We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect location and diving!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed there two times under our trip to Thailand, a little more than two weeks in total. We were not supposed to stay that long, but after taking our open water cert we got stuck and wanted to continue with the advance open water course. Our instructor Robin was great and it was really nice to be able to learn to dive in our own language (Swedish). Everything felt really safe and serious. I could really recommend Ban's, especially if you're thinking about learning to dive. It was the highlight of the trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    493
    199
    117
    103
See reviews for
94
700
401
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Travelled to thailand as a group of 5 friends and our 4 days at Ban's were our best in Thailand. The resort itself is nice; decent food/restaurants, great location, and nice rooms depending on where your room is situated (try and be below the main road). We had some A/C trouble and the hotel accommodated us well for the troubles.

What made our experience so memorable was our diving instructor, Dave Cohen. We requested Dave as our instructor because others told us to do so, and he lived up to his reputation. Firstly, he made what is a dry and lengthy course pass by quickly and we felt very prepared by the time we dove. In speaking with other groups, our experience seemed to be quite unique, from the drills Dave had us do, to the added theory he taught us. Secondly, he made sure everyone was comfortable at all times, and if someone needed extra attention or help, he was there. Our group felt extremely comfortable and safe with Dave. Beyond his 6000+ dives of experience and training, he knows a lot about the sea life, which is cool because he tells you before hand some of the types of fish you may see, and their traits. Thirdly, he is a fun guy who will joke around at appropriate times and once we completed our certification, met up with us in town to hang out. Probe him for diving stories, he has plenty!! Overall, Dave Cohen made the diving experience unforgettable. Personally, I was not keen on diving when we arrived, yet after our course, we all wanted to extend our stay and keep diving. Stay at Ban's, take the certification course, and dive with Dave, you will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What an amazing experience at Ban's diving resort! Travelled here with a group of 5 friends and we all became certified open water divers after a three day open water diving course. Before booking, we were advised to ask for David Cohen as our instructor - so happy we listened to this adivce. David is extremely thorough in his teachings but he makes sure to focus on the details that are very important rather than wasting time on the small and useless details. He takes the time to teach you practical and helpful situations under water. All in all, David is most definitely the most laid back and cool instructor who teaches the course but he also does a great job at making sure you feel comfortable, safe, and learn everything that is required to get your certification.

Couple other pointers about the actual resort:
- we had some issues with our a/c unit over a couple of nights but the front desk was extremely accomodating and provided discounted rates for some nights and offered upgraded rooms/an additional room for the remaining nights
- great restaurants and solid night life along the main road that basically is Koh Tao
- ton of different scuba course options (advanced diving, night dives, cave diving, wreck dives, etc.)
- from our previous research and actual experience at the resort, undoubtedly the #1 choice for diving courses in Koh Tao
- free room included with certification courses

Room Tip: We weren't travelling on a tight budget and so first we opted for an upgrade to a suite over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Highly recommend the resort and scuba program. Perfect location on Ko Tao. Best instructor hands down is David Cohen (request him if you can). Over 10 years of experience; not only does he teach you some of the most important things you need to know under the water, but he is efficient at teaching and moreover understanding of your needs. A great story teller as well - ask him about the guy who raised his hand in class and ran into an industrial fan.

Thanks David for everything; you opened our eyes to the diving and made it the best experience possible.

Jay

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JLeopold23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The logistics for Diving are perfect. They have a complete diving school where you can make almost any diving course from beginner to divemaster....and also make a quick review if you have the certification but need a refresh before diving after a long time (my case).
Even if you don't want any course, they have diving boats leaving 3x daily from the hotel to the best diving sites nearby Koh Tao for very reasonable prices (USD 30 for 2 dives - Full equipment included) and VERY GOOD instructors that make you feell very comfortable.
Ask for hilltop rooms, that are 100m from the beach but are much nicer than the ones close to the beach.
They have 2 restaurants where you can have a pretty decent breakfast ( both eastern and western style), and also lunch/dinner.
If you also like to party they have a beachfront bar with DJ almost everyday.

Room Tip: Very important: Ask for Hilltop rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tichaguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

what a way to end my travel, went to south east Asia for 4 months and this was my highlight, quality rooms, swimming pools, clean, great food, and the diving experience was a dream. luca my diving instructor was helpful funny and made it the perfect experience. I would like to thank bans for making me a open water diver and I will be back in the future !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleeg1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfaffenhofen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The standard hotel rooms aren`t very nice but cheap and only for sleeping ok.
But for 2 days we choose the hilltop suite and that`s really nice (extra fee). Service also good.
Wifi didn`t worked and there`s no telephon in the rooms, so for each problem you have to move 5 minutes the way down to the hotel reception. The resort is quite nice, but it`s best times where over. The diving course and our diving Instructor Luca were very professional.Thanks at this point.Couldn`t be better. We want to come back next year for diving and join the advanced course.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing