We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view, but service at the restaurant could be better”
Review of Thipwimarn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thipwimarn Resort
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, but service at the restaurant could be better”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

A little bit secluded, the resort is set facing the sea on a steep mountain, hence a breathtaking view over the bay. Rooms and pool are nice, an altogether good experience. However, although the front desk was always helpful, the service at the restaurant, wherefore for breakfast or dinner, could be improved to the level expected for the price and standing of the resort

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthieu_paname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    37
    30
    45
See reviews for
15
135
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

There are some lovely features at this place: the gorgeous infinity pool and the beautiful views from the bedroom balconies but overall we felt it was over-priced. The atmosphere was stuffy and the staff seemed false and money-grabbing - very different to other places we have stayed in the Thai islands. Good place but wouldn't rush back. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_31NJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We rented the 17.000 baht a night pool villa! The villa was great but poorly maintained! The staff is rude and slow! There are better places to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resortchecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

although it is a hard walk between the room and the lobby, and the room is not large enough, I think the view is worth it. especially the the restaurant, when the sky become dark in the dusk, the view is unbeatable.
it wil be more great if there are not so many mosquito。。。and the staff are really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikizhou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Thipwimarn offered us the strangest experience of our holiday in Thailand. Here's why.

First of all, if you're after a high end resort, forget it. Thipwimarn is at best a half decent 2* hotel. A shame for a place that has the potential to be a magnificient place to stay.

The location is good. It's a few minutes outside of town (by bike) but it's set on a rocky montain full of charm. The view from the lobby/restaurant and most rooms is breathtaking. It's also sufficiently far from Sairee to not suffer from noisy music at night.

But... What a disapointment.

The rooms first. They're of a very very low standard. Expect poorly lit indoors, a non comfy bed and tiny amount of space. Put two standing adults in front of the bed, and you've pretty much filled the room. The drapes are old, most are rotten and full of holes. Besides, they're transparent, insuring you wake up at the crack of dawn. The doors barely close, and are made of plastic glass of course, letting in broad daylight. Well, by then, you hope that the bathroom will be a bit better. Wrong. It's awful. The shower drape is moldy, a smell of rotten eggs comes out of the sink and you can barely move, again due to the ridiculously small amount of space.

Wait, there's worse.

The hotel is set amidst a beautiful tropical garden. Sounds good... It's not. Expect the usual mosquitos of course, but also bugs, frogs, crabs, lizards, geckos, and snakes. In your shower, on your bed, on your way to your room, everywhere.

The pool is terrible. Small, of course. 3 or 4 sunloungers, as old as sunloungers are. Their colour has fainted years ago.

Disgusted by our villa, we asked for the pool villa (their most high end villa, at a ridiculous price, see on their website, it's about as expensive as a suite in a 5* hotel in Manhattan or London). Incredible. The pool is a minuscule jacuzzi. The water is filthy. When we entered the room, there were about 50 ants running on the cushions. The outside bathroom was actually beautiful... but guarded by crabs and a bat hanging from the shower head.

We complained to the staff. They were unhelpful. I asked to speak to the manager, but I was simply refused that option.

There's a lot more to say about this hotel. The breakfast is terrible. Absolutely disgusting frozen food. Coffee and tea arent included in the price. The aircon in the room blasted boiling hot air. The toilet paper roll was not replaced in our bathroom. No hot water in our shower. The staff charged us a night we couldnt spend there (despite us booking 3 rooms for nearly a week, hence spending a lot of money there).

Anyway. This is a terrible terrible hotel if you're looking for a high end resort. It's terribly expensive. The level of service you get is nearly a joke. Horrible place, avoid it at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehdi_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent one night at Thipwimarn Resort and I can't fault it in any way - nestled up in the jungle, it feels like a spa retreat, far away from the backpackers drinking buckets on the main beaches. The service was impeccable - free drinks on arrival, bags carried up and down the many steps, pick-up from town, etc. And the pool was gorgeous, with hammocks around it and the best view of our trip (admittedly the pool isn't large, but we were the only people using it at the time). Our bungalow was beautifully done, with a stunning bathroom and balcony - my only comment would be that more lighting would have been preferable at night (just to reassure me that no mosquitos or other bugs had found their way into the dark corners!). Sure, there were a lot of steps, but this justified eating dessert in the lovely restaurant. The food was exquisite and excellent value. I would definitely recommend combining a night here with a couple of nights on Sairee Beach or at the south of the island, if you're after a bit more nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet peaceful resort away from the noise of the bars,restaurants and ferries in Koh Tao.
I would definitely stay there again,you have a great view of the ocean and the quality of the rooms are great - you sleep really well.
Although some people we met at the hotel were upset about their room as their bathroom
was outside ?
Breakfast was good , and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulziandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thipwimarn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thipwimarn Resort

Property: Thipwimarn Resort
Address: 16/7 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thipwimarn Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located in north Sairee, Koh Tao, where all of our suites have a spectacular view of Sairee beach and Nang Yuan Island.Perfect for your dream holiday. Surrounded by nature, overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Thailand, our suites are peaceful, luxurious and romantic. From everywhere on the resort a spectacular sunset can be seen, a different scene every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thipwimarn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thipwimarn Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Hotel
Koh Tao Thipwimarn Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing