We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ko Tao Resort(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JP Resort(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveler rating
626
230
78
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
230
78
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark baydeluxe pavilionfrench chefeagle viewdiving clubnearby beachfree shuttlethai massageprivate beachpool barsmall price to paybumpy ridealoe veraloved this hotelmae haadour honeymoondive boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 991 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I cancelled my last 3 nights because this place was so bad ....... I have NO IDEA WHATSOEVER how people can think this place is even remotely decent.

1. Communication - POOR. Staff are RUDE and even reception can barely speak English. GOD HELP YOU IF YOU NEED TO ASK FOR ANYTHING !
2. Laundry - came back filthy and my shirt was torn.
3. Room Service - slow. Didn't pick my tray up for over 12 hours.
4. Atmosphere - deadly quiet even at high season.
5. Breakfast - poor to average IF YOU EVEN GET SERVED !!!!
6. Pool Bar (not swim up) - slow. Expect to carry your own drinks to where you are sitting and for them not to tidy away. You have to attend the bar to order.
7. Internet - works on and off.
8. Pool - opens at 9am (yeah right), you only got offered towels and mats at 9.30!
9. Jacuzzi - is like an economy type jacuzzi. They don't keep it on either you have to ASK to have it switched on !!!!
10. Rooms - don't stay here if you like your room tidied !
11. Staff - obviously HATE their jobs. Cleaning staff mess about socialising in your room when they are supposed to be cleaning , and the gardeners like to sit around and STARE. STAFF ARE RUDE RUDE RUDE. Doesn't matter how nice you are.
12. Women - they have a complete disrespect for women.
13. Snorkelling trip - MOST EXPENSIVE on the island, and the tour guide was shouting and screaming with another member of staff.
14. Help with bags - ONLY if you ask
15. The resort itself - STEPS STEPS STEPS !! If you don't like walking up and down lots of steep steps this is not the place for you.

This place is only interested in emptying your WALLET. Not whether you have a good stay or not. Please please please don't waste your hard earned money.

Room Tip: They are all far from reception and the pool so if you don't want to walk tonnes of steep stairs then don't stay here
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Davies109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 3rd time at Jahmakiri. This time we stayed for 2 weeks around Christmas. My wife did the Padi open water certification here now. Thanks to Derek and Anna !!. The diving is one of the biggest advantages of this resort i think. We realy love to go diving with Jahmakiri`s traditional boat. ( unfortunately this time the engine broke down for 2-3 days). If you go diving with some of the other resorts on the island you will find it as a very crowded experience. We have tried that as well. This is not the case at Jahmakiri as there usually will maximum be around 6 divers on the boat. We realy enjoyed the sunny days at sea.
My wife will also recomend the SPA, which she tried several times.
The food on the resort is also very good.
One thing that was much better this time was the road to the resort. It is now nearly fully covered with concrete and you can easily take a taxi to Mae Haad or Sairee beach in the evenings. These places offer several good resturants and pubs, but we prefer not to stay at any hotel there as it can be very crowded. Especially around high seasons. The side of the island where Jahmakiri lies is much more relaxing and "exotic". The beach next to Jahmakiri in Shark Bay is the best on the island, no dubt !. Few peoples and relaxing atmosphere.
We would like to come back again, and again :-)

Room Tip: Book directly at the resort, do`nt use a travel agent.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tjuvagutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Jamahkiri is a very intimist resort with a Gaudi based architecture style, fantastic sea views, a very attemptive service and superbly decorated rooms. But if you have mobility problems probably you should look for other options because you will find many stairs.

The resort offers a 3 min boat trip to the idyllic Haad Tien Resort Beach. Do not miss it !!!

A must see is the Nangyuan Resort Island. Try to go in the morning when it is not so crowded and the tide is low. Get the shuttle from the hotel and then hire in the port a 15 min boat ride to get there.

Finally, do not miss a traditional Thai massage at the resort spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights around New Years eve with two children (4 and 6 yo). We enjoyed every minute and had a very nice time. Facilities were good, the resort very well kept and in generel the staff did a good job. The location is fantastic but this is not the only asset. This resort understands how to make very nice food. They have their normal restaurant and a cozy grill theme restaurant with direct view to the ses, which we also tried two times. Do not miss to visit the eagle view restaurant just outside the resort across the road. Amazing view and fantastic local food.
We stayed at the "hotel part" of the resort which was nice. Regarding all the comments about the stairs: Yes there are a lot, but we knew it from the beginning, and it was not a thing which bothered us - also not our 4 and 6 year old! The pool is nice and large enough. Lunch can be enjoyed there and in the staff are friendly to bring both food and cocktails (happy hour between 5 and 8 pm) to your room...
We also tried the snorkling with the hotel boat and used a kayak a few times. There is no real beach connected but as mentioned in other reviews there is a beach very close by a the next resort.
All in all a very nice stay and we will definitely recommend this place to our friends.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bos_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here in february 2011 (not 2012!! only got around to write it now) and loved every minute. After backpacking through Laos and Thailan for 3 weeks - we decided to splurge on Koh Tao and are glad we chose this place to do it. Very nice room and view, very nice staff, excellent management (still friends on Facebook), clean and fresh environment. The pool are is great and it's super easy to get to the water to scoba, snorkle or just paddle around. There's a beach where you'll get a ride to just around the corner. The spa is nice and the staff very - and I mean very - curtious. The only hassle is the ride from the pier to the hotel - with a van - on a very bumpy and steep road. Loved it, would stay again (but not for 6 days as we did now - but for 7 days - as the 7th day was free of charge - so sad).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexnorge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Your kind words have been passed on to the entire team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.
I have good news for your next visit, now we have a new concrete access road, so more easy to go or come back from town.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews