We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT STAY HERE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT STAY HERE!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Jamahkiri Resort for 3 nights and were bitterly disappointed.
Firstly, the staff are rude, unhelpful, and speak very little English which is unusual in a "5 star" resort. The reception staff in particular appeared disinterested in fulfilling even simple requests.
There were about 350 (yes.. we counted) concrete steps to our room, which made exploring the resort a tiring and frustrating event. Definitely think twice if you are travelling with someone who has mobility difficulties.
While the resort itself is beautiful, and views are magnificent, the overall atmosphere is completely non-existent - especially surprising during peak season! This might be what you are looking for, but it certainly wasn't what we wanted from a 'fun holiday' perspective.
The food and services at the resort were a massive markup from anywhere else on the whole island.. or anywhere in Thailand for that matter.
The 'deluxe' rooms are average at best, and we found our room infested with ants.
The ONLY good thing about our stay was breakfast..
In regards to the general manager, William, at first we found him extremely attentive and helpful however when we had to shorten our stay for personal reasons, he became spiteful and rude.

I cannot stress enough how much of a mistake it was to stay at this resort. Seriously save your hard-earned money and find better, friendlier accommodation!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foomister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion concerning your stay.

I respect my staff, and am proud of the work they make; they are always disposed to learn more. I agree that in some departments they do not manipulate the language of Shakespeare but they will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.
As you can read in other reviews and on our website, the resort is built on a steep hill, and not recommended for guests with reduced mobility.
This has the advantage that all the rooms or pavilions have an endless sea view.

The resort is especially appreciated for its serenity and relaxing atmosphere, sip a cocktail around the pool or enjoy our daily happy hour at the rooftop bar in evening time.
If you are looking for fun or parties, it is definitely not the appropriate place, you will need to take a scooter or a taxi for a 15 minutes drive to the Beach of Sairee as you know.

In our restaurants we use quality products from abroad, shipped to the island, this has a consequence on value, and our conception concerning food will remain the same, providing our guests with quality, healthy and tasty food.
Ants in tropical countries are very smart and alert, leave some candies or food exposed, and they will quickly coordinate their work. The use of chemicals for massive insect extermination is not our approach to preserve and protect mother Earth.

I was so glad to hear about your family breaking news, for this blessed event I wanted to grant you exceptionally an early check out, and agreed to make a refund for the reason that you had to go home as fast as possible.
But by aging, you will learn that lying requires a lot of effort. When you tell the truth, you simply remember what happens. When you lie you have to consider what you're trying to hide, figure out a believable version of the opposite, give a convincing performance to sell that lie, and then remember it for the rest of eternity so you never get caught.
Even the smallest lies can cost you money, impact your relationships, and affect your choices. Conversely, honesty offers many surprising psychological benefits.
Think about the long-term effects and not how the lie will protect you in a particular moment. You can tell the truth, the more you do, happier your brain and body will be.

I hope that you had a pleasant stay for your last night in Koh Tao.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    199
    63
    25
    25
See reviews for
136
522
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved Jamahkiri. The staff was friendly, relaxed and everything was well maintained. One felt like you were in the lap of luxury. The food was excellent and happy hour is a bonus. During our stay the hotel was relatively quiet and this was awesome. Snorkeling was great and the scuba was fantastic. I would highly recommend Jamahkiri. Also a special mention of William who was a friendly and approachable as others had said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WashingtonIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are looking for an amazingly beautiful hotel in Koh Tao, go to Jamahkiri! Everything, every details that you are looking at, from their unique and mysterious restaurant, to the spacious rooms with a gorgeous sea view, stopping to the swimming pool that you will never see in other places, it is FABULOUS.This is what I call a 5 Stars Boutique Hotel! With a personal style and focused on the maximum to receive and let the guest know that you are unique too.
The food is nice too, with a very fair wine list, William will recommend you the Rose wine from St Tropez, excellent to drink by the swimming pool...

William , the General manager is always present to welcome you and serve you as you are his best friend, and makes you want to come again. Thank you again!

I highly recommend this hotel for honey mooners, and couples who are looking for a romantic, friendly stay...

Room Tip: Try any rooms; I liked the red one by the way, the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domsamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to visit this lovely place to spend some time at a peaceful location and we were not to be disappointed. The Jamahkiri Resort picked us up at our own resort, free of charge, and took us to the spa. The surroundings are breathtaking and we were welcomed by a polite staff who made us feel at home. We decided on a spa pacage, around 2200 bath per person, and are very glad we did this, as the swedish massage (oil massage) and facial massage are some of the best we've ever tried. In the pacage we also had a aloe vera wrap, which wasn't worth writing about, and a steambath which we could have skipped aswell. I would definately come back and would surely recommend this to anyone who appreciate a good spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A beautiful hotel situated on the eastern tip of the island, though relatively remote - for those seeking a quiet luxury escape its the perfect place.

It must be said, the hotel is absolutely stunning, perched at various levels above the bay (definitely not for those who dont love climbing a lot of steps) with wonderfully tended gardens you find yourself in a beautiful Thai oasis. Rooms are generous and well equipped - the fact there are only 35 of them also means access to the hotel's wide range of facilities remains uncrowded.

One downside is for those wishing to travel elsewhere on the Island you're relatively far away from the main tourist/dive centre areas of Mae Haad and Sairee - and taxi drivers will charge a premium for this.

The hotel offers 3 shuttles to the pier in Mae Haad each day, though these arent necessarily at times that will suit those going for an early morning dive, or a late night drink/dinner. The font desk will order taxis for guests at 500THB to the pier, though if you want to save the odd penny you can order yourself for 400THB to Mae Haad or 600THB to Sairee. As one would expect as a hotel of this calibre food and drinks also come at a cost. For example, dinner will typically set you back 1500-2000THB with drinks (1pp), versus 600-900THB in Mae Haad or Sairee, drinks are twice as expensive on average. We also found the quality of food was OK- but not sufficiently good enough to demand the premium, often finding ourselves finding better for a franction of the price elsewhere. We arent budget travellers, however the cost differential vs quality experienced during our stay did raise the odd eyebrow.

Still, food and drinks isnt why you come here- for those after a beautiful location and a luxury experience- you cant really go wrong.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal- all come with a Sea view, and are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamFam3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

stayed for a week in july as part of honeymoon. was upgraded free for 4 nights but to be honest the standard room was equally as good with an even better view. the views are out of this world over shark bay. rooms are big and clean and comfortable. snorkeling off the beach was great, and saw reefshark on last day. MUST get a quad bike to make travel easier to hotel as moped or cycle will not get up the hill, walking is too long and far and taxi's are not ideal and not cheap. see the whole island on quad bike, it is not dangerous on 4 wheels. but pricey in restaurant but food is great. it would be 5 star but spent 36 hours in bed when we ate evening meal there being sick. sure it was that food but cant be 100%. it it wasnt for that then i would say everything was perfect.

Room Tip: standard room was great. no need for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I cancelled my last 3 nights because this place was so bad ....... I have NO IDEA WHATSOEVER how people can think this place is even remotely decent.

1. Communication - POOR. Staff are RUDE and even reception can barely speak English. GOD HELP YOU IF YOU NEED TO ASK FOR ANYTHING !
2. Laundry - came back filthy and my shirt was torn.
3. Room Service - slow. Didn't pick my tray up for over 12 hours.
4. Atmosphere - deadly quiet even at high season.
5. Breakfast - poor to average IF YOU EVEN GET SERVED !!!!
6. Pool Bar (not swim up) - slow. Expect to carry your own drinks to where you are sitting and for them not to tidy away. You have to attend the bar to order.
7. Internet - works on and off.
8. Pool - opens at 9am (yeah right), you only got offered towels and mats at 9.30!
9. Jacuzzi - is like an economy type jacuzzi. They don't keep it on either you have to ASK to have it switched on !!!!
10. Rooms - don't stay here if you like your room tidied !
11. Staff - obviously HATE their jobs. Cleaning staff mess about socialising in your room when they are supposed to be cleaning , and the gardeners like to sit around and STARE. STAFF ARE RUDE RUDE RUDE. Doesn't matter how nice you are.
12. Women - they have a complete disrespect for women.
13. Snorkelling trip - MOST EXPENSIVE on the island, and the tour guide was shouting and screaming with another member of staff.
14. Help with bags - ONLY if you ask
15. The resort itself - STEPS STEPS STEPS !! If you don't like walking up and down lots of steep steps this is not the place for you.

This place is only interested in emptying your WALLET. Not whether you have a good stay or not. Please please please don't waste your hard earned money.

Room Tip: They are all far from reception and the pool so if you don't want to walk tonnes of steep stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Davies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing