We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Location, Excellent Service, Adequate Rooms”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Five Star Location, Excellent Service, Adequate Rooms”
Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed at the Koh Tao Resort and loved the location, as the hotel is tucked into the middle of a U shaped bay with multi colored water and great views. The hotel is divided into the old hotel (which is right on the water) and the newer hotel (the Paradise, just up the mountain). We stayed at the original beachfront so most of my comments pertain to that... As I said, the location is amazing....the hotel is on a white sand beach and it's great how the resort is nestled in the bay. The restaurant staff (more than the front desk staff) was excellent, very attentive and always watching out to see if there was anything else you needed. We couldn't ask for any nicer restaurant service. The food was very good, but what is to be most recommended is the beachside bbq at night (The morning breakfast buffet is nothing more than adequate and nothing special....as someone said in a comment, "they've had much better and they've had far worse," which I think adequately reviews the breakfast buffet).

The rooms are just ok. I too have had much better, I've had far worse. They're clean, but not very big and they don't have any great flair. Some of our group said their air conditioner was not strong enough, although mine was fine. None of our group walked into anyone else's room and went "wow....great room." (this is different at the Paradise). Nonetheless, the beach location more than made up for that anyway as we spent most of our time at the beach and the pool. You could simply say that the rooms are "fine" and leave it at that. As a note, I had a "standard" room on the second floor and this had a great view of the ocean and....was the lowest priced category... (I'd take it again!). Our other friends who had had more expensive superior rooms and "bungalows" came to my room and saw my view and patio and thought I had the far superior room.

I read some hotel reviews that said the pool was cloudy, but that was not the case during our visit. We spend most of our days by the pool and loved it. We had some friends who visited the newer "Paradise," and they said they loved the rooms and the pool and pool view and that they would check in there next time. But our preference is still to be on the beach so we'd return to the Koh Tao oceanside.

As a note, the hotel says the checkout time is 11AM and beyond that they are fanatical about charging 300 Baht per hour for an extended stay...no compromising.

While the boat to Koh Phagnan and Koh Samui is at 3:00PM, the free shuttle service back to the marina is at 1:30PM, which leaves almost an hour and a half to kill in town. Next time, we'd rather pay the 100 Baht a person and hire a taxi to take us back to the dock closer to sailing time.....as the drive from the hotel to the marina is less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    127
    103
    67
    48
See reviews for
83
186
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Punkyboots
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was absolute heaven. The food at the restaurant is amazing, the restaurant in the upper paradise zone is a MUST SEE.

The lower resort leads onto a pristine beach, isolated beach and although the rooms are quite small, we didn't spend much time in there.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Punkyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTLonghorn2
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Initially, my wife and I booked a room at the Ko Tao Resort that is located on the beach. While this resort appears nice in the pictures, the rooms are really small and quite old. We booked a bungalow room because it seemed quite large in the picture and we thought that it would be a seperate structure from other rooms. We were wrong. It was connected to another bungalow and the room was so small that we could barely put our suitcases down. We decided to check out the rooms at the Paradise Zone which is a new building located at the top of the hill. The rooms were amazing. They are much larger and everything is new. It was definately worth making the switch and paying the additional cost.

Guests have access to both resorts and there is a shuttle to take you from one resort to the other. It is just a short drive up a very steep hill. The pools at both resorts are very nice. The view from the pool at the Paradise Zone is incredible. The benefit of the Ko Tao resort is that it is right on the beach. Unfortunately, when we were there in November, there was no beach during the day. The tide was always in during the day so there was no much of a beach. It was not even possible to lay on it.

The service at both resorts is excellent. The hotel was able to arrange for taxis and make us scuba diving reservations at a local company since the dive shop at the resort was closed for the month of November. In addition, we ate many of our meals at the resort and the food was superb. I was particallarly impressed with the Thai food and the prices were relatively cheap given the location.

  • Liked — It is located right on the beach
  • Disliked — Rooms are small and old
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UTLonghorn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

This place was top notch for the price. The grounds were lush, the infinity pool was beautiful, and the upgraded rooms were really nice. I stayed in a standard room, but it was nice anyway.

The hotel had a scuba dive centre that happened to be closed when I was there, but they recommended a local competitor, New Heaven Dive Centre 200 mtrs on the same road, which was wonderful.

The restaurant was good, but the beauty of this hotel was the grounds - really special.

  • Liked — The beauty of the grounds and the infinity pool.
  • Disliked — The stairs - could be hazzardous!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scubakerryllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the beach front cabanas, which was recommended by our friends instead of the newer 'Paradise Zone' (which is up higher on the hill, across the road from the reception area and you need a hotel taxi to transport you up the steep hill!).

Our room was literally one metre from the beach, and fairly well appointed for accomm on Ko Tao. However accommodation on Ko Tao tends to be a bit more basic than that on the larger islands - our room had two double beds and a very simple ensuite with weak shower and the sink is in the bedroom. Having said this, the atmosphere was exceptional. A great relaxed beach area, with some pretty cool bars and restaurants. Ko Tao Resort was by far our favourite place to stay during our 2 weeks in Thailand and we'd definitely return.

A few tips for Ko Tao itself:
If you are an experienced bike rider we highly recommend hiring an off road scooter. By far the best way to get about and we discovered some great spots that we wouldn't have found if we were on foot or in a taxi.
Check out the Whitening restaurant on the main beach - the food was absolutely delicious.
Can't remember where it was - but Peter the baby monkey was a delightful little friend that we met on the side of the road...we were going past on our scooter and spent a good hour playing with him and speaking with his owner.

  • Liked — Location, chilled vibe
  • Disliked — Breakfast was unremarkable
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kunkachoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

If white beaches with superb views are your bag then this is the place for you.
Although the rooms are just average, the location of the hotel right on a white beach and with lovely views over a bay are beautiful. The infinity pool overlooks the sea and at night the lighting around the hotel and through the grounds are very romantic. Just a short taxi ride away are the beach parties which are awesome. Very good value for money and excellent service. Paradise

  • Liked — infinty pool and white beach
  • Disliked — very average decor in rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Rooms: Very elegant, clean, spacious and new. The balcony was a bit small. We were in a Deluxe. With 2 double bed in the room.

Service: the service in the hotel was excellent. During the breakfast the staff run to make up your room, every day. It's really great to come back from breakfast and your room is done.

Situation: The hotel is about 5min from the main resort on the beach, is on a small hill but it's ok. it gives more privacy. And the view is spectacular. The swimming pool is amazing as well as the terrace.

Restaurant: Very good with an enormous choice of thai and international food. The prices are slighlty higher than restaurants in town but it is very reasonable. The staff and the food are excellent.

We want to come back we loved this hotel!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank amy_travel_judge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing