We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok!”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just ok!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights we stayed in (beach zone) mountain view garden bungalow. They really weren't worth the money, the rooms weren't great and have been travelling around for a month and this is not bad but I paid 1000 baht when really it's only worth 500!! went to open the big windows and they was all dirt and mould inbetween the net and window :( . It's by no means the worse but me and my partner were treating ourselves and didn't really feel like a treat. There was no view just lots of trees( Shame really).
The only good thing was the infinity pool and it is right by the beach. The restaurant food was reasonable (same same)!
I would come back here again but only if I could afford to stay in the paradise zone or one of the bungalows by the beach.
The area was amazing though and very close to other bays. Quiet and relaxing! Really nice atmosphere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemandchris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    126
    103
    66
    48
See reviews for
83
184
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Ko Tao Resort

There are 2 zones available here. First zone is on the beach side. The second one is Paradize one which is on top of the mountain where you can have panorama view of the bay and the area all around.

The beach side is cheaper than the paradise one. But the price gap is not much different.

There are 3 pools, 2 restaurants of this resort. Also have a free shuttle from one the other.

The view is so stunning. I can say it is perfect.

Room is clean, with full amenities and minibar. Super comfy bed and duvet.

Would like to recommend for your perfect holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We are currently staying at Ko Tao Resort. Overall, it's a great resort - it really looks just like the pictures! We are here with my husband's parents, his sister and his mom's friend and her daughter. We have a beach front room, which really is steps from the beach. The deluxe rooms are also nice (even my MIL likes them and so has hated every hotel we have stayed in so far:-)).
The deluxe rooms are also really close to the beach - so don't worry if that's what you get. We haven't been up the mountain, but the paradise rooms are definitely really far from the beach.

The restaurant at the hotel is not the best. After eating a meal for 50 baht in Bangkok, it seems really expensive. The food is ok, but not great by any means. If you order french fries, you get about 10 - and pay 80 baht for them. The american breakfast was pretty good, I thought. Plenty of food and a decent price. The prices aren't bad if you compare it to the US, just high for Thailand.

The resort is more secluded than many others, but is only a 5 minute walk or so to the nearest little village. I'm not even sure it has a name. There are some restaurants, 7-11, a few shops, places to book tours and massage shops. A one hour full body Thai massage - 250 baht:-)

We haven't decided if we will rent a bike or not. Taxis seem expensive - 200 baht from the resort to Sairee - less than 10 minutes - 3-4 miles at the most. It's kind of ridiculous. But, to have access to better restaurants, you either have to decide to rent a bike or take the taxis - which, btw, are pick up truck with seating in the back:-)

If you have your own snorkel equipment - bring it. The equipment at the resort is not great. You rent it per day - return at 5pm for 100 baht for the snorkel mask and another 100 for the fins if you want them. I snorkeled in front of the resort and there were some coral formations and fish on the left at the tip of the rocks, but they were hard to see since my mask kept leaking and was foggy.

Overall, it is a very nice resort. I don't have high expectations of hotel food anyway, so that's not a deal breaker for me. Our beach front room is large, two double beds, three seating areas on the porch, and the AC is great! The bathroom is small and the water pressure isn't great, but it's functional and we aren't in the US, after all.

If you want to be in the center of things, or don't plan to rent a bike and don't want to pay taxis - definitely stay in Sairee. It's most certainly the center of any nightlife and has far more restaurants. I would imagine, however, also more noise. If you want a quieter place with a great beach and nice pools, Ko Tao Resort is very nice.

Room Tip: The bugelows are much farther from the beach. Go for the Beach front if you can or the Deluxe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohelenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We didn't want to stay on busy Sairee beach (which has lost the charm it had 15 years ago) but not too secluded either, so we decided for Chalok Baan Kao, and in the end it was a good choice. Hotel reviews there weren't too good, so we tried the Ko Tao Resort because of its good location and lovely setting. We booked for three nights and ended up staying 10 nights. Lots of people complained about unfriendly or even rude staff, but for us people were always friendly and helpful so no Problems there. Maybe it helps if you give them a smile! The walls were a bit thin and the rooms could need a bit of updating, but otherwise everything worked and if not they fixed it really quick. The garden and the pool area is nice, I haven't seen many better ones in Ko Tao. There were plenty of sun loungers They obviously lowered their rates quite a bit as I have found older prices which were nearly double, so the rates were ok for the location. When we were checking out, we even got a discount (without asking for it) because we stayed for more than a week. We were picked up from Mae Haad when we arrived and they give you free transport to the pier when you check out. We only went for a quick look up to the Paradise Zone, fantastic view but we were happy down in the Beach Zone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pipiwharauroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've spent 2 nights in here just because was the only one available.
The atmosphere in this place says: you will pay the most we can let you pay!
The room is nice but we pay a lot compared to the standard (breakfast not included) and walls are like paper.. we were lucky with neighbours (very noising just 1 night on 3).
The first thing you can see when you get in your room is a list with the price for everything there is in. Staff definetely not helpful.. I do not suggest it at all.
Bye bye!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frefreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this after hours of getting frustrated in a Bangkok cafe not knowing where to choose for our forthcoming trip to Ko Tao - so just settled for this . It seemed like a mid range choice. We wanted a bungalow for two people near the water and this fitted the bill. It worked out at about £35 per night. The resort is pretty big and has a really nice infinity pool - its right on the beach (Chalok Baan - which is the more quiet beach as opposed to Sairee). The bungalows are clean, beds comfy and there is a good sized separate bathroom. You are waking up to paradise every morning so its hard to complain, but there were a few things that weren't great, and to be honest we probably wouldn't stay there again. The staff are nice enough, but quite disinterested. Although the driver man was CONSTANTLY asking us where we were going/did we want a boat trip/taxi/etc etc - but the prices he was stating seemed way above average. The restaurant was really overpriced, we ate at Big Fish most days instead - which is great and right next door. If you're looking for somewhere more quiet this area (Chalok Baan) would be perfect - but if you're planning on exploring most evenings - then you are probably better off staying in Sairee - as mopeds are dangerous on this island as its very rocky and taxis are fairly expensive for Thailand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinknesquik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The first thing that met us was a rude receptionist that first off all told us it was fullybooked. When we told her that we had spoken to them the day before about the room, they suddenly had a room after all..? They took 200 Bath more than they were supposted to have ( which we only reAlised afterwards. ). Had to ask them to change our bedsheets as there was stains and something that looked like pee. The staff is very rude and careless. Do not look like they arendoing much at all. The mountain bungalow are full of ants! stay away, pictures and surroundings will fool you, as the enviornment and beach are beautiful, as well as their pool. Not recommended !

Room Tip: Paradise zone might be better?Still staff is rude
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwayfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing