We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Advanced Diving course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Khomas Region, Namibia
1 review
“Advanced Diving course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Really recommend David Cohen,
We are a group of 4 people that doing the Open Water + Advanced, all of us are really happy and satisfied with his work.
Very good guide, Funny, helpful and paying attention to everyone.

Other than that, no WiFi in the room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trachtenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    485
    199
    116
    102
See reviews for
94
694
394
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for 6nights to do or open water and advanced diving. Our instructors for both were amazing, highly recommend Steve and John . Both were very professional, safe and put me completely at ease. We were very lucky with our open water as we also had Sabine and Ollie, new instructors and Olivia a dive master to help out, they did a great job.
The diving is busy but understandably as the location/ dive sites you visit are great. The beach is truly impressive as well, we had some fantastic weather got to kayak to koh nang yuang, definitely recommend this too.
The room we stayed in was pretty basic and on arrival had a massive lizard (40cm+) inside which we managed to sweep outside with some staff help. The shower water smelt a bit like crap, it was a basic room which for a backpacker is fine but if you're not there to dive I suggest upgrading.

Room Tip: Go for a room with aircon and a hot shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shann0n13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

it was amazing! the instructor Shay Nevo was really good and caring!
would recommend everyone to go take there diving course there and in particular with Shay!
the hotel and hotel rest was really good to!

Room Tip: deluxe pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ori275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights, and were very disappointed when we arrived at the resort. According to the pictures on the ad the resort looked really nice, but it was nothing like that. It appears that the pictures in the ad is from when the resort opened in -93. We did not get a warm welcome, and the reception was cluttered and noisy. Our room was far away from everything, but still a nice view. The breakast at Darawan Restaurant was poor and not very good, so we skipped it the last day. Waiters did not bother to say hello, and was just bored at work. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, whilst visiting Koh Tao. Great location about 50 yards from the beach. The room was nice and clean. Bathroom was a little dirty. Wifi was great so was the accommodation by the side of the pool. The restaurant was great, nice food but staff could do with a bit of training. Near nightlife and shops which was good for me. Room was cleaned every morning which was good service plus the hotel staff were very helpful. Would love to come and stay here again when I come back on my travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpiefan1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The diving was incredible, we did our PADI open water and then went on to do our advanced with Josh Sparkes. He was really friendly and knowledgeable, request him as your instructor if possible.

The courses on the island are pretty much all the same price, and most give you free accomodation too. We were pretty dissapointed with our room, it was dirty and when we used the water there was a horrible smell coming from it, but it was free so cant complain.

Make sure you ask for a smaller group too as its far better, we went from a group of 10 to a group of 3 after requesting it and it was so much better. Far more personal, and you get to see a lot more rather than just swimming around following a big group.

The location was good, on the main beach and they do a free pick up and drop off service to and from the pier, if you book a transfer at the reception which we did, and again they seem to be all the same price around the island.

Food at the resturant was good, the service was a joke though. You literally have to shout at them to get their attention. Majority of them are asleep, and the ones who are awake are playing on their phones.

Would reccomend it though and probably will be back at some point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception as its a LONG walk up that hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomWRDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I came here 5 years ago for the very first time and I came back allready 3 times. Biggest Dive Center in the world but it doesnt feel that way. Its very relaxt and familiar but still VERY professional. The restaurant is ok but not he best arround. Rooms are nice and clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: They have rooms on lower and upper road. Try to get a room on lower road. Otherwise its a far walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing