We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time, great location a little noisy though this time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Third time, great location a little noisy though this time!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is my third time in Kho Tao and we always stay here. This was my first time in a pool hotel room, which whilst a great location in the heart of town is a bit too near the nightclub that stays open 3-4am so very noisy! Would recommend asking for a room in the top pice of hotel that is a recent new addition if you are not hear to party hard!

As for diving, that's really why you are staying at this island and this place is the best. I am advanced but did a refresher here after some bad diving experiences and the morning course in the swimming pool was brilliant and well done.

Alas the diving this dec has not been great, poor visibility and not not much to see, but now is not the greatest time to dive here! Still lots of fun though! Bans have biggest dive boats with free tea, coffee and biscuits. Good quality equipment and some of the best teachers out there! In my refresher, covered things I did not learn first time around, so very comprehensive!

Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new complex or up the hill, if you want to be away from nightclub music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    503
    202
    119
    109
See reviews for
96
723
410
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I went here during a trip around Thailand with some friends and we booked the 4 day open water course. I'm not the best swimmer in the world and cant thread water so I wasn't really looking forward to it and thought I probably wouldn't do it. Anyway we met our instructor, David Cohen, and after I'd watched the video I had my mind made up that I wasn't going to do it! But I went along and geared up and said I'd try the pool first. When it came to it I was scared to jump into the pool with all the gear on but eventually I just went for it! Long story short scuba diving was amazing, best thing I've ever done. And you don't need to swim to be able to do it! David was great, very friendly and made us all feel calm made sure we knew all that we needed to know. A few of us panicked under water when you have to take your mask off, and put it on again and take the water out but he was great with us and we all did it after without panicking! I'd really recommend David and you should definitely ask for him when you go there.
The rooms aren't great to be honest , unless you pay more for the nice ones, but you will hardly be there as you'll be out at the course most of the day. Great experience with a great instructor. overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I came to Koh Tao specifically to get open water certified and I left very pleased!!! Our instructor, Rich McLean, explained everything in detail. He was easy to understand and his directions were easy to follow. I was nervous before the course but by the time I did my first dive I was feeling confident and comfortable with it. Before each dive he would walk us through exactly what we would be doing in the water making sure everyone was on the same page. Keeping us safe was top priority followed by having fun. I came for the 4 day open water course, i ended up staying another 2 days to complete the advanced course. Yes, the all around experience was that awesome!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndSimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our backpacking trip. We were not diving here so did not experience if that was any good or not.
We ended up choosing here as it was cheap compared to some of the bungalows around the area which were not very good and around the same price.
The staff here are quite nice and most languages are welcome here due to the diving courses they offer.
There is also 2 swimming pools here although the bottom one was filthy and looked unhealthy to get into the top pool is really pretty and much cleaner.
There is also a restaurant/bar on the beach at the bottom of the resort which does great food at quite good prices.
We paid for a basic air con/ fan room here which was great value for money but I felt compared to the rest of the resort the basic rooms could do with a refurb as they are quite uncared for. Also the wardrobe in our room had it's handles torn off which is fine this sort of thing doesn't bother me but as I went to hang my towel up I shut the door and there was spikes hanging out the door which I cut myself on which I thought was a pretty careless thing of the hotel to leave.
Other then that loved the resort and koh Tao is a beautiful island.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chelseasmelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

As group of three friends we signed for open water course we got very nice 3 person room - big new room with AC and TV. During the course we got all needed stuff most of it was new, the course it self was well prepared. Our instructor was David Cohen - really nice man, the theory was explained properly and was very fun even in the class lessons. I felt very confident dive with him. Recommend to take him if you can. Any way, don't forget to breave.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikitaSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khomas Region, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Really recommend David Cohen,
We are a group of 4 people that doing the Open Water + Advanced, all of us are really happy and satisfied with his work.
Very good guide, Funny, helpful and paying attention to everyone.

Other than that, no WiFi in the room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trachtenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for 6nights to do or open water and advanced diving. Our instructors for both were amazing, highly recommend Steve and John . Both were very professional, safe and put me completely at ease. We were very lucky with our open water as we also had Sabine and Ollie, new instructors and Olivia a dive master to help out, they did a great job.
The diving is busy but understandably as the location/ dive sites you visit are great. The beach is truly impressive as well, we had some fantastic weather got to kayak to koh nang yuang, definitely recommend this too.
The room we stayed in was pretty basic and on arrival had a massive lizard (40cm+) inside which we managed to sweep outside with some staff help. The shower water smelt a bit like crap, it was a basic room which for a backpacker is fine but if you're not there to dive I suggest upgrading.

Room Tip: Go for a room with aircon and a hot shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shann0n13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing