We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for new divers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ban's Diving Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A great place for new divers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have just finished my Open Water PADI course at Ban's and I have to say that it was excellent. I am pretty scared of open water but decided to take the plunge and overcome my fears. My instructor was Nick and he was absolutely excellent throughout the whole course, calming my fears and helping me every step of the way. If you are a nervous beginner, ask for Nick! The resort itself is fantastic with a wide range of room options available. The restaurant and the bar are both great places to hang out and get some decent food drinks. If I decide to take further diving certification I will definitely head to Ban's.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    474
    195
    113
    102
See reviews for
92
678
387
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The resort is great. Great location, nice clean rooms, a little expensive but worth it.
My wife and I got to Koh Tao and signed up with Bans Diving right away (we have about 4 or 5 friends that all got certified by Bans). We started our course that night. Our class size was nice and small, only 6 of us in total, and our instructor was amazing! If you ever come to Koh Tao, sign up with Bans and get Ian Jefferies (Jaffa) as your instructor. The guy is hilarious and knows diving inside and out. My wife went from not being able to go underwater without plugging her nose to diving to 18m and doing flips in the water. I'd easily recommend this resort and dive school to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Arrived on a whim with a mate and had no accommodation arranged. After walking with our backpacks for a while and inspecting a few places we settled here mainly due to the price. 1100 baht for a twin room is cheap but you're pretty much paying for somewhere to sleep, don't expect luxury.
Fortunate to have a balcony looking over the pool but no safe despite the person showing us the room saying otherwise. Aircon was noisy and cupboards/drawers had bits missing and relatively inaccessible.
This is however cheap, close to the night life and has a decent restaurant. Didn't try the dive centre. If you're after just a cheap place to sleep two for a night, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Heard about this place on Koh Phangan and decided to do our open water course here (9800B) for 4 days incl accommodation. We had a double room with a fan next to the pool, perfect location. In the night sometimes you could hear some music (further up the resort not a problem at all). Professional people and free wifi in public areas (if it's working). Me and my friend did the open water course. Had the best instructor ever Anthony, he 's been in the job for more than 20years and basically set up the dive resort. Absolutely recommend doing your dive course here, you learn everything you need to be a professional diver.. We loved it soooo much we decided to go for our Advanced Course aswell, same instructor and dive master.. On a small group (read 10 people) we had always 2 dive masters and 2 instructors which literally makes it 1 on 1.5 or something. Soo good !! You have all the attention, even if you're not great with anything, you'll get personal attention.. Anthony is the best instructor ever and we're soo lucky we choose this resort.. After we finished the advanced we love the island and the people in the resort soo much, so easy to make friends, that we decided to stay 3 more days and skipped out on other things on our planning.. Definately a MUST do !!!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the bar little bit nosier, back of the resort you're fine. Nice bar and drink sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxyvanvooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Bans accommodation is excellent and I would recommend the rooms higher up the hill; we had great views and it was quieter. The room was big and we even had a reception area and balcony with amazing views. Would recommend a boat trip to the ko pang nan island - amazing white sand beach and a great view point. Snorkeling was also enjoyable.

Koh Tao is an amazing island and you won't be disappointed. It is more relaxed than some of the party islands but there is still things to Do at night time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

For 50-80$ more a night you can upgrade to a pretty phenomenal hotel room- AC, fridge, TV( although you are not there to watch Tv)and beautiful bathroom! Such a nice place to take a break and chill especially if you have been travelling through SEA!

Mark is an awesome dive instructor!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLifescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've been at Ban's for 5 days, to take the open water licence and to do some diving.

The diving center has been outstanding, with very nice people, well organized and reasonable prices. The open water course (for my girlfriend) has been managed by Andrea, who has always been helpful and caring, thus deserving a special mention. Also the fun dives that I made have been managed in a professional way by other instructors.

On the other hand, the hotel has not fulfilled our expectations. We stayed in a Deluxe garden view, which was very old and in bad conditions, with mildew in the bathroom and broken furniture. Despite the condition of the room, the cleaning persons did a good job and the room was kept clean. The staff both at the reception and at the bar was extremely unpolite and not helpful at all (and out of 6 places where we have been in Thailand this was the only one where we found this attitude).

Only one positive aspect: since we were completing the course on the day of departure, we have been allowed to postpone the check out from 11am to 1pm without extra charge.

Summing up, it is definitely worthy to use Ban's diving center, but I'd recommend to find another accomodation (at 5 minute walking distance there were various options, definitely better in terms of value for money).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sguzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing