We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Petrajacobs
Temse, Belgium

Beautiful!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 13, 2012via mobile
We stayed here for two nights, a bit afraid off all the bad reviews we red, but what a nice experience! The hotel has a beautiful setting and amazing views as well out of the cheapest room as out off the pool or restaurant! The rooms were beautiful and well equiped, with umbrella, bathrobe, slippers, bag, body lotion, ... So yes maybe they could use a little painting, but the rooms where clean and the rest is damage from previous guests! It all depends what you pay! We had a good deal for 2 nights with a good breackfast. And the service was amazing, they carried our bags, did our free transfer to the pier, arranged our boat tickets, ... When we go to Koh Tao again, we will go back! Beautiful with all the green surrounded. Best view in Koh Tao. And yes some steps, but everything has a price, also the scenery.
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$55
$40
  • Vio.com
    $43
  • Priceline
    $43
  • Expedia.com
    $49
1.2 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Pool
Beachfront
breakfast in our room
$64
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $42
  • Vio.com
    $55
3.0 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$97
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $97
  • Agoda.com
    $96
  • Priceline
    $99
0.4 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free parking
Pool
View
$77
  • Expedia.com
    $84
  • Agoda.com
    $67
  • Priceline
    $80
3.1 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $86
  • Agoda.com
    $81
  • Hotels.com
    $86
3.2 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • Agoda.com
    $80
  • Hotels.com
    $121
3.2 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
$64
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $80
  • Vio.com
    $57
  • Expedia.com
    $69
0.8 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
$48
  • Priceline
    $58
  • Agoda.com
    $33
  • Hotels.com
    $46
1.5 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
$29
  • Priceline
    $27
  • Agoda.com
    $26
  • Expedia.com
    $31
2.4 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Shark
$320
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $355
  • Agoda.com
    $270
  • Trip.com
    $322
3.2 miles from Thipwimarn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
59
51
50
36
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
51
50
36
70
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 266 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in Aug 2012, in the suite room. It was a real disappointment.

First impression was perfect. The suite looks nice, beautiful wood and open air jacuzzi, with stunning view to the sea. The bathroom look ok too.

The pool is small but the view is great from there, so I guess it is a plus.

After first 10 minutes, we understood all the negative comments on the place. Here are the facts:

- this is not Thipwimarn's fault, but there is a continuous boats stream in front of the resort making the place permanently noisy (loud Thai taxi boats). Feels like a hammer is working next door. Doesnt stop from 7 am till sunset. Forget about your nap or sleep in the morning.

- breakfast is just unreal. Supposed to start at 7 am, they were never ready before 7:45. No big deal but forget about leaving early to avoid crowds on the beaches. Food was the worst we had in Thailand. Cold, barely fresh meat, we had living little bugs in the muesli. Staff did not even take it away. Nice mangos though.

- we had several random power breakdowns in our room (all neighbors had no issue at all). Staff said that sometimes the north of the island has shortage to allow better power distribution to the south of the island... Not a big deal but forget fridge or aircon at night.

This resort could be fantastic. But there is simply no effort made to reach the level expected by a costumer paying a higher price. We choose this place not to backpack, but to experience a nice resort.

Would never stay again.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amandine-Fx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I disagree with the below reviews, we thought this place was fabulous, set in the middle of the jungle with fantastic views. Staff wer always pleasant and helpful, who cares if their English is limited, why shouldn't it be it's not our god given right that all countries should speak English to suit us! We stayed 1 night in the romance paradise - wow is all I have to say. And then princess pool villa - awesome. Hotel is 15-20 mins walk from hotel, not exactly far, unless your fat and lazy! Wouldn't recommend this place is you have children or difficulty walking as lots of steps. Highly recommended

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

After just staying in this hotel for two nights, could not more agree with the previous reviews on staff attitude. The waiters at the breakfast are indeed laid-back juniors with limited command of English, and they are not so attentive as you expect in Thailand the people to be: if some food is run out, it is run out. They bring coffee, but slowly.

For travellers being afraid of "wild" animals this might not be the right place: especially during the rain iguanas and other crawling creatures try to find some shelter at your room balcony, and maybe even in the bathroom, as they easily come and go as they like.

Due to location at the hillside the place provides excellent opportunities for exercising your legs!

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JiiJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked deluxe villa for 3 nights and garden villa for 2 nights but decided to check out the next day after being at the hotel for only 5 hours.

We went to see the hotel the day before booking to see if it's possible to stay there with children of age 3 and infant 8 months and decided that it was manageable. Reception asked us when we wanted to check in and they suggested 11 am.

Next day we arrived hotel around 11.15 am and handled the necessary paper and were seated at reception to wait.
After an hour we asked about the room and receptionist said sorry maybe half an hour but most likely finish in 1 hour. We were quite upset and told them that they suggested 11 am and we are waiting with 2 children which are hungry and tired and at least they could offer some water to us as there was 35 degrees. They came with a bottle of water and we found out later that they charged us for this.
Also reception made excuses about other guests had been waiting since 8 am and we said that it was not our problem then the lame excuse that she said we could come 11 am but not have the room. We asked her if she knew what check-in means.

We finally got the room which was beautiful with stunning view. We rushed to the pool and ordered some lunch (spring rolls, pad thai, fried rice and noodle soup). The food was so so bad and disappointing. Fried rice was more steamed rice with egg and vegetable. Not near any wok - just heated. Noodle soup tasted like cup noodle soup and the egg in pad thai was still raw so we sent it back to reception (as the guy from restaurant spoke poorly English) and said it was raw. She took the dish and said OK without asking if we wanted to have a new one or made any effort to smooth things out.

Finally we decided to check out the next day as there were no restaurant nearby this hotel so to stuck here and eat terrrible food twice a day was more than we could bear. We went up to inform we wanted to check out the day after and reception said OK and my husband asked if she knew why? Yes, bad food and bad service she replied and didn't say more. Amazing to meet this kind of service level.

You should only stay at Thipwimarn if you want to see the stunning view and the welldecorated rooms but don't expect any service if something goes wrong and don't eat here. Besides bad food you will need to pay a fortune for this. If you can't rent a scooter prepare yourself to spend a bunch of money on taxi fares back and forth. The taxi prices are fixed on Koh Tao and extremely expensive. If you want a tranquil stay then you must wait till after 6 pm when all the long tail boats are back in harbour otherwise there is constant noise.
It was a challenge with to stay with children but not impossible and if we have liked the place I would say max 2 days as the stairs are killing you.

I will never recommend this place to anybody and certainly not return.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Khanh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January 2012 during which there was a 50% discount and we only paid 1,200 baht for a superior room with sea views.

The views are stunning and the lay-out of the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very pretty and overall the resort is chic and spotlessly clean.The pool is very nice. More sunbeds and better umbrellas (that block out the sun) would be fantastic.

For 1,200 baht it was an absolute deal compared to the basic bungalows on Sairee Beach that are similarly priced!!!!! The breakfast is a little disappointing, it is generous but quality is not the higest concern: meats look like it was dried up and left out for hours, fruit/cereal/bread good. Coffee was one of the worst ever tasted!!!!!!!!

Things to be aware of: by the pool it is not peaceful during the day because of the loud noise coming from the long tail boats and diving boats in the sea !!!!!! At night it is close to impossiible to walk anywhere as there is no street lighting. The hotel will provide a taxi service for 100 baht per person one way - expensive for Thailand. The restaurant is terrible - completely overpriced for what it is. We had 3 meals there: 1 salad at lunch time (very minimalist style), 1 dinner meal which was satisfactory (meals were not given at the same time but food was relatively tasty) and 1 lunch time noodle dishes which were terrible, so bad that we had to send one dish back. Our meals were served within 10 mins of eachother so when one was finished, the other person was starting.....???!!!!!!!! The restaurant staff speak minimal English and I seriously don´t think there is a proper chef at the hotel!!!!!!!

I would recommend the hotel (not at full price, but at 75% of full price) but the restaurant food is pretty awful and it is such a pity as it has stunning views and could be converted into a lovely social/dining hub.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloeinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews