We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ban's Diving Resort
Nearby Hotels
$73
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
$131
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$61
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$45
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$32
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,607)
Filter reviews
2,607 results
Traveler rating
1,562
562
231
131
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,562
562
231
131
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen water courseanthony griffithsdive masterfishbowl baradvanced open waterfish bowlnight divefree roomfun divesdive coursegreat instructoramazing divelearn howsmall groupair confan roommy girlfriend
Filter
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 2,607 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hi,

we've stayed at Bans for 6 nights in Dezember 2013. We had such a good time that we extended our stay here.
If you want to go diving in Koh Tao, there is no other dive school/centre. First and last choice is Ban's.
We traveld in a group of three and got a nice, clean room. And the best during one of us did a course we even got a discount on the room.
So about our Stay here: Bans is a large Family and within a day everybody who comes here feels like a part of that family. Diving connects. The Staff in the office is helpful und very friendly. Whatever you need just ask and they will help you. If it is for Diving:
- Top Trained PADI Instructors
- Modern equipment ( BCD, Suits, Masks, ... )
- More then one Boat so they can go to different diving spots for different levels.

The best thing is : They provide courses in other languages then englisch. So If you are looking for a native speaking diving course this is your Adress ! And if you Compare the Price with other Diving Centres. Its affordable and they do have an ex student rate. That means if you did a certification with bans before you'll pay 700 THB for your next dives. Lifetime !
What we did is : we checked the German Page of Bans www.bansdiving.de and wrote a email in Advance so they could manage to get us some german Courses. ( 1x OWD / 1x AOWD ). If you write them in advance they can plan when courses start but its normally that there is a course staring every 2 days.
For German Speaking Divers Contact Alex Mitsch:
Alex kümmert sich um wirklich alles. Wenn es darum geht sich einen Roller zu mieten , wo man am besten essen gehen kann oder mit welcher Fähre man am besten weiter fahren soll, bzw. hat er Kontakte zu anderen Tauchbasen in Thailand.
Das beste ist aber die Kommunikation. Man hat bei Bans nie das Gefühl übern Tisch gezogen zu werden. Am besten einfach eine Email an : info@bansdiving.de . Wann/ Wer / Wie viele .

WE Enjoyed our time at Ban's and will come back ! FOR SURE !

Greetings to the all at Ban's ,
Jonas ;)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Iv stayed at bans many times and did my PADI advanced cert there.There has been a rapid decline over the 3 years iv been to Bans+ Koh Tau.As 1 of the biggest dive resorts in the world Bans attracts the best dive masters and instructers,thats the good news!.As the number of persons diving and learning to dive has increased,Bans has dropped heavily in its "quality control".Dive classes are crowded and too short,its become a production line rather than a "personal experience".The accommodation,restaurants and other facilities are no longer the effiscent clean,quality that they were once renowned for.This problem has hit all Sairee Beach where the hordes of "britbingers" and "rave/party idiots are now gathering in large tribes.
Koh Tau is still a wonderful island if you search elsewhere on the "peaceful/beautiful side.
May I suggest going to the gorgeous unspoilt Tanote Bay with its small bungalow resorts and the Calypso diving school.Its still the way this island used to be.PARADISE!

Room Tip: Stay away from the beach side rooms if you want to sleep before 2am.Dont rent a scooter/bike from the suppliers onsite'Bans "hillside" zone as they will rip you extortionate charges for "scratches"on mudshields and threaten with your passport if not paid
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I don't like to complain but maybe this review could save people from future disappointment. I gave them 1 star, only because zero isn't an option.
The rooms were terrible, falsely advertising they're few nice ones and giving us an old dirty run down ant infested room. We complained, they look annoyed and told is it would be 5000baht to upgrade to the rooms we were originally shown.
They're equipment is old and run down, all the pull cords were torn off my BCD, goggle straps broken...
The place is a revolving door for diving tourists, they obviously only care about turning a profit. This place is garbage and I would highly advise going somewhere else...
Even if it was free I would never return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank SteveRouzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed with my partner at Bans for 6 nights on a great recommendation from a friend - we were not disappointed!

We booked the hilltop suite, although on arrival we were actually shown a deluxe suite instead, but this was quickly rectified. The room was lovely - big, clean and a huge balcony overlooking the sea where you can see the sunset. The only issue with the room was the water and electricity going off a few times due to shortages on the island, again rectified within 10minutes.

We both did the open water and adventure diving courses; we had Lucy a senior instructor and Bridget who was helping as a diving assistant. Both were absolutely fantastic and made it such an amazing experience.

Lucy has a very calming effect as she teaches which puts you at ease straight away and makes the diving so much more enjoyable, her knowledge of the dive sites is vast and she is just generally a pleasure to be around. Bridget was also great fun and extremely helpful. Bans is lucky to have these two members of staff, they really did make our trip!!

Thank you so much, Will & Toni x

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The garden is beautiful and location is good. But the stuff is not nice, aunts in the room, smell of sewage every where ( we changed room twice), the restaurant is slow. Not recommended at all to all kind of vacation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moran o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews