We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, a little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, a little gem”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We planned to stay here for a week but have extended our stay for a few extra nights, this place is beautiful. I was awe-struck from the moment I arrived, Lonely Planet described the pavilions as mushrooming out of the rocks and this is a very apt description, the design and decor of the resort is amazing, we have a 180 degree view of the sea from our room. We booked a trip on the hotels own boat at a very reasonable rate and only shared it with one other person who had done the same as it took us to 4 of the islands fantastic snorkelling sights and around the island. The staff are fantastic the food is outstanding, the location and view is amazing. There are quite a few sets of stairs at the resort but I'm hoping that the exercise will help me burn off some calories from the wonderful food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sula01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    206
    66
    28
    26
See reviews for
149
538
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sverige
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Clearly one of the best hotels I've stayed at. It is completely unique and is in a lovely location on Koh Tao. Eating breakfast overlooking the bay and watch the sharks swim down there is absolutely wonderful. The room with a hot tub on the balcony is something I often think back on. Simply great . The SPA is also really good with skilled staff. The food is very good in the restaurant. Come here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had originally booked three nights here, based on the location and good reviews. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and extended an extra night. Beautiful resort with friendly, helpful staff. Well run.
Dive master is excellent and the boat crew great too- I definitely recommend going diving while here- or learning to dive here.
Only downside I found about the resort is that taxis on the island are expensive getting here and unwilling to negotiate much.
Breakfasts here were delicious.
The snorkeling in shark bay in front of the hotel is a must- beautiful bay. Gear rental is not expensive and is good quality.
Rooms are spotless and spacious with a great view.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo_Tognon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First the pros:
- nice hotel with a good spa
- a good snorkeling site just in front of the hotel with sharks (shark bay)
- access by free boat to the large beach of Haadtien beach resort nearby

Then the cons:
- restaurant & cocktails are highly priced with no related quality
- very poor service:
- we found one panties of a precedent customer when arriving in our room
- pool staff did not want us to eat at the pool and strongly recommended us to go to the restaurant, and when he saw that we were not happy endly said that we can stay (we did not)!!
- 1h30 to have a burger through room service, and only because we called back !! and when the staff came to deliver it explained that it was not his fault...
- breakfast was a mess ! no towel, slow replenishment... they serve you a coffee with more coffee in the saucer than in the cup... and this considering that the hotel was quite empty
- and to end 2 mistakes in our bill when checking out !!! expenses not belonging to our room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel, full of character and quirky design features and despite the steps (182 from our Pavilion room to the pool) the location, service and amenities are first class. Don't expect anything like the usual international chain hotels, this place is really different and the staff are completely charming. Yes there is the occasional mishap due to communication problems - regrettably they say 'yes of course' to everything whether or not they have understood - but everyone is so helpful and pleasant it's really not an issue.

Plus points - the views are fabulous, the dive school is extremely professional, restaurant dinner is first class (a little more choice at breakfast would be better) and the rooms are lovely. Snorkelling from the beach is like swimming in an aquarium, charming staff and visible management who alwayas around and happy to help.

Minus points - only the steps although they are a small price to pay for the fabulous location.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views - choose a Pavilion room for something a little different and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George9693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the resort for one night as a birthday treat (break from 6 weeks travelling)! Despite us turning up with ruck sacks and looking a little out of place - the staff still treated us like royalty. The room was out of this world, the food in the restaurant was amazing, the treatments were super relaxing and the service excellent. The manager made sure that our stay was special and gave us some little keep sakes to remember them by. I perfect retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Just dont come if you are averse to stairs! Great boutique hotel with fab design. Book a pavilion room for better location. Well situated and with beautiful views. Food is really good except perhaps breakfast which is limited and not to the same std. Service is correct but not great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YTenorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,492 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing