We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Jamahkiri Spa & Resort Koh Tao during our honeymoon in March 2012. It was an experience to behold and will stay with us forever. I was extremely sad when we had to leave and will find any excuse to go back there soon. The staff and service were outstanding and they catered to our every whim with a huge smile. The restaurant served the most sumptious meals and the spa treatments were the best I have had in Thailand. Our villa was magnificent with wrap around sea views from our balcony (and even the bed). The bathroom boasted a huge jacuzzi also with a sea view. The villas are built into the rocks and the decor pieces are stunning. The Jamahkiri has its own boat that takes you around the island with superb dive and snorkelling spots. I have never had such amazing Tom Yum Goong or mango with sticky rice. I cannot recommend this place enough and really in all aspects it is heaven on earth. A honeymoon destination like no other.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the villas but the hotel rooms are also spacious and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    199
    63
    25
    25
See reviews for
136
522
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at Jamahkiri for 2 nights in the middle of our honeymoon. They made us feel special from the start! Upon arrival, we recieved complimentary cocktails and our bed was covered in flowers as a surpirse. The view from our room was breathtaking. The service was stellar - William, the GM, is very helpful. I highly recommened the snorkeling trip the hotel offers. The road getting to the hotel is a little rough but their complimentary shuttle service makes up for it. Well worth the bumpy trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Jamahkiri for one week of our honeymoon, and were blown away. Firstly, even the regular rooms all look out on the most beautiful view of Thian Og Bay and have a balcony. The service was outstanding, this resort has the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across and the manager, William was always on hand to help and was great to chat to.

The restaurant food was always incredible, I don't think we had one bad or even average meal while we were there. That being said it is a bit expensive, but u get what you pay for.

We really loved the pool area and spent quite a lot of time, sipping cocktails and lying in the sun overlooking the bay. When you've had enough of the pool you can take a stroll down to their private beach or even catch a little boat across to the nearby bigger beach at Haad Tien (there is a really nice little restaurant on that beach as well). Ko Tao has some of the best snorkelling in the whole of Thailand and we highly recommend taking the snorkel trip around the island on offer from Jamahkiri. They take you to all the best spots, it was amazing! Thian Og Bay is also known as Shark Bay because it is a breeding ground for black tip reef sharks, but they are very tame and skittish and have never harmed anyone. We snorkeled out to the middle of the bay to see them on our last day, and it was quite an experience!

We had such a great time we plan on going back in the near future. This hotel has to be the best available on Ko Tao. It is a luxury hotel so is a bit more expensive but it is really worth it, a stunning place! (especially for a honeymoon)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good from what I could tell :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonoguN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I was referred to a friend who was there about 6 months before my visit. He told me to just visit Koh Tao and stay in Jamahkiri. That was an experience.
My partner and I stayed for 4 nights. We nearly wanted to extend our stay alas work beckons.
Everything about the resort is just perfect. It's not commercialized like the rest of the resorts that I've visited. Everyone working there is nice. You can really tell that they are serving you from the heart.
We will definitely visit Jamahkiri again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitiarbaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We just came back from a two-week vacation in Thailand where we spent the first week at Koh Tao in this hotel, and we are extremely satisfied. The hotel lived up to every expectation we had. Friendly staff, beautiful scenery and good resturants made this our best hotel experience ever. The only minor drawbacks were the road getting there (but all the taxis on the island are 4x4, so it is no problem), the included breakfast, and all the stairs (the hotel is situated at a cliff-side).
We recommend snorkeling just outside the hotel (you can see reef sharks), or going on a boat trip around this beautiful island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjetil_Norway_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nijmegen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

stayed here in feb 2012. Booked a standard deluxe room. All deluxe rooms have great sea view and are very spacious and comfortable. Met the manager at check in, and he walks around every day to inform with guests if everything was ok for them. A very personal atmosphere so to say. Good restaurant, fairly priced. Great staff. If you had a delicious meal on monday and want to order the same on thursday but you forgot what it was, the staff remembers it for you! The hotel itself is built on a rocky hill, so the terrain of the hotel is pretty steep and has a lot of stairs, but you get used to it quickly. There is a bar on top of the hill which overlooks the see, for good cocktails. There is a tv in the bar as well, that sometimes could better be off. Breakfast is good and partially a la carte so you know for sure your breakfast is made at the spot and your pancakes hadn't been there for an hour or so. Goof pool with breathtaking view from the sun deck. The hotel is on sharks bay, and when you go snorkeling you will likely see one or more black tip sharks, which are harmless but beautiful. All together, I hope I will go back to Tao and if I do I will definitely stay at Jamahkiri Resort&Spa

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Sadly we have never stayed in Jamahkiri (yet!), but we have visited the resort on two trips to Kao Tao. On both occasions, we made the off road trip on motorbike to the remote resort, which is beautifully perched on the top of a hill, over looking the sea. The pool is divine, the food is excellent (a mix of European and Thai) including a great wine selection and the service is fantastic. In total, we spend about four days lazing by the pool at Jamhkiri. It is a magical resort and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cconn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.
And thank you so much for staying with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing