We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay”
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thipwimarn Resort
Ranked #46 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here. 1 time the Boutique and 1 time the pool villa. This resort is maintained very bad. Light bulbs are broken. No water pressure. Pool water very dirty and staff very unfriendly. They hardly understand and speak any english. At the pool villa we had even no warm water and this was definitely the most expensive house in the resort. No value for money. Breakfast OK but expect nothing special. Very steep mountain. A lot of frogs make sure can't sleep. Scenery is beautiful. I also stayed at the neighbour respet called Arminjirah. This one is much much better.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Joost K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 235 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have slept in here one night. It is high located, quite far from the best beaches.
The atmospher is amazing, polite staff, brakfast on the terrace simply perfect and the room very nice even if.. the shower was broken, only cold water and I would have prefered dark tent to do not wake up at 7 am! Moreover, lots of cute frogs.. but they make awful sounds at night.
Infinity pool is pleasant but the resort does not have the beach.. I personally prefer to wake up on the sea than see it from the top but if you are looking for relax and quiet Thipwimarn is perfect.
All of that is very expensive, too much for Thailand and for what they offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frefreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is great, private bungalows, very romantic, great breakfast, friendly staff. The owner has thought of everything and the romantic bungalow is fantastic. our room had fresh fruit, oil burners to give a sweet aroma, the bungalows are very private, the room is well furnished and the decore very romantic, the beach down the bottom is very small, be careful of broken glass if you want to swim there, but better to swim elsewhere

Room Tip: the romantic bungalow is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripper777hoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was my first visit to Koh Tao and my mistake is that I didnt book before hand and so I just arrived there and the rooms were over priced for what I got back . The steps up and down to the rooms were extremly unplaseant ( I'm a free diving instructor and quiet fit and even with that it was un pleasant ) . The room service food wasnt up to my expectations . There is no one in Reception after 10 PM . The lights and power in my bedroom were gone middle of the night with no possibility to get in contact with any one . The pool is very small anb not clean . came across a couple of coacroaches in the room ..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amro_Alhamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for a few days and our disappointment started with not being met at the ferry. The rooms are not bad (the boutique) but that is where any pleasantness ends. There are endless steps to get up and down the hill. The pool is tiny and pretty dirty. The restaurant has a bizarre arrangement of some seating on the floor on a platform overlooking the sea and whilst the view is lovely, it is not easy for some folk to sit with their legs folded up whilst eating. The seating arrangements in the other part of the restaurant are simply lacking in elegance, quality and space. The breakfasts were average and pretty basic and whilst they included tea and coffee, we were only offered green tea and when we requested an alternative, they told us that any other tea would cost extra (I requested a brand of locally available and very common tea). In principal, this is fine but in practice it simply came across as the hotel being rigid and tight-fisted. The coffee was dreadful - silty and thick as mud! The trek down the hill to the sea is downright dangerous and poorly maintained and the tiny patch of grainy sand is laden with broken glass and rubbish. The food was ok for some dishes in the hotel and we were fortunate enough to persuade their kitchen to cook a fish we had caught ourselves and they did a lovely job of that. We chose not to eat in the restaurant after the first night when we were offered wine that had gone off and were simply told that the was no more wine - only after inquiring why no drink had turned up at all after the initial drink was sent back for being off. The lack of spoken English by the staff was a hindrance in explaining ourselves and despite being able to speak a little Thai, it was very difficult to communicate with all but a couple of staff. They were very sweet but obviously untrained and with limited English (and Thai I think). A major irritation at the hotel were the extreme number of mosquitoes in the main lobby area (which is tiny and cramped) and with the current amount of dengue cases in Thailand, very worrying. There was a repellent in the room which proved to be useless (I had forgotten to take my own). Mosquito coil containers were in the rooms but contained no coils to burn. Transport to and from the hotel was only available via the local taxi mafia who charge ten times the prices on the mainland to travel anywhere on the island. The hotel actually has a mini van which if they had a service mentality at all, could offer a couple of shuttle times a day for visitors wishing to explore the main town areas. We walked home one night from a visit to a restaurant in Sairee and the hills are not for the feint of heart! There was free wifi and Internet in the lobby and restaurant, which was helpful. The toilets in the lobby/restaurant were out of toilet paper the whole time were there and when we came in after 10pm one evening, they were in total darkness. The steps down to the rooms were very poorly lit, uneven and the torch provided for the room had flat batteries. We would not recommend the hotel (or the island) to anyone, and will not be going back any time soon.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a review for the restaurant. We were looking for a nice restaurant on our final night at Koh Tao and was recommended to try Thipwimarn restaurant. We were picked up on time at 5.30pm and arrived early for the sunset. We were amazed by the stunning views overlooking the beautiful sea! We took time walking around and we enjoyed the green surroundings of the resort. We ordered dinner, with some recommendations from the waiter. Dinner was great! It was getting very hot during sunset, and the waiter brought us a fan. And not forgetting the sunset was simply amazing!

We basically had the whole restaurant to ourselves, which we did somehow enjoyed the peace and quietness. But it was a pity that there were no other customers there, we do feel that this place deserves better. Location wise, it is a little out of place, about 10-15mins drive from Sairee town but they provide free pick up both ways. Waiting staff was good, although at times they were just talking and playing too loud among themselves. The front desk staff was also very friendly as we were talking while waiting for our pick up.

Give this place a try, it's worth it!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank highfever88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We’ve stayed in Sea View Studio Air-Con Room Thipwimarn Resort for two nights from 2 April to 4 April. The experience in Room is not as excellent as we expect. The Sea View Studio Air-Con Room’s facilities are too old. The window curtain and mosquito net have been a little bit broken already. It’s a dimly lighted room. Perhaps the Luxury Suit is the better choice except the price. It’s disappointed that there’s no shuttle bus to town. It’s a long way at a steep slope. We don’t care ants in room, but the fact we cannot accept is that a big mouse running into our room!
By the way, I have to say the restaurant and the lobby have amazing sea view! The reception speaks English very well. And the Resort built by local thai design.

Room Tip: Rent a four-wheel moto-bike for safety or call taxi 300 bath to town/pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YanhW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#25 of 50 in Koh Tao
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $31 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing