upgrade. Once arrived they up'ed the price and said it was not them that u talked to. I hit redial on my phone and guess what their phone rang right there? I was told internet prices where not available and charged 50$ more for a 2 step downgraded room. Even overextended a room for 600$ usd a night since it would be nice they said. The hills and steps are incredible, had to take flip flops off to get footing on trail to go to breakfast. The restaurant was under construction the staff not friendly or helpful at all, no internet, the dive shop has great staff but hindered badly by management of resort. I recommend diving booked in person at dive shop but not to stay here, the price is outrageous and even a bit of a scam on transportation to and from areas that where to be covered by resort but drivers demanded Money if they would take you to correct location at all. Twice I was dropped off 1/2 mile or more from correct point because it was not a resort sponsored activity. Bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnStinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We could not get booked in anywhere so were forced to have a splurge, we are very glad we did,in fact I am still sitting on our own private balcony as I write ! We upgraded because our friend had been allocated a room a little away from us and she is nervous, so we ended up with a private 2,bed Vila overlooking the private beach for 27,000 bht for 2 nights,pricey but oh so worth it !the rooms have ac,large fridge,mossie net,kettle for tea and coffee,no tv but seriously who needs one anyway !,on the balcony we had Thai style Sun beds along with sofas.The sea is Crystal clear but beware some of the fish nip ! Free snorkel and Sun beds. The diving instructors are really nice.The breakfast was really good,the on site Starlight restaurant is very good with great views over the bay.
Overall -rooms lovely,large clean,comfy bed,a bit rare in this part of the world all bamboo floor etc
bathrooms large,hot water,soap etc as usual.
Staff great,in fact one of them hugged my friend at check in !
Views exceptional !,beach lovely.
We were lucky enough to stumble across the owner who is charming,he would not stop buying us drinks,gave us a tour of the other rooms with private pools which are absolutely divine ! ,he then wanted to give us a lift back to Bangkok as he was leaving the next day and had his car with driver !absolutely charming!!!
Short walk to pier through Sensi paradise,nice shops and restaurants takes about 15mins.
The only down is you could not come if you have ANY sort of problem walking,it has loads of steep steps and slopes.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough it's wonderful !.no pool though !

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it well worth the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

After leaving the lunacy of koh samui we decided to treat ourselves to something better. Oh what JOY ! Charm Churee is really what a holiday should be. The rooms are gorgeous and all different, the position overlooks the bay of gorgeous clear water(with fishes that nibble your toes) the restaurant food is wonderful and the staff helpful and kind. We met the owner who bought us a beer and shared stories of his life with us...what a delightful man . I wish we could have stayed longer. Save up and book this Hotel....i treasure every minute I was there.
Sadly, it's not disabled friendly as there are many walkways to the glorious villas. That's a shame... Jean

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misseld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wienhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a great vacation we are still having, 2 days left. We have our own entrance to snorkel in the bay right from our cottage. We were so lucky to get nr. 32, it is by far the best. 3 terraces so you can move around with the sun and what a view. Food is excellent, everybody is friendly and the walk to town a good excercise. The beach is Not very big but we never had to use the beach chairs, our cottage was so comfortabe. We were first in the bay every morning,best time to snorkel on our own. The visibility is great and a lot of fish around, for instance a school of 300 barracuda .
For us this was not a hotel, it was heaven.

Room Tip: Go for the sunset suites, 32 is the best, it is the signiture cottage .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henning t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place is gorgeous, we booked it for 2 nights with my girlfriend and we finally stayed 11 nights... There's an awesome private beach, where you can do snorkling and eat/drink at cute and cheap restaurant "Elvis Bar". If you wanna see another beach you can walk 10 minutes in the jungle and enjoy Jansom Beach, or take a taxi boat. This place is like a paradise, people who work there are the nicest people in the world! The food is VERY good, rooms are clean... what else can i say?

Oh yes there's also a SPA, and we had the best thai massage there...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked it because it had access to a good little beach (no boats etc) but was still easy walking distance to town - this did not dissapoint, beach with restaurant was charming and the snorkling really great, corals and fish in abundance,

Rooms were large and spacious if a bit dark - only improvements I could think of would be a fan in the outside section to help with the mosquitos in the evening and the heat in the day. Also hot water was not always present, but given the heat this was not a major issue so I never complained about it.

Breakfast was very good, with a strong buffet selection of fruit and vegetables as well as made to order omelets etc.

Room Tip: Avoid the one on the main path to the reception, it is a very steep concrete road, so noise from lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Resande2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Property: Charm Churee Villa
Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing