We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charm Churee Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charm Churee Villa
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Charm Churee Villa for a couple of nights. the room was beautiful but a bit of a walk to the beach/bay. the walk to town is approx. 10 minutes where we had dinner at cafe del sol which i highly recommend if you feel like western style food. the mango shake there was the best i've had in thailand! diving and snorkelling is great but unfortunately it rained a lot while we were there which spoiled it a little bit. the staff at Charm Churee Villas is very friendly and helpful. breakfast was nice with a beautiful view over the ocean. i loved that they are very passionate about the environment. overall a really nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greencoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    303
    154
    63
    62
See reviews for
146
469
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We (a family of 4) have just returned from spending 5 nights at Charm Churee, a rustic jungle paradise. We all loved the laid back atmosphere but also really appreciated the personal care and attention we had from all the staff though special mention must be given to Nice and Au who were outstanding. The rest of the family learned to Scuba dive and I snorkelled, the undersea world at Jansom Bay is utterly breathtaking. You don't even need to swim out of your depth to see an incredible variety of marine life, it swims right up to the beach! I had a memorable Thai massage on a bed overlooking the sea and we ate at the Elvis bar every lunch time. We did venture into Mae Head on Christmas Eve and had an excellent meal at Whitenings but didn't really want to leave Charm Churee so ate at the Starlight every other night, so beautiful and such personal service. Top tips to are to bring plenty of mosquito repellant and pack travel sickness pills for the ferry trip but we all felt we had experienced a little slice of paradise at Charm Churee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are a family of 3 and each year for 4 years we have gone back to Charm Churee to pay a visit to the staff but most of all we love the amazing snorkeling, the kindness of the staff, the passion for the environment and most of all the perfect place to go for a 2 week holiday at summer. The location of the hotel is excellent it is a 10-15 minute walk to the main town in Koh Tao. Each room in the hotel is unique to itself. You can have an amazingly great located beach hut which is right on the beach next to the bar. You could have one over looking the sea or even one with your own swimming pool. As I say each room is unique so you have to negotiate a good room dependent on what you want. The room was so clean and falls to your every need. The outside bathroom in the rocks with a yellow stripy lizard in it was amazing. The diving point is very good with PADI they can fall on any time any day you want to dive. The breakfast is excellent going back for endless rounds of pancakes while each morning watching the diving boats and fishing boats go out. Dinner on the rocks is an excellent location. The restaurant fills our every need after we went on a fishing trip and caught a king mackerel they cooked it for us without us paying a penny. You just have to be careful about all the bumps and corners in your room I have hurt my toe on countless occasions.

The best part about Charm Churee is the beach. Free snorkeling all day free usage of masks and snorkels nothing can be better.

In our family Char Churee is a very special place and is defiantly one of the best places on earth.

Room Tip: Negotiate with staff before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeford1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Charm Churee Villa for a short Christmas break. We booked a Sunset Cottage (1 bedroom) which is set up on the hillside. A private entrance into a small garden gives a feeling of seclusion but one is only a five-minute stroll down to the bay. The view from the cottage is stunning, bed comfortable and all was extremely clean.

Snorkelling equipment is provided free of charge for residents and you can snorkel right from the beach. We also took a few walks - hiking is easily done from the resort, although prepare for some steep hills.

The food at Charm Churee was very good and freshly-made. You can also take a short walk into the little village (more like a few streets!) of Mae Haad where there are some restaurants with good Thai food. We did try a 'Western' lunch at one of the restaurants but, unsurprisingly, found that it is better to stick with the local dishes which were delicious. The 'Western' food was disappointing.

The staff were great and took time to chat with us. We appreciated this personal touch. We also got a sense that the Villa is sensitive to the environment through signage ('no fins') and also through materials used in construction of the resort, which we valued.

One suggestion, take mosquito repellant. The cottage has mosquito nets but we wished we'd bought some mosquito coils for the evening on the balcony. We had a resident green snake who lived outside on top of the entrance way. We were told it was harmless so we weren't bothered by it, although it did pop its head out of the outdoor shower spout when my husband went to take a shower. I think both snake and husband were equally surprised. The squirrels thunder on the roof in the morning so no need for an alarm clock.

In terms of the ferry ride out to the island it is worth considering taking medication for sea sickness if the wind is up. We had a terrible two-hour trip, along with many other passengers, on the way out to the island as the sea was very rough. The crew were good and brought us ice packs for our neck! On the return journey however, the weather was still and sea was calm and we thoroughly enjoyed the ride and the views.

We would recommend Charm Churee to anyone wanting a peaceful and comfortable break, close to nature.

Room Tip: Our room was number '39', sunset cottage (1-bedroom). Stunning views, secluded. However, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmyBee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piestany, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this resort for a week and it was very pleasant experience. Jansom bay is just fantastic place having beautiful private beach with a lot of fish, so you do not need to travel away from resort for snorkeling. Nice colorful fish are coming to you immediatelly as you enter the water so even small children can enjoy this experience in shallow water. Service is very good, always smiling and always ready to help you. Most of employees do not speak english vy well, but there is always at least one person around so they call him/her immediatelly to help you. Breakfast is basic but always fresh and tasty. Eating your breakfast while watching a lot of fish in the water is great wake moment every day. Starlight restaurant has very taty food. Elvis bar serves good quality food for reasonable price, having wide selection od not spicy (european) food - great if you are travelling with children. Rooms are spacy and clean, room service fast and good. Just be ready for loads of mosquitos and bugs :) (it's a jungle resort so be ready for it :). The whole resort is located on a steep hill so if you are travelling with children under 3, be ready that you will probably have ro carry them most of the time since paths are very steep. Teh only disadvantage I found are noisy boats in the morning (but this is the same for all the hotels on this side of the island, since port is right there), fishermen go out around 5-6 in the morning ...but you get used to it :). So my overal rating is very positive, hope to come back one day :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lienka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were made to feel so welcome on arrival to Charm Churee. We stayed in a hut right on the beach, perfect for two sun worshippers! The room was basic but comfortable. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We booked a few nights then negotiated for a better room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissTones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent 5 night here and had a great time. Lovely location and staff - very helpful and smiling. We had a problem with a light and telephone in our room and they responded and corrected it within 15 minutes; then gave us two massage vouchers for inconvenience. Restaurant food was also good, so we 'ate in' several nights

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Churee Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Churee Villa

Property: Charm Churee Villa
Address: 30 / 1 Moo 2 Jansom Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Churee Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 2002, Charm Churee Villa plans to develop our resort to be the best for our guests. Charm Churee Villa is located on a 300-Rai (120 acres or 48 hectares) seaside piece of well preserved jungle, facing west. With more than 1,500 meters shoreline, the estate consists of 4 beaches. Pak Bung (which means Morning Glory) Bay is the most northern beach (about 10 minutes walk from the main pier) consists of sand, gravels and rocks, it is about 80 meters in length. The next beach southward is Jansom Bay, which is another 5 minutes walk from Pak Bung Bay (named means Moon-Like) is around 160 meters wide consists mostly of sand, huge rocks, corals and colorful fish. Perfect for snorkeling. Neptune is the next one down south; about 20 minutes walk from Jansom Bay. Neptune, one of the best kept little secret coves in Koh Tao, consists of mostly rocks is perfect for private sun bathing with small sandy beach. It's approximately 80 meters in length. Last but not least, is a twin: Sai Nuan beach I and II. It's mostly sandy beaches with a set of big rocks between them. Sai Nuan I is a sandy beach with the width of 240 meters and Sai Nuan II is a little smaller. This shoreline estate is not only known for the well kept jungle land, but also its pristine underwater world. Along the 1,500 meters coast consists of several famous snorkeling and scuba diving sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Charm Churee Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charm Churee Villa Hotel Koh Tao
Charm Churee Hotel
Charm Churee Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing