We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for couples” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Koh Tao Cabana
Ranked #11 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Koh Tao in Jan. this year. The weather was great there at that time without too much sunshine and rain. And I think that staying in Cabana is one of the best part in our trip. The resort is on a small hill and very close to the Baan Haad beach. And the No. 18 honeymoon villa is terrific for couples. It owns a private garden with various beautiful plants and faces to the sea. The house is built of wood. It looks original but very comfortable inside! There is a small pool in front of the house and it was so relaxing that jumping into the pool in a hot afternoon. And It also has a fantastic spa which couples would enjoy in a independent villa.

Room Tip: the honey villa is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guangye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    212
    89
    51
    36
See reviews for
99
409
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights as part of our 2 week holiday travelling around the south of Thailand and wanted somewhere romantic. Koh Tao and hotel cabana were the highlight of our stay and we were so glad we went with our gut to stay here!! by the end of the stay we didn’t want to leave and we cannot recommend it enough! We are already planning our next trip to stay here as we couldn’t have been more pleased with the whole island, resort and service as it was exceptional!! The hillside bungalows (we stayed in number 20) have breathtaking views across the sea and the room was amazing with everything you could want and need, (including a hammock on the balcony.) Hotel cabanna is situated on the end of the beach so is away from the noise but the beach bars and restaurants are only a 5/10 min walk away so you get the best of both worlds. We’d definitely recommend staying here for a truly unique and memorable get away!  xxx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZARI1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

My wife and I were really looking forward to staying here for 8 nights but ended up leaving to go back to Samui after 3 due to a few personal preferences.
First impressions were good as check-in was swift and our room, ocean view cottage number 20, seemed to tick all the boxes. It wasn't until my wife had her first shower in the open air bathroom that problems arose, as afterwards it was plain to see that the local mosquito's were using the shower as a fast food restaurant after counting 15+ bites on my wifes body. We contacted reception to see if they had any alternative rooms and whilst they went out of their way to show us 2 other rooms, the other bathrooms had an open aspect to them so moving was pointless.
The location is good, on the side of the hill, on the north of Sairee beach and the nearest bars and restaurants are a 5 to 10 minute walk away. One problem we encountered with being on the side of the hill was the noise from one of the bars playing music late at night which the hotel does mention in the room info pack.
What I didn't appreciate though was during a meal in the hotel restaurant, on our first night and after a busy and tiring day, a young waiter suggested that my eyes looked tired because i had been smoking something illegal! Not a very good or professional impression for a staff member to make. This emphasised to us the difference in staff in Koh Tao Cabana to that from The Waterfront in Bophut, Koh Samui were we had spent the previous days before arriving in Koh Tao. The staff at The Waterfront were superb and could not be faulted and gave a really friendly and homely feel to the hotel while the staff at Koh Tao Cabana did not possess this quality.
After 3 nights we decided to check out, 5 nights early, and go back to The Waterfront in Bophut, Koh Samui as we found it to be more chilled out and relaxing than the Koh Tao Cabana.
We had a good stay here but found 3 nights was more than enough for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Koh Tao Cabana was our choice for a relaxing 5 days in Koh Tao. My BF knew the hotel as he spent some time in the Island back packing and went for a look with his mates but decided it was too romantic for a group of guys. he said to me it was a nice place was was very short in his description.

The people at the hotel are really charming, kind and friendly!! the room had the most relaxing and beautiful view ever ( if you can book N. 17 Bungalow with private swimming pool, we stay at N16 and thought it would have been amazing to have you own private pool.

The bathroom is one of the best part, it has a shower with a topless ceiling, loads of trees and birds around:)

It had breakfast included served to 10am, not bad for an snooze!! food was really good there, you have a selection of option from eggs to cereal, bacon or the local option. we had dinner once an incredible cook your own BBQ right on our table, Unforgettable.

The hotel is at a walking distance from the bars and rest in the island but has the remote touch. I will have the experience over and over again!!

Loved it!!

Tati

Room Tip: Bungalow 17 with own private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ttatianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Cant say enough about it, best of everything, views, service was outstanding, the whole experience wa exceptional....we are already planning our next trip there and we will stay here again definitely....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pridmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Spent a 16 days family vacation in Koh Samui and Koh Tao in Feb/March 2011. It was a wonderful vacation, and our stay at Koh Tao Cabana was the best part. We prolonged our stay not only once, but twice. Nice location in the northern end of Sairee beach, but still just a few minutes walk to restaurants and the small shops. Koh Tao Cabana is a little more expensive than the other resorts on the beach, but definately worth it if you can afford to spend the extra money.

The service was excellent, not the least from Naté at the reception desk. Very welcoming and helpful. He even helped us to negotiate a good price at a resort in Koh Samui when we had problems to discuss in English!

We stayed in a 160 m2 suite (2 families). The cleaning was perfect, the two terraces was very relaxing and nicely furnished, the minibar surprised us with affordable prices, a bucket of ice was brought every evening :-) and when we ordered an extra bucket one day, the price was 15 THB :-).

The only minus is that there is no pool, unless you rent a pool house. The kids used the pools at Sairee Hut and Grand Coral when we had lunch there and made some friends who then invited them there every day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeleSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cyrus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed in the Koh Tao Cabana Resort in February '11 with our son and his wife. The ferry pick up was on time - even though we had booked months in advance. Staff at the hotel were very welcoming and this continued throughout our 2 night stay.
The accommodation was certainly varied! We chose a Sky Cottage (superb views) – which had external washing/toilet facilities. Certainly back to nature, but quite a nice experience when the temperature is +30 deg C. Our son and his wife had a super Beach Front villa and this was 2 minutes from dipping your toes in clear water. Overall the accommodation was very good and ideal for a romantic break or simply to get away from it all.
The resort is well situated, straight onto a beach with safe shallow water. There is a real tranquil feel to the place and most of the guests seemed more than happy just to chill out on the beach; there were plenty of loungers available and towels, cushions provided. Night-time however makes way for a disco (somewhere on Sairee Beach?) until around 2 a.m., which, oddly enough, we could hear it in our Sky Cottage but it was not evident at lower level accommodation.
Food at the resort is of a high standard and the dining room is situated in a nice position. If you want to eat outwith the resort, simply walk along Sairee Beach and take your pick.
If we were to visit Koh Tao again we would definitely use the Koh Tao Cabana Resort.
If you want to see more photos of the Koh Tao Cabana Resort and Koh Tao area, have a look at www.stcyrus.net.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeadamsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Cabana

Property: Koh Tao Cabana
Address: 16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree | Koh Tao, Koh Phaghan, Koh Tao 48360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Tao Cabana 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Cabana is an intimate resort located on Thailand's most secluded island, It offer a brand new alternative for adventurous travelers seeking unprecedented comfort with traditional Thai charm and hospitality. Indulge your senses in one of the most exclusive locations on Sai Ree Beach, You can get back to nature in the peace and serenity of your own private villa, set amid beautifully tropical gardens where you'll feel like your second home! Life takes on a slower pace here with the promise of an untold adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Koh Tao Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing