We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Diving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ban's Diving Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Kho Toa is a dream island with amazing beaches, warm seas and great beach bars to watch sunsets on.
I did a diving BANs and was twice the age of some of the people on my course but it did not make any difference, we all got on and had a fantastic time with a great instructor. Everyone seem friendly and helpful and it was definately excellent value for money.
I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 553Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    474
    195
    113
    102
See reviews for
92
678
387
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great place to meet people, complete a dive course at a low-cost, and explore Koh Tao's lively dive sites. Everyone from reception to the dive instructors were friendly and helpful, making my stay a memorable one.

The dive staff's enthusiasm is contagious- I am already antsy to get back in the water and move onto my next certification! I took my advanced course with Mark who was personable, patient, and encouraging every step of the way. Be sure to head to the fishbowl bar for a post-dive beer with your dive team.

I had a great time at Bans and would recommend a stay/dive with them to anyone! Hope to go back sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelProtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine Meadows, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I came to koh tao thinking I would do a little diving, maybe explore the island a bit. Instead my life was completely changed! Diving and the experience I had at Ban's resort was my trip to koh tao! After going through the open water coarse with the best instructor you could ever ask for (Mark Hadden), I was hooked! All I did on the island was dive, maybe a few buckets as well. I ended up taking the advanced coarse as well where I got to do a night dive, amazing!! I also did 4 fun dives after my coarses were complete, always meeting new really cool people from all over the world on the boat. Overall my entire experience at Ban's was amazing and I would recommend going to Ban's to anyone heading to koh tao! And a big thanks to Mark for such a great experience! Your the man!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I stayed in two different rooms @ Ban's and they were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakec948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a wonderful week in Koh Tao! I believe Ban's is the best place to stay when you want to enjoy diving in Koh Tao. The instructors are friendly and professional. the atmosphere at Ban's is unique! Smiling people all around, diving instructors and students live together like in a big multicultural family. Ban's is like a little beautiful village. the Service is perfect! Accomodations are very good.

when i come back to Koh Tao - i will come back to Ban's.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you think about going to Koh Tao, this is the only place to stay. Only! Location is in the cm in the middle. Nice rooms, fantastic garden, and love the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. Good service by the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppa80Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I cannot recommend BANS highly enough and this is why.

To contextualize this review, my boyfriend and I (mid-20s) had planned to go to Koh Tao on our 5 month travelling adventures in SE Asia and were toying with the idea of doing the PADI diving course there as its considered the cheapest and best place in the world to do it. I was a little apprehensive to say the least.

On the boat to the island from Chumphon, we were accosted by many 'sellers' however, the young gentleman from BANS really stood out as being genuine so we decided to check out the resort with the intention of diving there.

On our first day, our group of 5, met our instructor for the course, Krista. Immediately, she put us all at her ease with her knowledge and understanding. Her quirky mannerisms also made her incredibly personable.

The next day, we practiced confined diving in the swimming pool in the resorts grounds. This did not come naturally to me at all but the support and warmth of Krista spurred me to continue. The following two days, we quite literally took the plunge in open water and I honestly don't think I could have done it without our simply wonderful instructor. It was a struggle for me initially and her patience and warmth were dearly appreciated. She made me believe anything was possible and formed such a bond with myself and others with the group, we all chose to continue with our advanced PADI. Quite a testament to the instructor considering initially, the confined shallow diving was a struggle for me.

The advanced course proved to be one of the best things I have ever done. We dived to depths of 30m, did a night dive and visited a World War 2 wreck underwater.

Throughout these dives, my confidence faltered but the enthusiasm and support of Krista was second to none. She gave me so much confidence and on a personal level, she is one of the kindest and most patient people I have ever met. I could not have hoped for a better experience and this is largely contributed to Krista.

For those who may have read BANS is impersonal or too big to give each customer attention, I can honestly state this is far from the truth. The personal support I received I doubt I would have got anywhere else.

In regards to the resort, BANS is a wonderful place to stay. Solo travellers, couples, families, those of any age, cannot fail to have a wonderful time at this beautiful resort on a very magical island. The rooms were spotless and many were included in the fee price of the PADI course. The grounds were beautiful and the service and food in the on-site restaurant, faultless. For those who like a bit of a party too, nightly fire shows, live music and a fantastic vibe on the beach side bar will keep the biggest revelers more than happy.

A personal thanks to the staff at BANS and my wonderful team. Most importantly, a lifetime of thank yous to Krista for her unwavering support, passion and faith in me. This enabled me to do something I never thought possible and for that, I cannot recommend her or BANS enough.

Simply wonderful.

From a very grateful and enriched backpacker.

Room Tip: If you are feeling at all apprehensive, request Krista. She has the patience of a saint and will pul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

in one word:- FANTASTIC
in two words:- THE BEST
in three words:- JUST DO IT
in four words:- THE FISH BOWL BAR
in five words:- MARCEL & G "THE TEAM"
in six words: I LOVE P A D I

in 200 characters: supercalafradgerlisticxpeidalidious............. or something like that!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GamboandMambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing