We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for diving, otherwise not as good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ban's Diving Resort
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for diving, otherwise not as good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have stayed at Bans twice in the year 2012. Once at april and another time during november. I enjoyed diving a lot and bans is the best place for that. The beach is beautiful and bans is fully equipped 5 star IDC dive center. It is located at Sairee beach, which has a lot of restaurants , massage shops, shops , minimarts, bar.

The food at fishbowl (the restaurant name) is awesome. Cheap too. I really enjoyed it there.
The greatest thing about Bans is the experience, not so the rooms because i was hardly in the rooms. The people u meet are great and it is such a cultural experience. They have a wide range of rooms to offer. Make sure u ask the staff where the rooms are located before u book. Some of the better rooms are high up on the hill and its an intense workout to the main lobby and beach area. The cheaper rooms are located close the the beach . Like i said most divers come here take the cheap accommodation because u get free rooms when u buy a diving course.

The diving is great, they are the biggest and best on Koh Tao (Turtle island).
Now for the bad side . This place is a factory that pumps out divers in its thousands per year. If you are not a diver, you might not enjoy this place because everything is about diving. The pool in the hotel will be taken up by divers practicing etc.

I will definitely go back to Bans. I love the life i had there on the beach.

Room Tip: The rooms basically depend on location. Most of the time you wont be spending your time in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    485
    199
    116
    102
See reviews for
94
694
394
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bans Diving Resort and received our Open Water Certificate with POLI and a great group of individuals from around the world. The instruction with Poli and Mickey was wonderful. At all times I felt safe and well informed, so much so it was easy for us to enjoy our first diving experience.

When you take the diving course you get a FREE room or room for $15 USD if you want AC. The room was fine, and since you won't do much more than sleep there (since you should be diving or enjoying beautiful Koh Tao) it's a great deal!

I would recommend Ban's, especially the diving courses, to all my friends! They even made an underwater video on our last day of diving and we watched it at the bar with drinks. The video and music paired with it was awesome! We had to buy it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetHolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Came to Ban's for a diving course in December 2012. I was blown away by the operation they have on there. They boast of qualifying more divers every week than anywhere else in the world and that's no mean feat. The place is teeming with people of all nationalities.

The accomodation was good. I arrived with a big group of friends and with only me doing my diving course they gave us an air conditioned room of 6 for £20 a night - which I thought was great value.

The diving at Ban's was excellent. I paid just under £200 for my PADI open water, and about £150 for my advanced open water (each about half what it would cost in the UK). Our instructor, Lucy (British), was professional and a lot of fun.

The restaurant/bar at Bans is pretty good, and the atmosphere at the bar on the beach is good at night - quite a young 'gap year' crowd though. Personally for drinks I'd head along the beach to Maya beach bar - that was our favorite despite the house music.

Had an amazing experience at Bans, and ended up travelling further afield with 4 of my dive group. I couldn't recommend the place enough

Room Tip: The Air conditioned 6-bed room is spacious and good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

PEOPLE: The most important thing to consider. I had a fantastic experience and thought that my instructors were fun, kind and thoroughly competent. We had dinner together three of the five nights I was there, though this was exceptional. Of course there is a lot of turnover in divemasters in Thailand, but Ban's seemed to attract a great crowd. Since you can't find out much about instructors in advance, I think it makes sense to just come to the island, meet people, and then decide which dive company you'd prefer. At Ban's I found a younger (mainly 20s, some 30s) crowd that hangs out around the beach, bar, and nearby joints; lots of Swedes, Spaniards, French, Israelis, Dutch and Americans during my visit.

SAFETY & GEAR: Safety is clearly a priority here, with the classroom emphasis on preventing problems and dealing with them should they occur. On 2 of 4 dives there was a person with a problem, and the dive instructor was quick to ascend with the different people to help them out, solve the first problem and return, and bring the second person with a problem back to the boat. I'm sure other places do the same, but I was impressed nonetheless. Gear was fine, but nothing extravagant to write home about.

CLASSROOMS: A/C classrooms w/ flatscreen TVs, very comfortable for getting through the videos. PADI obviously hasn't updated the films in a while, check out the old school cell phones in the movies!

ACCOMMODATION: Not the best I had in Thailand, but it was free! I got a room with 2 twins, my buddy had a room with a queen, and both were completely clean besides the sand that I brought back each day. The free building I stayed in had a shared bathroom, but if you pay for your room they have much nicer stuff available.

LOCATION: Sai Ree beach is the place to be on Koh Tao, don't miss out!

RECEPTION: Helpful staff with good English. I had to get a doctor to sign off on my medical form and they capably arranged for a motorbike to take me to the nearest doc for just 150baht in all. Also very helpful with allowing you to leave bags there before check-in / after check-out.

INTERNET: Free in restaurant and by pool but for unknown reasons you must pay 100baht / 24hr to access elsewhere. This is my major complaint against the place. WTF? Maybe it changed since my visit. (sorry, meant to post this a while ago but got lost among other files)

Their website is pretty terrible but don't be fooled, you'll have a great experience. I can't compare to other schools as I haven't taken their courses, but I can say that this one was EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: This isn't about the room - it's about the scuba diving!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank music s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Ban's for 6 nights over Christmas 2012, we were really looking forward to it as our Christmas treat in the middle of a 6 month trip! 

Unfortunately our experience at Ban's wasn't too positive. We checked in and were told they only had a double room left, even though we made our reservation for a twin in September 2012, we were made to feel like this was our problem as they were 'really busy'. This would all be okay if we weren't paying 3,000 Baht a night (£60). 

We asked to be moved and were given a key to a different room, when we walked in we discovered the room was filthy, full of rubbish, un made beds. We took the key back and decided to keep our double. 

Our room wasn't too great. The bathroom was dirty, black hair everywhere (I'm brunette and my friend is blonde) and also black hair on the bed side table. I asked for it to be cleaned and it was but only some of it. There are still strands of hair on our bathroom wall now.

The toilet was covered in dust from the fan and the bathroom also smelt of drains. The shower was cold, despite us asking for it to be fixed. It was always a dribble of water and not much else.

The wifi didn't work at all. I don't know what happened but we had to pay to use Internet cafes - which we did for our Christmas Skype calls. It would have been nice to be able to use the wifi that we had paid for at Ban's. 

The worst part at Ban's was the staff on the front desk. Rude, non attentive, abrupt. The main lady who sits on her own at the back was the worst. When we paid she couldn't event muster up a hello or goodbye, let alone eye contact. They really need someone with people skills on that desk! 

Overall Ban's was a big disappointment. I know my friend enjoyed the diving however the customer service doesn't balance up to the diving standards. 

We have both travelled throughout Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Burma and Hong Kong in the past 2 months and Ban's was by far the most expensive and the most disappointing. All we really expect d 2 female travellers is a clean and friendly place to stay. 

Don't bother. Honestly. 

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have no wifi at all. The more expensive rooms have wifi SOMETIMES but don't co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at Ban's and did my open water course, they gave me a room for free and the course was really good and supportive as I was a little nervous. My instructor - Anthony - made the whole course. He was really thorough and patient with the whole group with time for individual instruction also. I loved it so much I stayed another few days and did my advanced course.
I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saskia_athlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was the worst I have stayed in thailand. Firstly we was on top floor and you could only get up to the top by a metal spiral stairs, when its wet and dark it is so unsafe, especially with luggage! Then there was no fridge, a bed full of ants, spiders and flys shoot out the toilet air vent when you turn it on, and more holes in the bed sheets than you can imagine. No room in the pool due to divers, pool bar never opened once, dirty sunbed cushions, and rude staff in mini market, beach bar was being rebuilt so half was a building site, and outside reception stank of sewers.. So didn't fancy eating here!.. Good location but other than that bad experience!! If I come again I would recomend staying at nagnayn. Just awful....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieJohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.7 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban's Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban's Diving Resort

Property: Ban's Diving Resort
Address: Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ban's Diving Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ban's Technical Diving is operated out of Ban's Diving, Koh Tao, Thailand. Ban's Technical Diving is an award winning DSAT, BSAC, ANDI Technical Instructor Diving Facility. The only Tech Center on Koh Tao (and one of few in the world) that offers DSAT Technical Diving Intructor Courses. Deep Wreck Diving, Cave Expeditions.-Nitrox, Deep, Wreck, Gas Blender, Compressor Operator, Rebreather, Equipment, Emergency Oxygen, Technical Decompression Diving, Cave, Cavern......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ban's Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban`s Diving Hotel Koh Tao
Bans Diving Hotel
Bans Diving Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing