We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort! Sad employee conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Beautiful resort and fabulously empty during low season (Mid May). Felt like we had the entire place to ourselves with the exception of a few other couples. Rooms were spotless, service was friendly, food was awesome, daily free breakfast top notch! Special shout out to the night time pool area bartender, he was awesome and returned our snorkeling masks to the front desk so we didn't have to climb the stairs.

oh that...stairs. There are a LOT of stairs at the resort. Not exactly wheel chair accessible.

the spa - was OK, not exactly what i'd call top notch or 5star resort worthy, but decent. save your money, enjoy the pool and private beach instead!

Thing to note - Most of the employees at the Jamahkiri are from Burma/Myanmar and are paid very low wages, work at least 10 hour shifts and the worst? They get TWO days off a month. Thus, the term "weekend" does not exist for them. The resort is taking advantage of them.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th or 5th floor to avoid stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 920 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in an ocean view double room. The hotel and room are excellent; with very good and delicious breakfast, excellent ocean view from the room; friendly ad helpful staff; convenient to have snorkelling at shark bay.

We have also tried the SPA; overall the SPA is good, though not excellent.

However, the only bad thing is that there is no convenient store / other restaurants nearby. If you don't rent a motorbike during your stay, you may have to take their shuttle, which there are only a few time slots each day, or take expensive taxi in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort is based on the side of a cliff and is nicely positioned amongst rocks. It's simply stunning. The room was great, the pool was lovely, the restaurant for breakfast was really good and the view of the sea below is to die for. I also passed my PADI open water with them. It's a tad more expensive than the other dive schools but given you don't have to travel down to the main pier each day it's a godsend. I was also able to dive one on one with the instructor and we pretty much had the dive boat to ourselves every day. I am definitely going back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous Setting, excellent staff, beautiful rooms - all fantastic. Bit of a spin from the main drag but if u fancy a chilled out couple of days in luxury sipping cocktails by the pool, going to the spa/gym, eating nice food and snorkelling/diving this is the place for you. Gorgeous!!!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank girleen_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We were here for 3 days and didn't feel the need to leave the resort. It was a great break from the intensive holidaying we'd done on our 3 weeks in Thailand.

Beautiful ocean views from our amazing room. The food and service were great here, even the room service. All the restaurants are open air so they are very hot 24/7 so beware, but they do offer an amazing view. Slow bar service during happy hour so order ahead of time, the cocktails are great along with the happy hour price.

The snorkelling was amazing. You can hire a snorkel set from the dive centre by the beach (don't mind the unfriendly staff down there, they're the only ones) then head out for hours! The black fin reef sharks offer some added excitement but don't worry they're harmless. It's a rock beach so don't expect white sand. If you do want white sand they offer a free boat service to the beach a couple of minutes away.

There are many stairs so you have to be mobil. If you're okay with that then I'd highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank logannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the pier from our boat from kho samui and waiting for us were two very helpful, smiling men from Jamahkiri who insisted on carry our overly heavy bags to the shuttle bus that was there ready and waiting for us. After a 10 min drive through town and up some of the steepest hills we have ever been on we arrived at the beautiful resort. Check in was smooth and quick and we got to met the resident macaw that kept us entertained which we sipped on our welcome drinks. We were shown to our room and given a tour of the resort which made us feel very at home straight away.
We chose to book one of the cheapest rooms and we were not disappointed we had our own balcony with uninterrupted views of shark bay below it was just stunning. The rooms are very clean and have all you could need. The only two small issues I could think of to mention is the wifi is very weak in our room but great everywhere else inc pool, restaurant etc. The other minor gripe was the shower is very high up on the ceiling so by time water hits you it's a bit weak. But these are seriously minor things.

The pool is great, beautiful views of the bay as it is perched on the side of the mountain. Great happy hour cocktails and the staff at the bar and around the pool are brilliant always there with clean dry towels when you need. They were so sweet when my partner decided to go swimming with his iphone in his pocket they grabbed a box of dry rice to help dry the phone out, found screwdrivers and helpful advice about where to find a a shop to fix it. They went completely above and beyond we were so grateful.

For the best snorkelling, hire a kayak from the resort and paddle out to the right of the bay into deeper water to see the best sea life including reef sharks :)

Have no hesitation about booking this resort if you would like complete peace and quite in a beautiful location set in pristine grounds.

Stayed: May 2014
6  Thank MartynNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 as part of our honeymoon. Our room had the most amazing view of the bay, which you can get to by walking down a few flights of stairs, there is a diving place at the bottom where you can hire snorkels and goggles and then you can just jump in the water and its like swimming in an aquarium!

The food at the restaurant was very nice, probably more expensive than eating in town, the free shuttles to town during the day are a nice touch. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and I really loved how they packed a breakfast for us on the morning we left as it was very early when our taxi picked us up.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer the top so you don't have to climb too many stairs to get to the pool and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayefalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,550 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $116 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing