We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good things:
clean room, nice receiption, good location

Bad things:
dirty surrounding, noisy at night, basic rooms, no lift, stinky around, bad diving, disorganized diving, not safe. The beach is very dirty, lots of plastic and beer bottles everywhere, bar and restaurant are not nice.

Koh Tao is only for drunk bag packers to party, and get open water course with less money, but dirty and dog poop everywhere, and don't dive here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    519
    212
    122
    113
See reviews for
107
752
417
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I traveled to Thailand in April 2012 for a month, with nothing but my first 2 days planned out. I knew I enjoyed scuba diving but had know idea how much I would fall in love with it. I wound up making my way to Koh Tao based on numerous conversations with travelers along the way that told me it was THE place to get certified (cheapest and best). So, I did a little research and continued to ask around and came across Ban's Diving Resort. I couldn't have had a better experience! Rich Mclean was my instructor and he is excellent! The experience was so great that I went on to get my advanced open water licence. The culture and atmosphere at Bans is amazing- lots of fun at the bar/restaurant, beach volleyball, pool time, etc. and the people you'll meet are from all around the world and are wonderful. I highly recommend Ban's Diving!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed at Bans twice in the year 2012. Once at april and another time during november. I enjoyed diving a lot and bans is the best place for that. The beach is beautiful and bans is fully equipped 5 star IDC dive center. It is located at Sairee beach, which has a lot of restaurants , massage shops, shops , minimarts, bar.

The food at fishbowl (the restaurant name) is awesome. Cheap too. I really enjoyed it there.
The greatest thing about Bans is the experience, not so the rooms because i was hardly in the rooms. The people u meet are great and it is such a cultural experience. They have a wide range of rooms to offer. Make sure u ask the staff where the rooms are located before u book. Some of the better rooms are high up on the hill and its an intense workout to the main lobby and beach area. The cheaper rooms are located close the the beach . Like i said most divers come here take the cheap accommodation because u get free rooms when u buy a diving course.

The diving is great, they are the biggest and best on Koh Tao (Turtle island).
Now for the bad side . This place is a factory that pumps out divers in its thousands per year. If you are not a diver, you might not enjoy this place because everything is about diving. The pool in the hotel will be taken up by divers practicing etc.

I will definitely go back to Bans. I love the life i had there on the beach.

Room Tip: The rooms basically depend on location. Most of the time you wont be spending your time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bans Diving Resort and received our Open Water Certificate with POLI and a great group of individuals from around the world. The instruction with Poli and Mickey was wonderful. At all times I felt safe and well informed, so much so it was easy for us to enjoy our first diving experience.

When you take the diving course you get a FREE room or room for $15 USD if you want AC. The room was fine, and since you won't do much more than sleep there (since you should be diving or enjoying beautiful Koh Tao) it's a great deal!

I would recommend Ban's, especially the diving courses, to all my friends! They even made an underwater video on our last day of diving and we watched it at the bar with drinks. The video and music paired with it was awesome! We had to buy it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetHolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came to Ban's for a diving course in December 2012. I was blown away by the operation they have on there. They boast of qualifying more divers every week than anywhere else in the world and that's no mean feat. The place is teeming with people of all nationalities.

The accomodation was good. I arrived with a big group of friends and with only me doing my diving course they gave us an air conditioned room of 6 for £20 a night - which I thought was great value.

The diving at Ban's was excellent. I paid just under £200 for my PADI open water, and about £150 for my advanced open water (each about half what it would cost in the UK). Our instructor, Lucy (British), was professional and a lot of fun.

The restaurant/bar at Bans is pretty good, and the atmosphere at the bar on the beach is good at night - quite a young 'gap year' crowd though. Personally for drinks I'd head along the beach to Maya beach bar - that was our favorite despite the house music.

Had an amazing experience at Bans, and ended up travelling further afield with 4 of my dive group. I couldn't recommend the place enough

Room Tip: The Air conditioned 6-bed room is spacious and good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

PEOPLE: The most important thing to consider. I had a fantastic experience and thought that my instructors were fun, kind and thoroughly competent. We had dinner together three of the five nights I was there, though this was exceptional. Of course there is a lot of turnover in divemasters in Thailand, but Ban's seemed to attract a great crowd. Since you can't find out much about instructors in advance, I think it makes sense to just come to the island, meet people, and then decide which dive company you'd prefer. At Ban's I found a younger (mainly 20s, some 30s) crowd that hangs out around the beach, bar, and nearby joints; lots of Swedes, Spaniards, French, Israelis, Dutch and Americans during my visit.

SAFETY & GEAR: Safety is clearly a priority here, with the classroom emphasis on preventing problems and dealing with them should they occur. On 2 of 4 dives there was a person with a problem, and the dive instructor was quick to ascend with the different people to help them out, solve the first problem and return, and bring the second person with a problem back to the boat. I'm sure other places do the same, but I was impressed nonetheless. Gear was fine, but nothing extravagant to write home about.

CLASSROOMS: A/C classrooms w/ flatscreen TVs, very comfortable for getting through the videos. PADI obviously hasn't updated the films in a while, check out the old school cell phones in the movies!

ACCOMMODATION: Not the best I had in Thailand, but it was free! I got a room with 2 twins, my buddy had a room with a queen, and both were completely clean besides the sand that I brought back each day. The free building I stayed in had a shared bathroom, but if you pay for your room they have much nicer stuff available.

LOCATION: Sai Ree beach is the place to be on Koh Tao, don't miss out!

RECEPTION: Helpful staff with good English. I had to get a doctor to sign off on my medical form and they capably arranged for a motorbike to take me to the nearest doc for just 150baht in all. Also very helpful with allowing you to leave bags there before check-in / after check-out.

INTERNET: Free in restaurant and by pool but for unknown reasons you must pay 100baht / 24hr to access elsewhere. This is my major complaint against the place. WTF? Maybe it changed since my visit. (sorry, meant to post this a while ago but got lost among other files)

Their website is pretty terrible but don't be fooled, you'll have a great experience. I can't compare to other schools as I haven't taken their courses, but I can say that this one was EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: This isn't about the room - it's about the scuba diving!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank music s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Ban's for 6 nights over Christmas 2012, we were really looking forward to it as our Christmas treat in the middle of a 6 month trip! 

Unfortunately our experience at Ban's wasn't too positive. We checked in and were told they only had a double room left, even though we made our reservation for a twin in September 2012, we were made to feel like this was our problem as they were 'really busy'. This would all be okay if we weren't paying 3,000 Baht a night (£60). 

We asked to be moved and were given a key to a different room, when we walked in we discovered the room was filthy, full of rubbish, un made beds. We took the key back and decided to keep our double. 

Our room wasn't too great. The bathroom was dirty, black hair everywhere (I'm brunette and my friend is blonde) and also black hair on the bed side table. I asked for it to be cleaned and it was but only some of it. There are still strands of hair on our bathroom wall now.

The toilet was covered in dust from the fan and the bathroom also smelt of drains. The shower was cold, despite us asking for it to be fixed. It was always a dribble of water and not much else.

The wifi didn't work at all. I don't know what happened but we had to pay to use Internet cafes - which we did for our Christmas Skype calls. It would have been nice to be able to use the wifi that we had paid for at Ban's. 

The worst part at Ban's was the staff on the front desk. Rude, non attentive, abrupt. The main lady who sits on her own at the back was the worst. When we paid she couldn't event muster up a hello or goodbye, let alone eye contact. They really need someone with people skills on that desk! 

Overall Ban's was a big disappointment. I know my friend enjoyed the diving however the customer service doesn't balance up to the diving standards. 

We have both travelled throughout Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Burma and Hong Kong in the past 2 months and Ban's was by far the most expensive and the most disappointing. All we really expect d 2 female travellers is a clean and friendly place to stay. 

Don't bother. Honestly. 

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have no wifi at all. The more expensive rooms have wifi SOMETIMES but don't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,492 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
669 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing