We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort Paridise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Newfoundland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort Paridise”
Reviewed November 22, 2009

At the end of a two week backpacking trip, we decided to splurge and stay at the Jamahkiri Boutique Resort and Spa and we were very pleased! This is not your regular resort. It is just Beautiful! The whole resort is built into the side of a cliff so it would be wise to assume that you will have to climb some stairs. This only adds to the charm of the resort. While there are little bunglows to stay in, we stayed in one of the new rooms in the main hotel building. This building is a new buildning and the room was extremely clean and beautiful. We had an amazing view right off our balcony as well. The restaurant offers a wide selection of both traditional thai and western food. There is also a wine cellar which offers a wide selection of wines. Breakfast is included and it offers all that you could ever want with fresh juices and fruit etc. There is a pool which is very relaxing and there is a little bar off the pool where you can get drinks and lunch. The spa also has one of the best menus that I've seen in Thailand. Overall, this is a quiet and relaxing resort. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place for you. We came here looking for relaxation and peace and we were very happy with what we found. We also were able to rent a longtail boat for the day to go out snorkelling. They even packed us a little picnic! The staff here were very nice and accomodating. While you will have to take a pickup truck ride to the resort over rough roads, this is a small price to pay for such relaxation and quiet. We had a wonderful time here and we would reccomend it to others who want to relax and take in the breathtaking views of the ocean and surrouinding hills.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    206
    66
    28
    26
See reviews for
149
538
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
40221
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed in this resort for five nights and we had the best time on our Thailand trip. We had the new rooms that were very spacious and clean and with an amazing view to the ocean and an ice machine for cold drinks. The resort has a lot of steps but it is a beautiful place with a big pool area. also the spa is perfect. They have a small private beach with steps into the sea but you can go 200 m to a very nice and large sandy beach, with a lot of luck you can see sharks from your balcony of your room. You have a fantastic view from the restaurant and everything is cooked fresh. The service paid a lot of attention to us. The hotel is far away from the center but a shuttle jeep will transfer you between town and hotel every hour. You have a luxury business center with computer, flat-screen TV and a large offer of DVD's for rental, if you want to spent an evening in your room. All in all it is a fantastic place to relax and to feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This trip was taken after a long summer and in agreement with previous reviewers it is a beautiful place that has so much potential and but doesn't reach the standard it has aspired to. We stayed for two weeks in september and were delighted to recieve a free upgrade to a deluxe pavillion which was beautiful.it was one situated near the pool area so we were very lucky. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the jacuzzi bath in the pavillion is luxurious. The pool is idyllic and of ample size and the sun loungers are set agianst a beautiful view of shark bay. Breakfast is divine and they will make any type of eggs or pancakes on request. unfortunately the lack of sun, clouds my judgement but the negatives have to be pointed out. There is a 10% service charge and 7% vat on top of everything purchased in restaurant of pool bar. The food in the restaurant is tasty but severely over priced. The cleaning is excessive they have they're own place for everything moved my cosmetics around and they had half shattered when i opened them, the free shuttle services is excellent but stopping at half eight from may head is unfair considering many other taxi drivers try to exploit the fact that the hotel is located up a dirt track. It is not advisable to walk this road after any alcohol has been taken! one other thing is that there is a vip room which is supposed to be open till twelve and we were hasked at ten past eleven one evening would we be much longer. The spa is fabulous and set in gorgeous tropical setting but it will be third of price in town. if you are thinking of diving there i wouldn't on average it is 9000 batt. They offer it for 18000 batt but jamakhiri customers get it for 150000 batt wow! unfortunately as i said the weather was poor but they're solar powered system meant we could not have hot showers or avail of the jacuzzi when it was cold. This is a beautiful hotel but not for a long stay one or two nights celebrating something special would be nice but like other reviewers not for the unfit the steps and journey back from town are tough. romantic place for short stay with obliging staff

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamahkiriLucas, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
We thank you louise222 for the review and feedback. We are glad you found the resort beautiful and romantic, our staff obliging, the food at our restaurant tasty, our breakfast service, and found our free shuttle service excellent. We are therefore sorry, yet quite surprised, to know that despite all this, you felt it was ‘a flawed paradise’.

Jamahkiri Resort and Spa is indeed more expensive than other hotels and spas on Koh Tao. It is also the most well-appointed, well-equipped, lavish and exclusive resort on the island, in one of the most beautiful locations. The diving club is also indeed more expensive than other centers. It is also the only place to offer private diving, no set schedules or dive times, free use of luxury speedboat for courses, and trips that leave directly from the resort. 10% service charge and 7% vat is a legal requirement for all full-service hotels and resorts in Thailand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Jamahkiri is a beautiful hotel. But it is also out of town and the restaurant there is very average and expensive. But they do offer a free shuttle to and from town every hour.
We stayed in the new wing and the room was wonderful. Very modern, quiet and a good view of the ocean. You can even put toilet paper in the toilet! (Not very common in Koh Tao) The air con worked great and was quiet. The room was spacious.
As other people mentioned this hotel has many stairs. To understand this you need to be aware it is set directly into a cliff, so there are many stairs to get anywhere. It really didn't bother me, but my girlfriend did complain a bit. The trip into town is bumpy but fun. We did here a scooter and drive it up there, but wouldn't recommend it.
The spa at the hotel was good, but expensive. Also the restaurant was average and again very expensive. Service was good, we needed to get into town at 7.30am but the usual shuttle doesn't start until 8.30, but we asked for an earlier one and received it free of charge. They have a good business centre where you can print off stuff. Although the computers didn't have Adobe Viewer installed which was odd.
The dive centre at this place is incredibly expensive as well, much better finding one of the many dive places in town.
The "beach" was just a rock outcrop, but it was a good place to snorkel.
Overall it was a nice place for a couple of nights unless you want to dive regularly. But just be aware that there are many stairs and you will be away from town - which can be nice as its very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I think it}s not easy to find a very nice and clean hotel in koh Tao. So we decided to go to the Jamahkiri. On the first sight it seemed to be very stylish and nice, but after a few hours we noticed some things;
1. Unfriendly, not very helpful staff in restaurant. I think they have no fun working here. And their English is very poor.
2. Dirty Towels ( yellow stains and hairs) in the bathroom. The cleanlyness is so important for a 4 star / hotel!! In the toilets of the restaurant you have to share one towel with everybody. No paper towels or small towels.
3. No service at the beach bar. It was just closed.

The drinks and food are nice... The decoration of the room is okay. But its too pricey for its standart! The location is far away from everything. If you like it, okay. But I thought its a bit boring.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Deerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamahkiriLucas, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Thank you Deerie, we appreciate your review and comments. We are glad you were satisfied with your room and enjoyed the food and drinks at the resort.

The vast majority of our guests tell us they love the fact that the resort is set away from the crowds and nightlife, allowing them to really relax in peace and quiet. We are sorry you found it boring.

We are truly sorry about the towels and assure you that our levels of cleanliness, as I’m sure you noticed in all other areas of your room and the resort, are extremely high.

We do not have a beach bar! The small bungalow at the bottom of the resort next to the sea is actually our diving center, which closes at 6pm. We do however have a pool bar, a restaurant bar and a lounge bar available for our guests until late.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our family went with another family who'd been to the island three times before. They had previously stayed at Charm Churee which they said was getting rather frayed around the edges. So this was much better.

Our four kids altogether (ages 5 - 9) absolutely LOVED sitting in the back of the 4X4 on the roller coaster ride in and out of the resort. I was impressed by the 45 degree slopes and didn't mind the bumpy ride but our friend who has a back problem said he wasn't returning there.

The stairs were indeed a challenge, considering all of us adults are v fit (gym rats, treadmill runners etc). Obviously the porterage staff hated it too because they gave us dirty looks when we made the mistake of buying a lot of bottled water that they had to lug to our rooms.

Food was not bad -- we had many meals there which were pricier than town but also of better quality.

We decided against diving in the end as all the snorkelling around the island, whether at this resort or others we visited on a long tail, was so-so. Little fish were plentiful but only the occasional fish big enough to eat, and certainly no shark. And since it was the monsoon season, with little sunlight, we figured diving would be worse. Not to mention all the coral reefs being dead and brown, thus providing an unattractive backdrop to the sea life.

My kids enjoyed the holiday but us adults didn't feel the island was worth a second visit, esp with the long transfers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soulbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I booked this hotel on the back of the trip advisor reviews. I did see mentions of the service but thought those people must be very fussy - let me assure they are not. I broke the different aspects of the hotel into sections as I realise this is a really long review and people can pick the topics that are relevant to them.

Service: Seriously awful. The front desk staff has a seriously bad attitude. We had a number of problems with them. The first was diving. I had arranged to do my PADI with the hotel originally. When I turned up on the first day I enquired what time I would be starting diving the next day and I was told they would let me know. I had to go back up to the desk three more times before they admitted they hadn’t booked anything. The second annoying problem was the mini bar. As we were there for nearly a week we wanted to use the mini bar for our own personal use. We called the front desk a number of times to clear the mini bar, we checked out six days later and they still hadn’t cleared the stuff we had taken out and put on the counter.

Room: We splashed out on a deluxe cottage and I am happy we did as it was very private and we did not have to deal with the 150 steps up to the reception and restaurant, one guest counted them.

Transport: The hotel is in a really remote location and the roads leading up to the hotel are (--) to be frank. Thai islands are known for the bad remote roads but in all the islands we saw this took the biscuit. If you stay at the Jamahkiri you will be dependant on the transport provided by the hotel, it runs from 9am to 8.30pm. The dive boats leave at 8 so you will have to pay for a cab to the main town. The cabs are Baht400 per person if you arrange it through a town cab and Baht900 if you arrange it through the hotel. If you have dinner in the town expect to pay for a cab home. There is no shortage of street taxis and be prepared for their prices to be hiked up when they hear the name of the hotel. The road is really bad and all cars have to travel at 10 miles an hour, no exaggeration, and the road is next to a shear drop, quite scary if you are doing the journey in the dark.

Food: I have mixed reviews of the food. The first day I had breakfast I was delighted at what I thought was freshly baked bread. When I cut into the bread the middle was still really cold, indicating it had been cooked from frozen and not fully defrosted. The dinner menu offered Thai dishes and they were very tasty.

Cleaners: The most bizarre cleaners in the world. We unpacked and put everything away just how we liked it. But the cleaners would come in every day and re-arrange our belongings how they saw fit. We would have a scavenger hunt in the evenings to see where they had moved our things that day.

Diving & Snorkelling: The advertisement that this is the only place to see sharks in the island is rubbish. I didn’t see one. I was speaking with a local dive school and they laughed at this claim saying they suspect the hotel writes a lot of glowing reviews, I have to agree. The hotel arranges private lessons from the hotel, beware, they are Bhat5000 more expensive than anywhere in the main town. I went to Planet Scuba and they were brilliant and extremely friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
41 Thank Aidy_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamahkiriLucas, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
We thank you Aidy Lady for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to know that you liked your room and it’s location.

At Jamahkiri we take customer satisfaction very seriously so are sorry to know that you were not satisfied with our service. We strongly believe, however, that your review does not reflect us in a fair or accurate way.

No diving was booked for you because no booking was made!! One email asking about diving is not a booking. Still, we did organize a course just for you after speaking, only to later have it cancelled and done elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,483 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
951 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing