We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right on the beach”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #35 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This is a great hotel, right on the beach. The beach itself is stunning. The infinity pool at the hotel was a lovely touch. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We had two deluxe rooms and one was definately better than the other as I think they were in the process of refurbishing. I would suggest upgrading to a deluxe or higher as you may not get what you'd expect for your money otherwise. The hotel restaurant was fantastic - one of the best meals we had in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Ko Tao Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 441 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed in the Paradise Zone. Positive points - the pool and pool area were nice but small. The room was small but clean. The buffet breakfast is very good but get there early! Negative points: the majority of staff are rude and unfriendly. A couple in the queue ahead of us were unhappy with their room as they had paid for a 'view' and the receptionist was very rude and unhelpful to them to the extent they walked out of the hotel. They will also try and rip you off with a taxi to anywhere so try to take the free ones early in the day. The hotel is also quite a distance from any nightlife and most taxis will only drop you at the bottom of the steep hill up to the hotel on returning! Also the internet didn't work and the staff didn't care. Overall if the staff actaully acted like they cared this hotel could improve.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snail30London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

There are varying levels of bungalows in Ko Tao resort, we had a stardard one which was fine. The rooms aren't huge but are more than adequate. The grounds consist of lots of gardens and steps so be careful at night as it's quite dark.

The pool area is absolutely stunning, the beach isn't that great but we generally sunbathed round the pool.

Breakfast was included and was good. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as neighbouring restaurants were significantly cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

This is the first time i write such a bad review. I'm usually easy to please but i think you should know the facts before you spend your time here.

First, the staff. Some of them (not all, but enough) were very rude to us, it was as if they were angry for some reason. I'm not talking about bad service i'm talking about rudeness.

Secondly, the rooms and resort. It was so funny to compare the place with the pictures on the web site. They have a good web designer for sure.Bbelieve me, if i could i would like to move to the website rooms...
The rooms are in bad shape, needs renovation, and well.. ugly. We didnt expect for a 5 star Hilton hotel, but not YMCA style as well...
They have many rooms there but the pool area is too small to accommodate all guests, so it gets cozy with other people so close.

bottom line - do yourself a favor and don't stay here

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K-MAN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Spent 4 nites at Chalok Baan beach area in Koh Tao, first impressions we werent overly impressed, however this place is a grower! We stayed in the beach front bungalow, quite expensive for what it is, nice room, spacious, but the bathroom is really below par for the price you pay. The porters were so glum and really not happy to take the bags to the room, gave a small tip to one of them and he was sooo ungrateful it was laughable! The beach is quite narrow, but very nice, you can walk out about 40 meters and the water is so warm. The walk around the beach is stunning and you can walk around both sides to freedom beach & past the tamarind restaurant and babaloo bar (great chillout bar for the evening) and the views are absolutely stunning. The breakfast is pretty good & we had a pizza on the beach one day which was nice. It looks like they are doin some work on a beach bar which will be impressive when finished as the current bar is really not a happening place (which is advertised as the place to stay in the day!?)
The pool area is really nice and the drinks attendant is really helpful & friendly. The reception staff are quite the opposite, not very friendly!
We did a trip with Ko Tao Tours snorkelling around the island, I have been on many trips around the world, and never have we been penned in like sardines, there was about 50 people on quite a small boat & the reefs werent that impressive as well.
On the whole Koh Tao is a stunning island I recommend spending a few nights around Sairee Beach as it is where it all happens, although the taxis are relatively expensive to get there (min 100bht each one way) lotus bar is a great place for sunset.
As for Ko Tao resort, its above average, but probably would choose another hotel on the island if we returned.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights here during a 3 week Christmas trip to Thailand. Out of all the places we were planning to visit I was most looking forward to this resort as previous reviews had been good and the photos made it look like paradise. What a disappointment!

The beach outside the hotel was not great - very slimy underfoot, perhaps because there's not much tidal movement. The photos on the website have definitely been 'tweaked' in Photoshop.. or were taken on another island. My heart sank when we arrived.

The room was pretty basic, more of a 2 - 3 star standard, with an old & smelly bathroom, which would be fine if we'd payed for a 2 star hotel. The walls were also incredibly thin and we were in a room with an adjoining door (locked of course). However unfortunately we had a noisy American sex tourist staying next door - need i say more!

I was pretty ill ( think it was from a chicken burger at the lovely bubble bar a few doors down) on Xmas day and only made it to breakfast once. The food was pretty average.

For the money you could get much, much better value elsewhere. I'm happy to stay in basic hotels and pay less but we were looking for a little bit of luxury. Sadly the website really raises your expectations and the place doesn't deliver.

If you're planning a trip to Thailand i'd recommend Koh Tao for a day trip, maybe a night, but there are much more beautiful offerings elsewhere ( Phi Phi really is the most beautiful place).

The best bit of Koh Tao for me was snorkelling with the black tipped sharks on a round the island boat trip - it was amazing getting so close to them but apart from that me and my other half were a bit unimpressed with the island. Felt like we were in an episode of Lost, there was something a bit creepy about it for us.

Also be careful if you hire a quad to go exploring the far beaches, some of the tracks are really steep and deserted and we found ourselves sliding and skidding down tracks and when we tried to get back up the tracks we almost didn't make it. I think the lighter motorbikes are safer for exploring and take a mobile just in case you do get stuck, unless you fancy a night sleeping outdoors.

Finally, if you're looking for white sandy beaches you won't find them here. The island is small and there aren't many accessible beaches. The plus side of Koh Tao is that it's quiet and the people are friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsWard1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

wasnt cheapest resort but was middle of road price. beach was terrible outside resort. very tidal and on day we arrived it had rubbish on the shoreline. loads of kids at the resort- not very well behaved, so felt like family special! pool was nice. breakfasts were good, the position was nice in that there were other restaurants nearby- in walking distance, as well as travel agencies to book snorkelling trips etc- dont book through the hotel- its much much more expensive.
staff were not very friendly or helpful. they hit you with the typical sneaky asian hotel 3% charge for credit card that is not mentioned when you book. no safety deposits of any relevance- so hard to know where safest place for money/valuables when you are out on a day trip.
we stayed first in a mountain view room which was ok but far up the hill, and then in a normal bungalow which was ok- holes in the mosquito shields so very bug ridden, and we were near kitchen and staff make a real noise from about 5am- and when we complained they just laughed..
the website makes it look very upmarket and lovely, but its not nearly as nice as that-
there are definitely better value places on the island to stay at!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tavish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $23 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chalok Baan Kao south of ko tao We have our long and clean private beach with the white pretty sand and at low tide passable for sunbathing, but really there are far better spots elsewhere on Ko Tao for laying around in the sun –and the best location to see the sunset. We are PADI 5 star dive resort and we offers dive courses with PADI Diver Training. Everything from your first dive exp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing